Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 13 Sept 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
Not separately QS-rankedDeggendorf, Germany· QS World University Rankings 2027

Deggendorf Institute of Technology (Technische Hochschule Deggendorf)

Deggendorf Institute of Technology (Technische Hochschule Deggendorf), in Deggendorf, Germany, has 6 undergraduate courses listed on StudyPath. International tuition is ~€1,000 a year. DIT publishes its own accommodation prices, from €306.05 per month. All of them publish an application deadline. 2 named scholarships are recorded against these courses. Every figure above was read from DIT's own published pages and last checked on 31 August 2026.

Not shown with a current position in the QS World University Rankings 2027 profile checked. DIT is a University of Applied Sciences and does not appear to carry a current-edition QS overall rank.

Courses
6
Fees verified
6 / 6
Scholarship entries
10
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

6 courses

B.A. · 3.5 years · International Business, Business & Management

International tuition

€500 per term

~€3,500 for the whole 3.5 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

DIT publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

DIT charges this institution-wide, not per programme: from winter semester 2025/26 a student with a nationality outside the EU/EEA pays EUR 500 per semester, and DIT's fee page says the charge runs "per semester for the duration of the entire study programme and enrolment at DIT". DIT calls it a service fee in one sentence and "tuition fees" in the next, but either way it is money a non-EU reader is billed and an EU reader is not, which is what this field records. THIS PROGRAMME'S OWN PAGE says only "No tuition fees, only student union fee" and never states the non-EU charge, so this record used to read EUR 0 to exactly the reader who gets the bill - four of DIT's six courses said free while the other two said EUR 500, same university, same year. The EU/EEA case the programme page is describing is recorded as the EU band. Exemptions apply and are worth checking: five years' residence in Germany with employment, a German school-leaving or bachelor's qualification, UK residence established before 31 December 2020, recognised refugee status, enrolment at DIT before 15 April 2023, and others. DIT publishes a fee calculator for this.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
October (winter)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
April 15 to July 15, for the winter (October) intake.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships1 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium at Deggendorf Institute of Technology (THD)

    EUR 3,600 over one year. Half is paid by companies or private funders and half by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Awarded independently of the student's or their parents' income, not counted against BAföG, and no social-insurance contributions are due on it.

    Eligibility: Awarded to students who stand out through good academic performance; special personal or family circumstances are also taken into account, as is societal, social or student engagement. THD publishes entry bars by group: bachelor's first-semester students need a university entrance qualification with an average of 1.5 or better, and master's first-semester students a first degree graded 2.5 or better (German 1–6 scale, where 1.0 is best).

    THD says numerous scholarships are available again for 2026/27; it awarded 76 in a recent round, funded by 31 companies, foundations and associations. THD's grade bars are on the German scale where a lower number is better, so they are stated in the criteria prose rather than in minimumGPA, which is matched against higher-is-better scales.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

A general German university entrance qualification is required (international qualifications are checked for eligibility via the DAAD). Instead of a standard English test score, applicants must pass DIT's own aptitude test, which verifies language proficiency. Prior knowledge of basic economic subjects is described as advantageous, not mandatory.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

B.A. · 3.5 years · International Business, Business & Management

International tuition

€500 per term

~€3,500 for the whole 3.5 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

DIT publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

DIT charges this institution-wide, not per programme: from winter semester 2025/26 a student with a nationality outside the EU/EEA pays EUR 500 per semester, and DIT's fee page says the charge runs "per semester for the duration of the entire study programme and enrolment at DIT". DIT calls it a service fee in one sentence and "tuition fees" in the next, but either way it is money a non-EU reader is billed and an EU reader is not, which is what this field records. THIS PROGRAMME'S OWN PAGE says only "No tuition fees, only student union fee" and never states the non-EU charge, so this record used to read EUR 0 to exactly the reader who gets the bill - four of DIT's six courses said free while the other two said EUR 500, same university, same year. The EU/EEA case the programme page is describing is recorded as the EU band. Exemptions apply and are worth checking: five years' residence in Germany with employment, a German school-leaving or bachelor's qualification, UK residence established before 31 December 2020, recognised refugee status, enrolment at DIT before 15 April 2023, and others. DIT publishes a fee calculator for this.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
October (winter)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
April 15 to July 15, for the winter (October) intake.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships1 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium at Deggendorf Institute of Technology (THD)

    EUR 3,600 over one year. Half is paid by companies or private funders and half by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Awarded independently of the student's or their parents' income, not counted against BAföG, and no social-insurance contributions are due on it.

    Eligibility: Awarded to students who stand out through good academic performance; special personal or family circumstances are also taken into account, as is societal, social or student engagement. THD publishes entry bars by group: bachelor's first-semester students need a university entrance qualification with an average of 1.5 or better, and master's first-semester students a first degree graded 2.5 or better (German 1–6 scale, where 1.0 is best).

    THD says numerous scholarships are available again for 2026/27; it awarded 76 in a recent round, funded by 31 companies, foundations and associations. THD's grade bars are on the German scale where a lower number is better, so they are stated in the criteria prose rather than in minimumGPA, which is matched against higher-is-better scales.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • level B2 English language skillsApplicants must also pass DIT's own admission test.
Source

Academic offer

A general German university entrance qualification is required (international qualifications are checked for eligibility via the DAAD). Prior knowledge of the basics of economics is described as advantageous, not mandatory.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

B.Eng. · 3.5 years · Environmental Engineering, Electrical & Electronic Engineering

International tuition

€500 per term

~€3,500 for the whole 3.5 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

DIT publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

DIT charges this institution-wide, not per programme: from winter semester 2025/26 a student with a nationality outside the EU/EEA pays EUR 500 per semester, and DIT's fee page says the charge runs "per semester for the duration of the entire study programme and enrolment at DIT". DIT calls it a service fee in one sentence and "tuition fees" in the next, but either way it is money a non-EU reader is billed and an EU reader is not, which is what this field records. THIS PROGRAMME'S OWN PAGE says only "No tuition fees, only student union fee" and never states the non-EU charge, so this record used to read EUR 0 to exactly the reader who gets the bill - four of DIT's six courses said free while the other two said EUR 500, same university, same year. The EU/EEA case the programme page is describing is recorded as the EU band. Exemptions apply and are worth checking: five years' residence in Germany with employment, a German school-leaving or bachelor's qualification, UK residence established before 31 December 2020, recognised refugee status, enrolment at DIT before 15 April 2023, and others. DIT publishes a fee calculator for this.

Show the fee on the university's site

International students from non-EU/EEA countries additionally pay a service fee each semester, on top of the student union fee -- the amount is not stated on this programme's own page.

Show the source
Intake
October (winter semester)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
April 15 to July 15, for the October (winter-semester) intake.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium at Deggendorf Institute of Technology (THD)

    EUR 3,600 over one year. Half is paid by companies or private funders and half by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Awarded independently of the student's or their parents' income, not counted against BAföG, and no social-insurance contributions are due on it.

    Eligibility: Awarded to students who stand out through good academic performance; special personal or family circumstances are also taken into account, as is societal, social or student engagement. THD publishes entry bars by group: bachelor's first-semester students need a university entrance qualification with an average of 1.5 or better, and master's first-semester students a first degree graded 2.5 or better (German 1–6 scale, where 1.0 is best).

    THD says numerous scholarships are available again for 2026/27; it awarded 76 in a recent round, funded by 31 companies, foundations and associations. THD's grade bars are on the German scale where a lower number is better, so they are stated in the criteria prose rather than in minimumGPA, which is matched against higher-is-better scales.

    Source
  • Gerti & Heinz Iglhaut Stipendium

    EUR 3,600 per scholarship, with five awarded each year.

    Eligibility: For students on THD's engineering and computer science degree programmes who already volunteer or want to volunteer during the funded year. Holders are expected to complete at least 100 hours of voluntary work during the funding period with an organisation in or around Deggendorf that the foundation approves or suggests. Grades are explicitly not decisive: the foundation's stated aim is to help THD students in financial need and to promote volunteering in the region. Membership of a fire brigade or sports club must be backed by substantial, described involvement.

    Recorded against THD's engineering and computer-science degrees only, because that is the scope the foundation states. Applications run 16 February to 31 March each year. A need-based award rather than a merit one — the page says outright that grades do not decide it — so no grade bar of any kind is recorded.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades

English language

  • English level B2English at least level B2 required; specific accepted tests not named on this page.
Source

Admissions tests

  • Academic Readiness Assessment requiredRequired for all applicants; the result certificate must be submitted alongside other application documents.
Source

Academic offer

A general German university entrance qualification is required, or an equivalent international qualification checked against DAAD's own eligibility database.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

B.Eng. · 3.5 years · Engineering (General), Business & Management

International tuition

€500 per term

~€3,500 for the whole 3.5 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

DIT publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

DIT charges this institution-wide, not per programme: from winter semester 2025/26 a student with a nationality outside the EU/EEA pays EUR 500 per semester, and DIT's fee page says the charge runs "per semester for the duration of the entire study programme and enrolment at DIT". DIT calls it a service fee in one sentence and "tuition fees" in the next, but either way it is money a non-EU reader is billed and an EU reader is not, which is what this field records. THIS PROGRAMME'S OWN PAGE says only "No tuition fees, only student union fee" and never states the non-EU charge, so this record used to read EUR 0 to exactly the reader who gets the bill - four of DIT's six courses said free while the other two said EUR 500, same university, same year. The EU/EEA case the programme page is describing is recorded as the EU band. Exemptions apply and are worth checking: five years' residence in Germany with employment, a German school-leaving or bachelor's qualification, UK residence established before 31 December 2020, recognised refugee status, enrolment at DIT before 15 April 2023, and others. DIT publishes a fee calculator for this.

Show the fee on the university's site

International students from non-EU/EEA countries additionally pay a service fee each semester, on top of the student union fee -- the amount is not stated on this programme's own page.

Show the source
Intake
October (winter semester)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
April 15 to July 15, for the October (winter-semester) intake.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium at Deggendorf Institute of Technology (THD)

    EUR 3,600 over one year. Half is paid by companies or private funders and half by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Awarded independently of the student's or their parents' income, not counted against BAföG, and no social-insurance contributions are due on it.

    Eligibility: Awarded to students who stand out through good academic performance; special personal or family circumstances are also taken into account, as is societal, social or student engagement. THD publishes entry bars by group: bachelor's first-semester students need a university entrance qualification with an average of 1.5 or better, and master's first-semester students a first degree graded 2.5 or better (German 1–6 scale, where 1.0 is best).

    THD says numerous scholarships are available again for 2026/27; it awarded 76 in a recent round, funded by 31 companies, foundations and associations. THD's grade bars are on the German scale where a lower number is better, so they are stated in the criteria prose rather than in minimumGPA, which is matched against higher-is-better scales.

    Source
  • Gerti & Heinz Iglhaut Stipendium

    EUR 3,600 per scholarship, with five awarded each year.

    Eligibility: For students on THD's engineering and computer science degree programmes who already volunteer or want to volunteer during the funded year. Holders are expected to complete at least 100 hours of voluntary work during the funding period with an organisation in or around Deggendorf that the foundation approves or suggests. Grades are explicitly not decisive: the foundation's stated aim is to help THD students in financial need and to promote volunteering in the region. Membership of a fire brigade or sports club must be backed by substantial, described involvement.

    Recorded against THD's engineering and computer-science degrees only, because that is the scope the foundation states. Applications run 16 February to 31 March each year. A need-based award rather than a merit one — the page says outright that grades do not decide it — so no grade bar of any kind is recorded.

    Source
Entry requirementstests · grades

Admissions tests

  • Academic Readiness Assessment requiredRequired for all applicants; the result certificate must be submitted alongside other application documents. This page's own 'Language requirements' field was left blank rather than stating a test/score.
Source

Academic offer

A general German university entrance qualification is required, or an equivalent international qualification checked against DAAD's own eligibility database. Knowledge of basic mathematics and natural sciences is described as advantageous, not mandatory.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

Health Informatics

B.Sc. · 3.5 years · Computer Science, Public Health

International tuition

€500 per term

~€3,500 for the whole 3.5 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

DIT publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Same institution-wide DIT policy already recorded on dit-deggendorf-bsc-artificial-intelligence in this file: this programme's own page says 'No tuition fees, only student union fee' for everyone, and DIT's dedicated fees page confirms non-EU/EEA students pay a EUR 500/semester service fee across its English-taught programmes (same BayHIG-based model as OTH Regensburg elsewhere in this dataset).

Show the fee on the university's site

This programme's own page states: 'No tuition fees, only student union fee' for everyone, with a link to DIT's shared service-fee page for non-EU/EEA students -- see internationalTuition for the confirmed EUR 500/semester figure from that dedicated fees page.

Show the source
Intake
October (winter semester)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
April 15 to July 15, for the October (winter-semester) intake.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium at Deggendorf Institute of Technology (THD)

    EUR 3,600 over one year. Half is paid by companies or private funders and half by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Awarded independently of the student's or their parents' income, not counted against BAföG, and no social-insurance contributions are due on it.

    Eligibility: Awarded to students who stand out through good academic performance; special personal or family circumstances are also taken into account, as is societal, social or student engagement. THD publishes entry bars by group: bachelor's first-semester students need a university entrance qualification with an average of 1.5 or better, and master's first-semester students a first degree graded 2.5 or better (German 1–6 scale, where 1.0 is best).

    THD says numerous scholarships are available again for 2026/27; it awarded 76 in a recent round, funded by 31 companies, foundations and associations. THD's grade bars are on the German scale where a lower number is better, so they are stated in the criteria prose rather than in minimumGPA, which is matched against higher-is-better scales.

    Source
  • Gerti & Heinz Iglhaut Stipendium

    EUR 3,600 per scholarship, with five awarded each year.

    Eligibility: For students on THD's engineering and computer science degree programmes who already volunteer or want to volunteer during the funded year. Holders are expected to complete at least 100 hours of voluntary work during the funding period with an organisation in or around Deggendorf that the foundation approves or suggests. Grades are explicitly not decisive: the foundation's stated aim is to help THD students in financial need and to promote volunteering in the region. Membership of a fire brigade or sports club must be backed by substantial, described involvement.

    Recorded against THD's engineering and computer-science degrees only, because that is the scope the foundation states. Applications run 16 February to 31 March each year. A need-based award rather than a merit one — the page says outright that grades do not decide it — so no grade bar of any kind is recorded.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

A general German university entrance qualification is required, or the DAAD's eligibility guidance for international qualifications. No specific English test score is published on this page -- admission instead requires successfully passing an admission (aptitude) test. Prior knowledge in economics or a science-based subject and basic programming skills are said to be beneficial, not mandatory.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

B.Sc. · 3.5 years · Computer Science, Software Engineering

International tuition

€500 per term

~€3,500 for the whole 3.5 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

DIT publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

DIT's own words: 'No tuition fees, only student union fee' for everyone, but 'International students from non-EU/EEA countries are required to pay service fees for each semester' -- the same smaller 'service fee' model used by OTH Regensburg elsewhere in this dataset, rather than the larger EUR 1,500-3,000/semester tuition model TUM and Coburg charge. A separate one-time EUR 60 application fee also applies (covers multiple applications to DIT, no extra charge).

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
October (winter semester)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
April 15 to June 15, for the October (winter-semester) intake. An in-person admission test (mathematics, differential calculus, linear algebra, probability theory, logic, and computer science at upper-secondary level) is required, expected in May or June, date not selectable by the applicant.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium at Deggendorf Institute of Technology (THD)

    EUR 3,600 over one year. Half is paid by companies or private funders and half by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Awarded independently of the student's or their parents' income, not counted against BAföG, and no social-insurance contributions are due on it.

    Eligibility: Awarded to students who stand out through good academic performance; special personal or family circumstances are also taken into account, as is societal, social or student engagement. THD publishes entry bars by group: bachelor's first-semester students need a university entrance qualification with an average of 1.5 or better, and master's first-semester students a first degree graded 2.5 or better (German 1–6 scale, where 1.0 is best).

    THD says numerous scholarships are available again for 2026/27; it awarded 76 in a recent round, funded by 31 companies, foundations and associations. THD's grade bars are on the German scale where a lower number is better, so they are stated in the criteria prose rather than in minimumGPA, which is matched against higher-is-better scales.

    Source
  • Gerti & Heinz Iglhaut Stipendium

    EUR 3,600 per scholarship, with five awarded each year.

    Eligibility: For students on THD's engineering and computer science degree programmes who already volunteer or want to volunteer during the funded year. Holders are expected to complete at least 100 hours of voluntary work during the funding period with an organisation in or around Deggendorf that the foundation approves or suggests. Grades are explicitly not decisive: the foundation's stated aim is to help THD students in financial need and to promote volunteering in the region. Membership of a fire brigade or sports club must be backed by substantial, described involvement.

    Recorded against THD's engineering and computer-science degrees only, because that is the scope the foundation states. Applications run 16 February to 31 March each year. A need-based award rather than a merit one — the page says outright that grades do not decide it — so no grade bar of any kind is recorded.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

English proficiency at CEFR B2 is required for admission. German proficiency at CEFR A2 -- a genuinely basic level -- must be demonstrated only by the END of the degree, not at admission. An in-person admission (aptitude) test is also required.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

Advertisement

More about DIT

About & contact

Deggendorf, Germany· view on Google Maps ↗th-deg.de

Find nearby

These open a map search near Deggendorf. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

Accommodation

€306.05–€454per month

Rent for a complete single apartment at the Bahnhofstraße residence, one of three Studierendenwerk Niederbayern/Oberpfalz halls in Deggendorf named on TH Deggendorf's own housing page.

Published by the university itself, not a live listings price. Actual cost depends on room type, availability and when you apply.

Show the source

Search student housing near Deggendorf (partner link)

After you graduate

Rules read 16 Aug 2026

What Germany's own immigration authority currently publishes. Not a ranking, not a guarantee, and not the same as what any agent or forum will tell you. Whether someone actually obtains residence depends on occupation, points, funds and policy that can change between application and graduation.

Money you must prove before the visa

€11,904per year — the mission publishes it both ways, as 992,00 Euro pro Monat and 11.904,00 Euro pro Jahr, and says the proof normally has to cover the first year of the planned stay

Paid into a blocked account before you travel, and released to you in monthly instalments once you arrive.

Figure published for: 10.04.2025, the date the Federal Foreign Office carries on this page, and still stated there as the amount required when read on 19 August 2026. The figure is the BAföG maximum support rate, which the Auswärtiges Amt says the deposit is based on, so it moves when that rate moves. This amount is revised regularly, so check it again before you transfer anything.

A Sperrkonto is one accepted way to show the money, not the only one: the Auswärtiges Amt also accepts evidence of the parents' income and assets, a Verpflichtungserklärung (a formal undertaking under §§ 66-68 AufenthG by someone living in Germany), or an annually renewable bank guarantee lodged with a German bank. Someone applying as a Studienbewerber/in (applicant for a study place, § 17 II AufenthG) rather than an enrolled student must show a higher 1.091,00 Euro per month. A scholarship counts toward the requirement, but where it is worth less than 992,00 Euro a month the shortfall still has to be evidenced separately. Only 1/12 of the deposited total may be withdrawn per month, and at the visa appointment the mission accepts only an official account-opening confirmation naming both the total paid in and the monthly available amount. Blocked-account provider fees are payable on top of the blocked sum.

Show the source
Compare this against other countries →

Germany also requires proof of health cover for this visa. See what's required →

Work during study

International students on a residence permit for study purposes may generally work up to 120 full days or 240 half days per year without needing separate permission from the immigration or labour authorities, and may also take on student ancillary jobs (studentische Nebentätigkeiten — e.g. a student-assistant role at their own institution) which are not counted against that limit. In exceptional cases, the Ausländerbehörde (immigration office) responsible for the applicant's place of study can restrict this.

Show the source

Post-study work visa

Aufenthaltserlaubnis zur Arbeitsplatzsuche nach Studienabschluss (residence permit to seek employment after graduation, Section 20 Residence Act) . Up to 18 months
After successfully completing a degree or doctorate at a German higher education institution, a graduate can obtain a residence permit for up to 18 months to look for a job for any qualified employment. Any kind of work is permitted during this job-search period, and the applicant must be able to show their living costs are covered for it. (A separate, later 'Chancenkarte' route of up to 1 year exists for someone who later loses a follow-on job and needs to search again.)

Show the source

Route to permanent residence

A graduate who completes a degree or doctorate at a German higher education institution and then works for two years in a job matching that qualification can obtain a settlement permit (unbefristeter Aufenthaltstitel) — an unlimited, permanent residence title. This particular route does not apply to someone holding a residence permit for research purposes. Separately, a graduate with a concrete job offer meeting the required minimum salary threshold has a statutory right to be issued an EU Blue Card.

Show the source

Route to citizenship

Naturalisation (Einbürgerung) is governed by the federal Staatsangehörigkeitsgesetz (StAG) and administered by each Land's own naturalisation authority, with BAMF publishing the citizen-facing requirements. As of this reading the standard route requires 5 years of habitual, lawful residence in Germany — reduced from 8 years by the reform that took effect 27 June 2024. A shorter 3-year route for exceptional integration achievements existed briefly after that reform (StAG §10(3)) but was itself repealed effective 30 October 2025, confirmed by the current official law text simply marking that paragraph '(weggefallen)' (lapsed) — so 5 years is again the uniform minimum for every applicant rather than one of two tracks. Applicants must also hold secure residence status, be able to support themselves and any dependants without core social-assistance benefits, have no relevant criminal conviction, demonstrate German at CEFR level B1, and pass the Einbürgerungstest (a 33-question test on Germany's legal and social order, history and the applicant's own Land; 17 correct answers required). Since 27 June 2024, Germany accepts multiple nationality for every applicant, not only EU/Swiss nationals as the pre-reform rule allowed: naturalising no longer requires giving up an applicant's existing citizenship — though whether that other country's own law actually lets the person keep it remains outside Germany's control.

Show the source

What the government currently prioritises

The most concrete, actionable shortage signal for this dataset's students is Germany's EU Blue Card (Blaue Karte EU, a residence title under Section 18g of the Residence Act for someone with an academic degree and a job offer matching that qualification): it is granted at a reduced minimum gross annual salary when the job is in a recognised shortage occupation (Mangelberuf) or the applicant graduated within the last 3 years — EUR 45,934.20 for 2026 (the 'kleine'/small Blue Card), versus EUR 50,700 for the standard 'große'/large Blue Card, both set by the Bundesagentur für Arbeit and adjusted annually. The Bundesagentur's own current examples of shortage occupations qualifying for the reduced threshold explicitly include: academic specialists in mathematics, computer science, natural science and technology ('Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik', MINT — a category covering engineering under 'Technik'); academic specialists in architecture and spatial/transport planning; doctors ('Ärztinnen und Ärzte'), dentists, vets and pharmacists; and academic nursing/midwifery specialists. A further special rule lets an IT specialist qualify for the reduced-threshold Blue Card without a university degree at all, given at least 3 years of relevant, academic-level professional experience within the last 7 years. The reduced threshold requires the Bundesagentur für Arbeit to first check that pay and working conditions match those of comparable domestic employees; the standard threshold needs no such check. Separately, the Bundesagentur's annual shortage-occupation analysis (Fachkräfteengpassanalyse) found 157 occupations in shortage in its 2025 edition, concentrated in nursing/healthcare, construction and skilled trades — a broader, non-Blue-Card-specific measure that changes year to year (it found IT-sales and software-development shortages had ended compared with the prior year, while a new shortage appeared in surveying-engineering).

Show the source

Two different day-count rules should not be confused: the 120-full-days/240-half-days limit above applies to a residence permit for study purposes (enrolled degree students). A separate, unrelated day limit applies to residence permits for study-preparation stays (e.g. attending a language course before enrolling), which is not the rule described here. make-it-in-germany.com — the Federal Government's official skilled-migration portal, which publishes much of this same material in English — returned an automated bot-verification challenge to this collector's non-browser fetch tools and so could not be archived and cited directly; every figure in this entry is instead cited to BAMF and Auswärtiges Amt pages, which independently state the same rules. Read 16 August 2026. Deepening pass, 17 August 2026: inDemandOccupations replaced with EU Blue Card salary-threshold detail, per the project brief's explicit ask for a country whose reduced threshold is tied to named shortage professions. Cited to arbeitsagentur.de (the Bundesagentur für Arbeit's own ZAV international-placement newsletter page), an already-allowlisted Germany domain — no domain change needed. The 2026 figures (EUR 50,700 standard / EUR 45,934.20 reduced) and the shortage-occupation category names (MINT academics, architecture/planning academics, doctors, dentists, vets, pharmacists, academic nursing/midwifery, plus the IT-specialist-without-degree carve-out) are this page's own words, not a conversion from another currency/scale. Note precisely what 'MINT' covers: it is the Bundesagentur's own umbrella term for mathematics, computer science (Informatik), natural science and technology (Technik) graduates — it names the category, not the word 'Ingenieur'/engineer literally, though Technik is understood to include engineering; this entry says so explicitly rather than overclaiming a literal citation. The prior Fachkräfteengpassanalyse content (157 shortage occupations, 2025 edition) was kept as a second, shorter paragraph rather than deleted, since it remains accurate and gives a broader (non-Blue-Card) shortage signal. citizenshipRoute added 17 August 2026: the 5-year figure and B1/Einbürgerungstest conditions are cited to bamf.de's own 'Einbürgerung in Deutschland' page (896146c8106c6a83, read the same day this note was written, so it reflects the post-30-October-2025 rule). The repeal of the 3-year fast track was independently confirmed against the current official law text of StAG §10 on gesetze-im-internet.de (5e754a29c205e76e, already an allowed Germany domain by virtue of being added this pass — see IMMIGRATION_DOMAINS), which shows paragraphs (3) and (3a) both marked '(weggefallen)'. The dual-nationality statement ('Seit dem 27.06.2024 werden alle Staatsangehörigen unter Hinnahme von Mehrstaatigkeit eingebürgert') is cited to auswaertiges-amt.de (18cff8083a4e04bb), an already-allowed Germany domain, rather than bamf.de, since BAMF's own citizen-facing page does not itself state the Mehrstaatigkeit rule in as much detail. bmi.bund.de — the ministry that owns this policy — returned HTTP 400 to every fetch attempt this pass (both the project's default fetcher and WebFetch) on several different URLs tried, so it could not be used despite being an already-allowed domain; a future collector with different network conditions should retry it. naturalisationStatus set to 'published-route' on 18 August 2026: the authority already cited under citizenshipRoute publishes criteria a foreign resident could actually follow, which is the only claim this field makes. It is deliberately not a judgement about how attainable that route is in practice. studentVisaFunds added 19 August 2026. The Auswärtiges Amt's own central Sperrkonto page (snapshot d25a23872dd8b603) deliberately publishes no number: it says the amount 'variiert je nach Aufenthaltszweck', is based on the BAföG maximum rates, and tells the applicant to look it up 'auf der Webseite der zuständigen Auslandsvertretung bzw. im Auslandsportal' — its English twin (64a22d6737946bc0) says the same. The figure is therefore cited to a German mission's own page on diplo.de, the Federal Foreign Office's domain for its embassies and consulates and the body that actually issues the national visa, which is why diplo.de was added to Germany's IMMIGRATION_DOMAINS this pass. The Paris embassy page was chosen because it states the monthly and the annual figure in one sentence and also carries the Studienbewerber and scholarship conditions. Three further missions were archived the same day as an independent cross-check and all state the same rate: Quito (ab3cb26e3eff1eeb) '12 x 992,- = 11.904,- €', Tiflis (2185f74496cc1197) 'der jeweils gültige BaföG-Satz, der aktuell 992,-- Euro beträgt', and Tashkent (55cad36d3daedc62) '11.904 Euro für das gesamte erste Jahr'. The widely-circulated 11.208 Euro figure is the pre-September-2024 rate and was not used; the Auswärtiges Amt's own FAQ page on study financing (d7cc582456ad8fde) no longer prints any figure at all. make-it-in-germany.com, though allowlisted, again returned a JavaScript/bot-challenge stub of 93 characters to plain HTTP fetching and so could not be archived.

Open the immigration authority's own page ↗

You will need a blocked account for this visa. Open one (partner link)

Advertisement

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about DIT

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…