Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 13 Sept 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
Not separately QS-rankedKamloops, Canada· QS World University Rankings 2027

Thompson Rivers University

Thompson Rivers University, in Kamloops, Canada, has 21 undergraduate courses listed on StudyPath. International tuition runs from ~CA$26,238 to ~CA$26,762.80 a year depending on the course. TRU publishes its own accommodation prices, from CA$4,840 fall and winter semesters (tru's standard two-semester on-campus residence term, approx. 8 months). 20 of the 21 publish an application deadline. 3 named scholarships are recorded against these courses. Every figure above was read from TRU's own published pages and last checked on 20 August 2026.

Not in the QS World University Rankings. QS's own topuniversities.com profile for Thompson Rivers University lists university information, programmes, fees and cost-of-living estimates but does not show an overall QS World University Rankings position for the institution.

Courses
21
Fees verified
21 / 21
Scholarship entries
63
The TRU Faculty of Law takes up to the top two floors of Old Main. Verified
The TRU Faculty of Law takes up to the top two floors of Old Main. · Photo: Thompson Rivers UniversityCC BY-SA 4.0
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

21 courses

Computing Science

BCS · 4 years · Computer Science

International tuition

CA$104,952 total for the course

Verified

2026/27 · Same rate across the institution · International students

TRU's Guaranteed International Tuition Model: this is the total tuition for the full 120-credit (40-course), four-year Bachelor's degree at the general per-credit rate of $875 ($2,623/course) that applies to nearly all TRU bachelor's degrees (Software Engineering and Computer Engineering are priced separately as named exceptions). The rate is locked in for a new international student's full intended programme length starting from their first semester, so the total does not rise with future annual increases. Averaged evenly, this is roughly CAD $26,238/year. Separate general fees apply: $612/semester (12 credits), a $75/month health fee, and a $248/year TRUSU Extended Health & Dental Plan; books/supplies are additional.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September, January, May
Source
Application deadline
May 1 for Fall (September) entry; February 1 for Summer (May) entry; October 1 of the prior year for Winter (January) entry. Late applications are considered if space remains; high-volume programs may close early.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships3 available
  • Diversity Scholarships

    Amount is not stated as a fixed dollar figure on TRU's scholarships page; the award is applied automatically to a qualifying new international student's account at the time of their application.

    Eligibility: Automatically considered for new international students who demonstrate excellent academics and come from a country underrepresented on the TRU campus (5 or fewer students from that country currently enrolled). Considered met if the applicant has a 3.0 GPA, or IELTS 6.5+, or TOEFL iBT 88+. No application required — applied automatically at the time of the student’s application if the qualifications are met.

    New international students only.

    Source
  • Academic Excellence Award

    Up to CAD $2,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 for a second semester if the student maintains a minimum 3.0 GPA at the end of their first TRU semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 86% (A) during their last year of high school/college/university. Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible; there is no separate application.

    New-student award only.

    Source
  • Exceptional Student Award

    Up to CAD $4,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 per semester for up to three additional semesters, conditional on maintaining a minimum 3.33 GPA at the end of each semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 80% (A-) during their last year of high school/college/university and qualifies for direct entry to academic studies (IELTS 6.5+). Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible.

    New-student award only.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • IELTS Academic, 6.5 overall, no bands below 6.0Applies to direct entry into TRU's academic (bachelor's/diploma/certificate) programs. Other accepted tests for direct entry (stated on the same page but not individually quoted here): TOEFL iBT 88, no section below 20 (a revised TOEFL scale of 4.5, no section below 4.0, applies from 2026); Duolingo English Test 125+, no sub-score below 115; PTE Academic 58+, no band below 55; Michigan English Test (MET) 62; CAEL 70+, no subtest below 60. Applicants below the direct-entry bar may be placed into TRU's English for Academic Purposes (EAP) program at Level 3, 4 or 5 depending on their score.
Source

Academic offer

Grade 12 (or equivalent) or mature student status. English Studies 12/English First Peoples 12 with a minimum of 73% (or equivalent). Pre-calculus 12 or Foundations of Math 12 with a minimum of C+ (or equivalent), within the last two years.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BEng · 5 years · Software Engineering, Computer Science

International tuition

CA$133,813 total for the course

Verified

2026/27 · Priced for this course · International students

TRU's Guaranteed International Tuition Model: total tuition for the full five-year, 153-credit (50-course) Bachelor of Engineering in Software Engineering at $875/credit ($2,623/course), listed as a named fee exception because its credit load differs from the standard 120-credit bachelor's degree. Locked in for a new international student's full intended programme length from their first semester. Averaged evenly across five years, this is roughly CAD $26763/year. Separate general fees apply: $612/semester (12 credits), a $75/month health fee, and a $248/year TRUSU Extended Health & Dental Plan; books/supplies are additional.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September
Source
Application deadline
May 1 for the Fall (September) intake, the program’s only intake. Late applications are considered if space remains.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships3 available
  • Diversity Scholarships

    Amount is not stated as a fixed dollar figure on TRU's scholarships page; the award is applied automatically to a qualifying new international student's account at the time of their application.

    Eligibility: Automatically considered for new international students who demonstrate excellent academics and come from a country underrepresented on the TRU campus (5 or fewer students from that country currently enrolled). Considered met if the applicant has a 3.0 GPA, or IELTS 6.5+, or TOEFL iBT 88+. No application required — applied automatically at the time of the student’s application if the qualifications are met.

    New international students only.

    Source
  • Academic Excellence Award

    Up to CAD $2,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 for a second semester if the student maintains a minimum 3.0 GPA at the end of their first TRU semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 86% (A) during their last year of high school/college/university. Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible; there is no separate application.

    New-student award only.

    Source
  • Exceptional Student Award

    Up to CAD $4,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 per semester for up to three additional semesters, conditional on maintaining a minimum 3.33 GPA at the end of each semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 80% (A-) during their last year of high school/college/university and qualifies for direct entry to academic studies (IELTS 6.5+). Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible.

    New-student award only.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • IELTS Academic, 6.5 overall, no bands below 6.0Applies to direct entry into TRU's academic (bachelor's/diploma/certificate) programs. Other accepted tests for direct entry (stated on the same page but not individually quoted here): TOEFL iBT 88, no section below 20 (a revised TOEFL scale of 4.5, no section below 4.0, applies from 2026); Duolingo English Test 125+, no sub-score below 115; PTE Academic 58+, no band below 55; Michigan English Test (MET) 62; CAEL 70+, no subtest below 60. Applicants below the direct-entry bar may be placed into TRU's English for Academic Purposes (EAP) program at Level 3, 4 or 5 depending on their score.
Source

Academic offer

High school admission requirements: Grade 12 (or equivalent); English Studies 12/English First Peoples 12 with a minimum of 73% (or equivalent); Pre-calculus 12 with a minimum of 67% (or equivalent); Chemistry 11 with a minimum of 67% (or equivalent); Physics 11 with a minimum of 67% (or equivalent), with Physics 12 at 67%+ preferred. Applicants with partial first-year engineering or one year of post-secondary science study are considered case-by-case by the TRU Engineering Undergraduate Admission Committee.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BEng · 5 years · Computer Science

International tuition

CA$133,814 total for the course

Verified

2026/27 · Priced for this course · International students

TRU's Guaranteed International Tuition Model: total tuition for the full five-year, 153-credit (50-course) Bachelor of Engineering in Computer Engineering at $875/credit ($2,623/course), listed as a named fee exception because its credit load differs from the standard 120-credit bachelor's degree. Locked in for a new international student's full intended programme length from their first semester. Averaged evenly across five years, this is roughly CAD $26763/year. Separate general fees apply: $612/semester (12 credits), a $75/month health fee, and a $248/year TRUSU Extended Health & Dental Plan; books/supplies are additional.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September
Source
Application deadline
May 1 for the Fall (September) intake, the program’s only intake. Late applications are considered if space remains.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships3 available
  • Diversity Scholarships

    Amount is not stated as a fixed dollar figure on TRU's scholarships page; the award is applied automatically to a qualifying new international student's account at the time of their application.

    Eligibility: Automatically considered for new international students who demonstrate excellent academics and come from a country underrepresented on the TRU campus (5 or fewer students from that country currently enrolled). Considered met if the applicant has a 3.0 GPA, or IELTS 6.5+, or TOEFL iBT 88+. No application required — applied automatically at the time of the student’s application if the qualifications are met.

    New international students only.

    Source
  • Academic Excellence Award

    Up to CAD $2,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 for a second semester if the student maintains a minimum 3.0 GPA at the end of their first TRU semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 86% (A) during their last year of high school/college/university. Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible; there is no separate application.

    New-student award only.

    Source
  • Exceptional Student Award

    Up to CAD $4,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 per semester for up to three additional semesters, conditional on maintaining a minimum 3.33 GPA at the end of each semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 80% (A-) during their last year of high school/college/university and qualifies for direct entry to academic studies (IELTS 6.5+). Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible.

    New-student award only.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • IELTS Academic, 6.5 overall, no bands below 6.0Applies to direct entry into TRU's academic (bachelor's/diploma/certificate) programs. Other accepted tests for direct entry (stated on the same page but not individually quoted here): TOEFL iBT 88, no section below 20 (a revised TOEFL scale of 4.5, no section below 4.0, applies from 2026); Duolingo English Test 125+, no sub-score below 115; PTE Academic 58+, no band below 55; Michigan English Test (MET) 62; CAEL 70+, no subtest below 60. Applicants below the direct-entry bar may be placed into TRU's English for Academic Purposes (EAP) program at Level 3, 4 or 5 depending on their score.
Source

Academic offer

High school admission requirements: BC Grade 12 (or equivalent); BC English 12/English 12 First Peoples with a minimum of 73 percent (or equivalent); Pre-Calculus 12 with a minimum of 67 percent (or equivalent); Chemistry 11 with a minimum of 67 percent (or equivalent); Physics 11 with a minimum of 67 percent (or equivalent), with Physics 12 at 67%+ preferred. Second- and third-year direct entry is possible with completed post-secondary science/engineering coursework, evaluated case-by-case.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

Biology

BSc · 4 years · Biology & Life Sciences

International tuition

CA$104,952 total for the course

Verified

2026/27 · Same rate across the institution · International students

TRU's Guaranteed International Tuition Model: this is the total tuition for the full 120-credit (40-course), four-year Bachelor's degree at the general per-credit rate of $875 ($2,623/course) that applies to nearly all TRU bachelor's degrees (Software Engineering and Computer Engineering are priced separately as named exceptions). The rate is locked in for a new international student's full intended programme length starting from their first semester, so the total does not rise with future annual increases. Averaged evenly, this is roughly CAD $26,238/year. Separate general fees apply: $612/semester (12 credits), a $75/month health fee, and a $248/year TRUSU Extended Health & Dental Plan; books/supplies are additional.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September, January, May
Source
Application deadline
May 1 for Fall (September) entry; February 1 for Summer (May) entry; October 1 of the prior year for Winter (January) entry. Late applications are considered if space remains; high-volume programs may close early.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships3 available
  • Diversity Scholarships

    Amount is not stated as a fixed dollar figure on TRU's scholarships page; the award is applied automatically to a qualifying new international student's account at the time of their application.

    Eligibility: Automatically considered for new international students who demonstrate excellent academics and come from a country underrepresented on the TRU campus (5 or fewer students from that country currently enrolled). Considered met if the applicant has a 3.0 GPA, or IELTS 6.5+, or TOEFL iBT 88+. No application required — applied automatically at the time of the student’s application if the qualifications are met.

    New international students only.

    Source
  • Academic Excellence Award

    Up to CAD $2,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 for a second semester if the student maintains a minimum 3.0 GPA at the end of their first TRU semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 86% (A) during their last year of high school/college/university. Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible; there is no separate application.

    New-student award only.

    Source
  • Exceptional Student Award

    Up to CAD $4,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 per semester for up to three additional semesters, conditional on maintaining a minimum 3.33 GPA at the end of each semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 80% (A-) during their last year of high school/college/university and qualifies for direct entry to academic studies (IELTS 6.5+). Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible.

    New-student award only.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • IELTS Academic, 6.5 overall, no bands below 6.0Applies to direct entry into TRU's academic (bachelor's/diploma/certificate) programs. Other accepted tests for direct entry (stated on the same page but not individually quoted here): TOEFL iBT 88, no section below 20 (a revised TOEFL scale of 4.5, no section below 4.0, applies from 2026); Duolingo English Test 125+, no sub-score below 115; PTE Academic 58+, no band below 55; Michigan English Test (MET) 62; CAEL 70+, no subtest below 60. Applicants below the direct-entry bar may be placed into TRU's English for Academic Purposes (EAP) program at Level 3, 4 or 5 depending on their score.
Source

Academic offer

English Studies 12/English First Peoples 12 with a minimum of 73% (or equivalent). Bachelor of Science first-year prerequisites for this major group (Biology, Chemistry, Chemical Biology, Environmental Chemistry): Life Sciences 11 or Anatomy & Physiology 12 with C+ or better, Chemistry 11, Pre-calculus 12 with a minimum C+ within the past 2 years, and Physics 11 (or PHYS 1130).
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

Chemistry

BSc · 4 years · Chemistry

International tuition

CA$104,952 total for the course

Verified

2026/27 · Same rate across the institution · International students

TRU's Guaranteed International Tuition Model: this is the total tuition for the full 120-credit (40-course), four-year Bachelor's degree at the general per-credit rate of $875 ($2,623/course) that applies to nearly all TRU bachelor's degrees (Software Engineering and Computer Engineering are priced separately as named exceptions). The rate is locked in for a new international student's full intended programme length starting from their first semester, so the total does not rise with future annual increases. Averaged evenly, this is roughly CAD $26,238/year. Separate general fees apply: $612/semester (12 credits), a $75/month health fee, and a $248/year TRUSU Extended Health & Dental Plan; books/supplies are additional.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September, January, May
Source
Application deadline
May 1 for Fall (September) entry; February 1 for Summer (May) entry; October 1 of the prior year for Winter (January) entry. Late applications are considered if space remains; high-volume programs may close early.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships3 available
  • Diversity Scholarships

    Amount is not stated as a fixed dollar figure on TRU's scholarships page; the award is applied automatically to a qualifying new international student's account at the time of their application.

    Eligibility: Automatically considered for new international students who demonstrate excellent academics and come from a country underrepresented on the TRU campus (5 or fewer students from that country currently enrolled). Considered met if the applicant has a 3.0 GPA, or IELTS 6.5+, or TOEFL iBT 88+. No application required — applied automatically at the time of the student’s application if the qualifications are met.

    New international students only.

    Source
  • Academic Excellence Award

    Up to CAD $2,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 for a second semester if the student maintains a minimum 3.0 GPA at the end of their first TRU semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 86% (A) during their last year of high school/college/university. Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible; there is no separate application.

    New-student award only.

    Source
  • Exceptional Student Award

    Up to CAD $4,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 per semester for up to three additional semesters, conditional on maintaining a minimum 3.33 GPA at the end of each semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 80% (A-) during their last year of high school/college/university and qualifies for direct entry to academic studies (IELTS 6.5+). Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible.

    New-student award only.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • IELTS Academic, 6.5 overall, no bands below 6.0Applies to direct entry into TRU's academic (bachelor's/diploma/certificate) programs. Other accepted tests for direct entry (stated on the same page but not individually quoted here): TOEFL iBT 88, no section below 20 (a revised TOEFL scale of 4.5, no section below 4.0, applies from 2026); Duolingo English Test 125+, no sub-score below 115; PTE Academic 58+, no band below 55; Michigan English Test (MET) 62; CAEL 70+, no subtest below 60. Applicants below the direct-entry bar may be placed into TRU's English for Academic Purposes (EAP) program at Level 3, 4 or 5 depending on their score.
Source

Academic offer

English Studies 12/English First Peoples 12 with a minimum of 73% (or equivalent). Bachelor of Science first-year prerequisites for this major group (Biology, Chemistry, Chemical Biology, Environmental Chemistry): Life Sciences 11 or Anatomy & Physiology 12 with C+ or better, Chemistry 11, Pre-calculus 12 with a minimum C+ within the past 2 years, and Physics 11 (or PHYS 1130).
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

Chemical Biology

BSc · 4 years · Biochemistry, Chemistry

International tuition

CA$104,952 total for the course

Verified

2026/27 · Same rate across the institution · International students

TRU's Guaranteed International Tuition Model: this is the total tuition for the full 120-credit (40-course), four-year Bachelor's degree at the general per-credit rate of $875 ($2,623/course) that applies to nearly all TRU bachelor's degrees (Software Engineering and Computer Engineering are priced separately as named exceptions). The rate is locked in for a new international student's full intended programme length starting from their first semester, so the total does not rise with future annual increases. Averaged evenly, this is roughly CAD $26,238/year. Separate general fees apply: $612/semester (12 credits), a $75/month health fee, and a $248/year TRUSU Extended Health & Dental Plan; books/supplies are additional.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September, January, May
Source
Application deadline
May 1 for Fall (September) entry; February 1 for Summer (May) entry; October 1 of the prior year for Winter (January) entry. Late applications are considered if space remains; high-volume programs may close early.
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships3 available
  • Diversity Scholarships

    Amount is not stated as a fixed dollar figure on TRU's scholarships page; the award is applied automatically to a qualifying new international student's account at the time of their application.

    Eligibility: Automatically considered for new international students who demonstrate excellent academics and come from a country underrepresented on the TRU campus (5 or fewer students from that country currently enrolled). Considered met if the applicant has a 3.0 GPA, or IELTS 6.5+, or TOEFL iBT 88+. No application required — applied automatically at the time of the student’s application if the qualifications are met.

    New international students only.

    Source
  • Academic Excellence Award

    Up to CAD $2,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 for a second semester if the student maintains a minimum 3.0 GPA at the end of their first TRU semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 86% (A) during their last year of high school/college/university. Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible; there is no separate application.

    New-student award only.

    Source
  • Exceptional Student Award

    Up to CAD $4,000: CAD $1,000 awarded first, then a further CAD $1,000 per semester for up to three additional semesters, conditional on maintaining a minimum 3.33 GPA at the end of each semester.

    Eligibility: For new international undergraduate students only. Considered when the applicant has a minimum GPA of 80% (A-) during their last year of high school/college/university and qualifies for direct entry to academic studies (IELTS 6.5+). Candidates are identified by TRU's international marketing team based on the program application and contacted directly if eligible.

    New-student award only.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • IELTS Academic, 6.5 overall, no bands below 6.0Applies to direct entry into TRU's academic (bachelor's/diploma/certificate) programs. Other accepted tests for direct entry (stated on the same page but not individually quoted here): TOEFL iBT 88, no section below 20 (a revised TOEFL scale of 4.5, no section below 4.0, applies from 2026); Duolingo English Test 125+, no sub-score below 115; PTE Academic 58+, no band below 55; Michigan English Test (MET) 62; CAEL 70+, no subtest below 60. Applicants below the direct-entry bar may be placed into TRU's English for Academic Purposes (EAP) program at Level 3, 4 or 5 depending on their score.
Source

Academic offer

English Studies 12/English First Peoples 12 with a minimum of 73% (or equivalent). Bachelor of Science first-year prerequisites for this major group (Biology, Chemistry, Chemical Biology, Environmental Chemistry): Life Sciences 11 or Anatomy & Physiology 12 with C+ or better, Chemistry 11, Pre-calculus 12 with a minimum C+ within the past 2 years, and Physics 11 (or PHYS 1130).
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

Advertisement

More about TRU

Student body

QS's own figures · QS World University Rankings 2027

Students
5,111
International students
2,166
≈42% of the student body (worked out here)

These come from QS, not the university's own pages. Unlike every fee and deadline on this site. QS is the primary source for its own rankings and measurements, which is why it is cited here and rejected everywhere else.

Show the QS profile

About & contact

Kamloops, Canada· view on Google Maps ↗tru.ca

Find nearby

These open a map search near Kamloops. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

Accommodation

CA$4,840–CA$10,810Fall and Winter semesters (TRU's standard two-semester on-campus residence term, approx. 8 months)

On-campus residence, Coyote Den suites

  • Shared double room, Coyote Den (furnished with bed, desk, study chair, closet, dresser; shared kitchenette with two-burner cooktop, apartment-size fridge, sink, microwave; individually controlled heating and A/C)CA$4,840
  • One-bedroom suite, Coyote Den (same furnishings and kitchenette, individually controlled heating and A/C)CA$10,810

Rate includes a non-refundable Residence Life Activity Fee; a further $100 non-refundable application fee applies separately. Two other options are published by TRU for the same Fall+Winter period: North Tower (furnished, air-conditioned on-campus suites, no meals) at $10,035, and off-campus East Village (2- or 4-bedroom suites, no meals) at $7,120. A Homestay Program (private furnished room with three meals a day in a Canadian family home) is billed separately at $5,000 per semester (about $1,250/month), plus a $150 placement fee and a $625 refundable security deposit.

Published by the university itself, not a live listings price. Actual cost depends on room type, availability and when you apply.

Show the source

Search student housing near Kamloops (partner link)

After you graduate

Rules read 16 Aug 2026

What Canada's own immigration authority currently publishes. Not a ranking, not a guarantee, and not the same as what any agent or forum will tell you. Whether someone actually obtains residence depends on occupation, points, funds and policy that can change between application and graduation.

Money you must prove before the visa

CA$22,895per year, for a single applicant with no accompanying family members, covering the first year of the programme — and explicitly EXCLUDING tuition and transportation, which must be shown on top

Shown as a balance in a bank account. You keep control of it.

Figure published for: for applications made on or after September 1, 2025, in IRCC's own wording; the page was last modified 2026-01-26 and states 'These amounts are updated each year'. The previous figure, for applications between January 1, 2024 and August 31, 2025, was $20,635. This amount is revised regularly, so check it again before you transfer anything.

Applies to every province and territory EXCEPT Quebec; a student going to Quebec needs a Certificat d'acceptation du Québec and must meet costs set separately by the Ministère de l'Immigration, de la Francisation et de l'Intégration, which IRCC does not publish. The figure is living expenses only — tuition and return transportation for the applicant and any accompanying family are additional. Accompanying family raises it: $28,502 for 2 people, $35,040 for 3, $42,543 for 4, $48,252 for 5, $54,420 for 6, $60,589 for 7, and $6,170 for each further person. Funds must be available without working in Canada. Proof is needed for the first year; for a programme longer than a year the applicant must also explain how the rest will be paid. IRCC accepts several forms of proof and mandates none: bank statements for the past 4 months, a guaranteed investment certificate (GIC) from a participating Canadian financial institution, proof the first year of tuition and housing is already paid, a student or education loan, a bank draft convertible to Canadian dollars, a letter from a person or institution providing the money, or proof of a Canadian-funded scholarship. Local visa offices can require more, and an applicant from a country with foreign-exchange controls must also prove the money can legally be exported.

Show the source
Compare this against other countries →

Work during study

International students on a study permit may work off campus without a separate work permit if they are a full-time student at a designated learning institution (DLI), enrolled in a post-secondary academic, vocational or professional program (or a Quebec secondary-level vocational program) that is at least 6 months long and leads to a degree, diploma or certificate, hold a valid study permit with work conditions printed on it, and have a Social Insurance Number (SIN). During regular school terms or semesters they may work up to 24 hours per week off campus (across more than one job if needed). During scheduled breaks in the school year — such as summer and winter holidays or a reading week — they may work unlimited hours off campus. Working more than 24 hours per week during a term is a violation of study permit conditions.

Show the source

Post-study work visa

Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) . Up to 3 years
Available to eligible graduates of designated learning institutions (not every institution or program qualifies). Permit length depends on the level and duration of the study program (and the passport's expiry date, whichever is shorter): a program of at least 8 months but under 2 years gets a PGWP up to the same length as the program; a program of 2 years or more gets a PGWP valid for 3 years. Graduates with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree face no field-of-study eligibility restriction (a restriction that does apply, since 1 November 2024, to some non-degree college/polytechnic programs), but all applicants now generally need a minimum Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 language-test result (CLB 5 for non-university college/polytechnic graduates) unless their PGWP application was submitted before 1 November 2024.

Show the source

Route to permanent residence

Express Entry's Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is a federal permanent-residence stream for people with qualifying Canadian work experience — the kind of experience a Post-Graduation Work Permit lets a graduate accumulate. To be eligible, the work experience must be paid, gained in Canada while authorized to work, in a National Occupational Classification (NOC) Training/Education/Experience/Responsibilities (TEER) category of 0, 1, 2 or 3, and total at least 1 year of full-time work (or the part-time equivalent — 1,560 hours) within the 3 years before applying. There is no minimum education requirement for the CEC stream itself, and a successful applicant must intend to live outside Quebec, which runs its own skilled-worker selection process.

Show the source

Route to citizenship

Canadian citizenship is administered by the same department that runs immigration, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC). An adult applicant must have been physically present in Canada for at least 1,095 days (3 years) during the 5 years immediately before signing the application; time spent in Canada as a temporary resident or protected person before becoming a permanent resident counts at half value toward this, capped at 365 of the 1,095 days. Applicants must have filed Canadian income taxes, if required to, for at least 3 of those 5 years. Applicants aged 18 to 54 must demonstrate English or French to at least Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) / Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadien (NCLC) level 4, and must pass a citizenship test on the rights and responsibilities of citizens and on Canada's history, geography, government, laws and symbols; applicants 55 and over are exempt from both the language proof and the test. All adult applicants take the oath of citizenship at a ceremony. Canada permits dual and multiple citizenship: on this same page IRCC states plainly that becoming a Canadian citizen does not require giving up another nationality, while flagging that a person's other country of citizenship may not reciprocate that position.

Show the source

What the government currently prioritises

Express Entry (the federal system covering the Canadian Experience Class, Federal Skilled Worker Program and Federal Skilled Trades Program) periodically runs category-based rounds of invitations that target published categories directly relevant to this dataset's fields: 'Healthcare and social services occupations' and 'Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) occupations', alongside separate categories for trade occupations, education, transport, French-language proficiency, and Canadian-experienced physicians, senior managers and researchers. Eligibility for either category requires at least 12 months of work experience within the past 3 years in a single occupation named on IRCC's published table for that round, identified by National Occupational Classification (NOC) code. The STEM table has included, among others, architecture and science managers, cybersecurity specialists, civil/mechanical/electrical-and-electronics/industrial-and-manufacturing engineers, geological engineers, and civil/mechanical/electrical engineering technologists and technicians. The healthcare and social services table has included, among others, specialists in clinical/laboratory medicine and in surgery, general practitioners and family physicians, dentists, optometrists, pharmacists, psychologists, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, registered nurses and registered psychiatric nurses, nurse practitioners, licensed practical nurses, dental hygienists and dental therapists, medical laboratory and medical radiation technologists, and social workers — and a separate category exists specifically for 'Physicians with Canadian work experience'. Which categories run, and which occupations are listed, is decided round by round and is not guaranteed for any particular occupation.

Show the source

PGWP eligibility rules changed materially on 1 November 2024: most applicants must now show a minimum language-test result, and non-degree study-permit applicants from that date must be in a field of study linked to occupations in long-term shortage — this field-of-study requirement does not apply to bachelor's, master's or doctoral graduates. Category-based Express Entry rounds (including the STEM category) run at IRCC's discretion, are not on a fixed schedule, and are not guaranteed to recur for any given occupation. Read 16 August 2026; Canada has changed PGWP and Express Entry settings more than once in the last two years, so re-check before relying on this. Deepening pass, 17 August 2026: inDemandOccupations re-cited to the same already-archived category-based-selection.html page to add the Healthcare and social services occupations category (specific named occupations) alongside the STEM category that was already there — the page names both categories together, so a single quote listing the category names supports the expanded value; the occupation lists themselves come from tables already present in the same archived snapshot (6a889eff73384e54). citizenshipRoute added 17 August 2026, cited to the same canada.ca 'Who can apply' page already used above (c361760c231416e7) — that single page carries the physical-presence figure, the language/test age bands, the tax-filing rule and the dual-citizenship statement together, so one citation supports the whole field. naturalisationStatus set to 'published-route' on 18 August 2026: the authority already cited under citizenshipRoute publishes criteria a foreign resident could actually follow, which is the only claim this field makes. It is deliberately not a judgement about how attainable that route is in practice. studentVisaFunds added 19 August 2026. mechanism is recorded as bank-balance, not guaranteed-investment, and the reason matters: the Student Direct Stream — the route whose defining requirement was a CAN$20,635 GIC — no longer exists. IRCC's own student-direct-stream.html URL now serves the general study-permit hub with no SDS content on it at all (snapshot d26354c8c0a85eb7, read the same day). A GIC is still listed on the proof-of-funds page as one of several accepted documents, but it is no longer attached to a faster stream and no longer a required mechanism, so recording 'guaranteed-investment' would describe a programme that has been withdrawn. Quebec is deliberately left without a figure: IRCC's page says only that Quebec applicants must meet costs set by the Ministère de l'Immigration, de la Francisation et de l'Intégration, and that ministry is not an allowlisted immigration domain here, so the Quebec amount was not collected rather than guessed. The $22,895 is the single-applicant row; the larger household figures are in conditions verbatim from the same table.

Open the immigration authority's own page ↗

Advertisement

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about TRU

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…