Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 13 Sept 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
QS #1201-1400Paderborn, Germany· QS World University Rankings 2027

Paderborn University (Universität Paderborn)

Paderborn University (Universität Paderborn), in Paderborn, Germany, has 6 undergraduate courses and 3 master's courses listed on StudyPath. None of them charges tuition: every course here is published at zero for international students. Paderborn University publishes its own accommodation prices, from €400 per month. 2 named scholarships are recorded against these courses. Every figure above was read from Paderborn University's own published pages and last checked on 6 September 2026.

Courses
9
Fees verified
9 / 9
Scholarship entries
18
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

3 of 9

M.Sc. · 2 years · Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Verified

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

Same institution-wide North Rhine-Westphalia policy already recorded on sibling Paderborn programmes in this file: no tuition fee for any student. Only the standard semester fee (approx. EUR 300, covering the Deutschlandsemesterticket) applies.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
October (winter), April (summer)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium (Stiftung Studienfonds OWL) at Paderborn University

    EUR 3,600 per year, paid regardless of income (including where the student also receives BAföG), and the money can be used freely. Half comes from federal funds and half from Studienfonds OWL supporters; a support programme runs alongside the money.

    Eligibility: Open to students already enrolled at Paderborn University and to prospective students — school leavers and applicants intending to start there. Applicants need very good school or university performance together with social engagement outside school or university. The award runs through the Stiftung Studienfonds OWL, shared with four other Ostwestfalen-Lippe institutions.

    Paderborn students apply each year around mid-March. Funding is initially granted for two years, with a performance review after the first year deciding on the second. Paderborn's standing scholarships page (uni-paderborn.de/studium/stipendien) states the eligibility and achievement criteria; this citation is the university's own announcement page, which is where it states the amount and the income-independence. No numeric grade threshold is published, so none is recorded here.

    Source
  • Sozialstipendium (Stiftung Studienfonds OWL) at Paderborn University

    A scholarship from the Stiftung Studienfonds OWL for students in financial hardship. Paderborn's page does not state the amount paid, so none is recorded here.

    Eligibility: A need-based award for German and international students enrolled in a first degree at Paderborn University or one of the four other Studienfonds OWL institutions, and for school leavers and applicants about to start one. International students may also apply for a second degree if they completed their first degree abroad. The applicant must demonstrably be in financial or personal hardship, through no fault of their own, that threatens their taking up or continuing study, and must show at least satisfactory school or study performance.

    Recorded because it is a real, named, need-based award with published eligibility — the deliberately lower academic bar (at least satisfactory) is the point of it, and it is explicitly open to international students. The grade bar is a German verbal grade rather than a number on a stated scale, so no numeric bar is recorded.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • Abitur certificate showing level B2, or English studied as a foreign language for at least seven years with at least a passing gradeAlternatively satisfied by an English-language Bachelor's degree obtained in an English-speaking country or an accredited English-language domestic programme. German language skills are not required.
Source

Academic offer

Requires a Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering from Paderborn University, or a comparable/equivalent degree from another university, completed with an overall grade of at least 2.5 on the German scale (or an equivalent foreign grade). Also requires 6 weeks of practical work experience (waived for Paderborn's own Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's graduates). Free admission (no numerus clausus) -- all applicants meeting the requirements are guaranteed a place.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

M.Sc. · 2 years · Electrical & Electronic Engineering

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Verified

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

Same institution-wide North Rhine-Westphalia policy already recorded on sibling Paderborn programmes in this file: no tuition fee for any student. Only the standard semester fee (approx. EUR 300, covering the Deutschlandsemesterticket) applies.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
October (winter), April (summer)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium (Stiftung Studienfonds OWL) at Paderborn University

    EUR 3,600 per year, paid regardless of income (including where the student also receives BAföG), and the money can be used freely. Half comes from federal funds and half from Studienfonds OWL supporters; a support programme runs alongside the money.

    Eligibility: Open to students already enrolled at Paderborn University and to prospective students — school leavers and applicants intending to start there. Applicants need very good school or university performance together with social engagement outside school or university. The award runs through the Stiftung Studienfonds OWL, shared with four other Ostwestfalen-Lippe institutions.

    Paderborn students apply each year around mid-March. Funding is initially granted for two years, with a performance review after the first year deciding on the second. Paderborn's standing scholarships page (uni-paderborn.de/studium/stipendien) states the eligibility and achievement criteria; this citation is the university's own announcement page, which is where it states the amount and the income-independence. No numeric grade threshold is published, so none is recorded here.

    Source
  • Sozialstipendium (Stiftung Studienfonds OWL) at Paderborn University

    A scholarship from the Stiftung Studienfonds OWL for students in financial hardship. Paderborn's page does not state the amount paid, so none is recorded here.

    Eligibility: A need-based award for German and international students enrolled in a first degree at Paderborn University or one of the four other Studienfonds OWL institutions, and for school leavers and applicants about to start one. International students may also apply for a second degree if they completed their first degree abroad. The applicant must demonstrably be in financial or personal hardship, through no fault of their own, that threatens their taking up or continuing study, and must show at least satisfactory school or study performance.

    Recorded because it is a real, named, need-based award with published eligibility — the deliberately lower academic bar (at least satisfactory) is the point of it, and it is explicitly open to international students. The grade bar is a German verbal grade rather than a number on a stated scale, so no numeric bar is recorded.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • Bachelor's degree in an English-speaking country or in a domestic degree program accredited as English language program
  • TOEFL, 87 overallor a minimum result of 585 on the paper-based test
  • IELTS, 6 overall
  • Cambridge English: First (FCE)or an equivalent examination result
Source

Academic offer

Requires a Bachelor of Science in electrical engineering or a related field, covering a minimum credit-point scope in specific areas: Higher Mathematics (at least 24 CP), Electromagnetic Field Theory (at least 5 CP), Signal Theory (at least 4 CP), and Systems Theory (at least 4 CP), with a minimum overall grade of 2.5 on the German scale (or equivalent); the Examinations Board determines compliance with these requirements. Admission is free (no numerus clausus). German proficiency is not required -- the programme is only offered in English. The same page separately notes that non-EU international applicants must also show GRE Revised General Test results (a Quantitative Reasoning score of at least 157 and an Analytical Writing score of at least 4.0 are described as 'desirable' rather than a stated hard cutoff); applicants with a very good final degree grade may apply without a GRE score.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

M.Sc. · 2 years · Physics, Electrical & Electronic Engineering

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Verified

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

Same institution-wide North Rhine-Westphalia policy already recorded on sibling Paderborn programmes in this file: no tuition fee for any student. Only the standard semester fee (approx. EUR 300, covering the Deutschlandsemesterticket) applies.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
October (winter semester)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Deutschlandstipendium (Stiftung Studienfonds OWL) at Paderborn University

    EUR 3,600 per year, paid regardless of income (including where the student also receives BAföG), and the money can be used freely. Half comes from federal funds and half from Studienfonds OWL supporters; a support programme runs alongside the money.

    Eligibility: Open to students already enrolled at Paderborn University and to prospective students — school leavers and applicants intending to start there. Applicants need very good school or university performance together with social engagement outside school or university. The award runs through the Stiftung Studienfonds OWL, shared with four other Ostwestfalen-Lippe institutions.

    Paderborn students apply each year around mid-March. Funding is initially granted for two years, with a performance review after the first year deciding on the second. Paderborn's standing scholarships page (uni-paderborn.de/studium/stipendien) states the eligibility and achievement criteria; this citation is the university's own announcement page, which is where it states the amount and the income-independence. No numeric grade threshold is published, so none is recorded here.

    Source
  • Sozialstipendium (Stiftung Studienfonds OWL) at Paderborn University

    A scholarship from the Stiftung Studienfonds OWL for students in financial hardship. Paderborn's page does not state the amount paid, so none is recorded here.

    Eligibility: A need-based award for German and international students enrolled in a first degree at Paderborn University or one of the four other Studienfonds OWL institutions, and for school leavers and applicants about to start one. International students may also apply for a second degree if they completed their first degree abroad. The applicant must demonstrably be in financial or personal hardship, through no fault of their own, that threatens their taking up or continuing study, and must show at least satisfactory school or study performance.

    Recorded because it is a real, named, need-based award with published eligibility — the deliberately lower academic bar (at least satisfactory) is the point of it, and it is explicitly open to international students. The grade bar is a German verbal grade rather than a number on a stated scale, so no numeric bar is recorded.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · grades

English language

  • Bachelor's degree from an English-speaking country or on an English-language accredited domestic program
  • TOEFL, 80 overallinternet-based (iBT); alternatively 550 points on the paper-based (PBT) test
  • IELTS, 6 overall
  • Cambridge TestFirst Certificate in English (FCE), or a test of an equivalent level, or an appropriate previous school qualification
Source

Academic offer

Requires a Bachelor's degree in Physics or Engineering Physics, or an equivalent Natural Science or Engineering degree including physical and mathematical fundamentals and a quantum theory course; the Examinations Board determines compliance with these requirements. Admission is free (no numerus clausus). The same page separately states that international applicants must also show either a GRE Revised General Test score (at least 157 in Quantitative Reasoning and at least 4.0 in Analytical Writing) or a very good/good CGPA in their Bachelor's programme for admission, with the Examinations Board able to accept a lower GRE score where the Bachelor's final grade is very good.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

Advertisement

More about Paderborn University

Student body

QS's own figures · QS World University Rankings 2027

Students
18,010
Faculty
2,300

These come from QS, not the university's own pages. Unlike every fee and deadline on this site. QS is the primary source for its own rankings and measurements, which is why it is cited here and rejected everywhere else.

Show the QS profile

About & contact

Paderborn, Germany· view on Google Maps ↗uni-paderborn.de

Find nearby

These open a map search near Paderborn. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

Accommodation

€400per month

Paderborn University's own general cost-of-living estimate for students, 'Rent', from its International Office Finances page. Single stated figure, not a range. Studierendenwerk Paderborn, which runs the actual dormitories, sits on its own domain (studierendenwerk-pb.de) and was not cited.

The same table breaks the roughly EUR 1,210/month total student budget down as: rent EUR 400, health insurance approx. EUR 140, food EUR 350, free time min. EUR 150, semester fee approx. EUR 300/semester (EUR 50/month equivalent), miscellaneous approx. EUR 120. The page separately notes a first-rent-plus-deposit lump sum of roughly EUR 800-1,200 is needed on arrival.

Published by the university itself, not a live listings price. Actual cost depends on room type, availability and when you apply.

Show the source

Search student housing near Paderborn (partner link)

After you graduate

Rules read 16 Aug 2026

What Germany's own immigration authority currently publishes. Not a ranking, not a guarantee, and not the same as what any agent or forum will tell you. Whether someone actually obtains residence depends on occupation, points, funds and policy that can change between application and graduation.

Money you must prove before the visa

€11,904per year — the mission publishes it both ways, as 992,00 Euro pro Monat and 11.904,00 Euro pro Jahr, and says the proof normally has to cover the first year of the planned stay

Paid into a blocked account before you travel, and released to you in monthly instalments once you arrive.

Figure published for: 10.04.2025, the date the Federal Foreign Office carries on this page, and still stated there as the amount required when read on 19 August 2026. The figure is the BAföG maximum support rate, which the Auswärtiges Amt says the deposit is based on, so it moves when that rate moves. This amount is revised regularly, so check it again before you transfer anything.

A Sperrkonto is one accepted way to show the money, not the only one: the Auswärtiges Amt also accepts evidence of the parents' income and assets, a Verpflichtungserklärung (a formal undertaking under §§ 66-68 AufenthG by someone living in Germany), or an annually renewable bank guarantee lodged with a German bank. Someone applying as a Studienbewerber/in (applicant for a study place, § 17 II AufenthG) rather than an enrolled student must show a higher 1.091,00 Euro per month. A scholarship counts toward the requirement, but where it is worth less than 992,00 Euro a month the shortfall still has to be evidenced separately. Only 1/12 of the deposited total may be withdrawn per month, and at the visa appointment the mission accepts only an official account-opening confirmation naming both the total paid in and the monthly available amount. Blocked-account provider fees are payable on top of the blocked sum.

Show the source
Compare this against other countries →

Germany also requires proof of health cover for this visa. See what's required →

Work during study

International students on a residence permit for study purposes may generally work up to 120 full days or 240 half days per year without needing separate permission from the immigration or labour authorities, and may also take on student ancillary jobs (studentische Nebentätigkeiten — e.g. a student-assistant role at their own institution) which are not counted against that limit. In exceptional cases, the Ausländerbehörde (immigration office) responsible for the applicant's place of study can restrict this.

Show the source

Post-study work visa

Aufenthaltserlaubnis zur Arbeitsplatzsuche nach Studienabschluss (residence permit to seek employment after graduation, Section 20 Residence Act) . Up to 18 months
After successfully completing a degree or doctorate at a German higher education institution, a graduate can obtain a residence permit for up to 18 months to look for a job for any qualified employment. Any kind of work is permitted during this job-search period, and the applicant must be able to show their living costs are covered for it. (A separate, later 'Chancenkarte' route of up to 1 year exists for someone who later loses a follow-on job and needs to search again.)

Show the source

Route to permanent residence

A graduate who completes a degree or doctorate at a German higher education institution and then works for two years in a job matching that qualification can obtain a settlement permit (unbefristeter Aufenthaltstitel) — an unlimited, permanent residence title. This particular route does not apply to someone holding a residence permit for research purposes. Separately, a graduate with a concrete job offer meeting the required minimum salary threshold has a statutory right to be issued an EU Blue Card.

Show the source

Route to citizenship

Naturalisation (Einbürgerung) is governed by the federal Staatsangehörigkeitsgesetz (StAG) and administered by each Land's own naturalisation authority, with BAMF publishing the citizen-facing requirements. As of this reading the standard route requires 5 years of habitual, lawful residence in Germany — reduced from 8 years by the reform that took effect 27 June 2024. A shorter 3-year route for exceptional integration achievements existed briefly after that reform (StAG §10(3)) but was itself repealed effective 30 October 2025, confirmed by the current official law text simply marking that paragraph '(weggefallen)' (lapsed) — so 5 years is again the uniform minimum for every applicant rather than one of two tracks. Applicants must also hold secure residence status, be able to support themselves and any dependants without core social-assistance benefits, have no relevant criminal conviction, demonstrate German at CEFR level B1, and pass the Einbürgerungstest (a 33-question test on Germany's legal and social order, history and the applicant's own Land; 17 correct answers required). Since 27 June 2024, Germany accepts multiple nationality for every applicant, not only EU/Swiss nationals as the pre-reform rule allowed: naturalising no longer requires giving up an applicant's existing citizenship — though whether that other country's own law actually lets the person keep it remains outside Germany's control.

Show the source

What the government currently prioritises

The most concrete, actionable shortage signal for this dataset's students is Germany's EU Blue Card (Blaue Karte EU, a residence title under Section 18g of the Residence Act for someone with an academic degree and a job offer matching that qualification): it is granted at a reduced minimum gross annual salary when the job is in a recognised shortage occupation (Mangelberuf) or the applicant graduated within the last 3 years — EUR 45,934.20 for 2026 (the 'kleine'/small Blue Card), versus EUR 50,700 for the standard 'große'/large Blue Card, both set by the Bundesagentur für Arbeit and adjusted annually. The Bundesagentur's own current examples of shortage occupations qualifying for the reduced threshold explicitly include: academic specialists in mathematics, computer science, natural science and technology ('Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik', MINT — a category covering engineering under 'Technik'); academic specialists in architecture and spatial/transport planning; doctors ('Ärztinnen und Ärzte'), dentists, vets and pharmacists; and academic nursing/midwifery specialists. A further special rule lets an IT specialist qualify for the reduced-threshold Blue Card without a university degree at all, given at least 3 years of relevant, academic-level professional experience within the last 7 years. The reduced threshold requires the Bundesagentur für Arbeit to first check that pay and working conditions match those of comparable domestic employees; the standard threshold needs no such check. Separately, the Bundesagentur's annual shortage-occupation analysis (Fachkräfteengpassanalyse) found 157 occupations in shortage in its 2025 edition, concentrated in nursing/healthcare, construction and skilled trades — a broader, non-Blue-Card-specific measure that changes year to year (it found IT-sales and software-development shortages had ended compared with the prior year, while a new shortage appeared in surveying-engineering).

Show the source

Two different day-count rules should not be confused: the 120-full-days/240-half-days limit above applies to a residence permit for study purposes (enrolled degree students). A separate, unrelated day limit applies to residence permits for study-preparation stays (e.g. attending a language course before enrolling), which is not the rule described here. make-it-in-germany.com — the Federal Government's official skilled-migration portal, which publishes much of this same material in English — returned an automated bot-verification challenge to this collector's non-browser fetch tools and so could not be archived and cited directly; every figure in this entry is instead cited to BAMF and Auswärtiges Amt pages, which independently state the same rules. Read 16 August 2026. Deepening pass, 17 August 2026: inDemandOccupations replaced with EU Blue Card salary-threshold detail, per the project brief's explicit ask for a country whose reduced threshold is tied to named shortage professions. Cited to arbeitsagentur.de (the Bundesagentur für Arbeit's own ZAV international-placement newsletter page), an already-allowlisted Germany domain — no domain change needed. The 2026 figures (EUR 50,700 standard / EUR 45,934.20 reduced) and the shortage-occupation category names (MINT academics, architecture/planning academics, doctors, dentists, vets, pharmacists, academic nursing/midwifery, plus the IT-specialist-without-degree carve-out) are this page's own words, not a conversion from another currency/scale. Note precisely what 'MINT' covers: it is the Bundesagentur's own umbrella term for mathematics, computer science (Informatik), natural science and technology (Technik) graduates — it names the category, not the word 'Ingenieur'/engineer literally, though Technik is understood to include engineering; this entry says so explicitly rather than overclaiming a literal citation. The prior Fachkräfteengpassanalyse content (157 shortage occupations, 2025 edition) was kept as a second, shorter paragraph rather than deleted, since it remains accurate and gives a broader (non-Blue-Card) shortage signal. citizenshipRoute added 17 August 2026: the 5-year figure and B1/Einbürgerungstest conditions are cited to bamf.de's own 'Einbürgerung in Deutschland' page (896146c8106c6a83, read the same day this note was written, so it reflects the post-30-October-2025 rule). The repeal of the 3-year fast track was independently confirmed against the current official law text of StAG §10 on gesetze-im-internet.de (5e754a29c205e76e, already an allowed Germany domain by virtue of being added this pass — see IMMIGRATION_DOMAINS), which shows paragraphs (3) and (3a) both marked '(weggefallen)'. The dual-nationality statement ('Seit dem 27.06.2024 werden alle Staatsangehörigen unter Hinnahme von Mehrstaatigkeit eingebürgert') is cited to auswaertiges-amt.de (18cff8083a4e04bb), an already-allowed Germany domain, rather than bamf.de, since BAMF's own citizen-facing page does not itself state the Mehrstaatigkeit rule in as much detail. bmi.bund.de — the ministry that owns this policy — returned HTTP 400 to every fetch attempt this pass (both the project's default fetcher and WebFetch) on several different URLs tried, so it could not be used despite being an already-allowed domain; a future collector with different network conditions should retry it. naturalisationStatus set to 'published-route' on 18 August 2026: the authority already cited under citizenshipRoute publishes criteria a foreign resident could actually follow, which is the only claim this field makes. It is deliberately not a judgement about how attainable that route is in practice. studentVisaFunds added 19 August 2026. The Auswärtiges Amt's own central Sperrkonto page (snapshot d25a23872dd8b603) deliberately publishes no number: it says the amount 'variiert je nach Aufenthaltszweck', is based on the BAföG maximum rates, and tells the applicant to look it up 'auf der Webseite der zuständigen Auslandsvertretung bzw. im Auslandsportal' — its English twin (64a22d6737946bc0) says the same. The figure is therefore cited to a German mission's own page on diplo.de, the Federal Foreign Office's domain for its embassies and consulates and the body that actually issues the national visa, which is why diplo.de was added to Germany's IMMIGRATION_DOMAINS this pass. The Paris embassy page was chosen because it states the monthly and the annual figure in one sentence and also carries the Studienbewerber and scholarship conditions. Three further missions were archived the same day as an independent cross-check and all state the same rate: Quito (ab3cb26e3eff1eeb) '12 x 992,- = 11.904,- €', Tiflis (2185f74496cc1197) 'der jeweils gültige BaföG-Satz, der aktuell 992,-- Euro beträgt', and Tashkent (55cad36d3daedc62) '11.904 Euro für das gesamte erste Jahr'. The widely-circulated 11.208 Euro figure is the pre-September-2024 rate and was not used; the Auswärtiges Amt's own FAQ page on study financing (d7cc582456ad8fde) no longer prints any figure at all. make-it-in-germany.com, though allowlisted, again returned a JavaScript/bot-challenge stub of 93 characters to plain HTTP fetching and so could not be archived.

Open the immigration authority's own page ↗

You will need a blocked account for this visa. Open one (partner link)

Advertisement

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about Paderborn University

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…