Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 1 Oct 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
QS #781-790Riga, Latvia· QS World University Rankings 2027

University of Latvia (Latvijas Universitāte)

University of Latvia (Latvijas Universitāte), in Riga, Latvia, has 20 undergraduate courses listed on StudyPath. International tuition runs from €2,800 to €17,310 a year depending on the course. UL publishes its own accommodation prices, from €114 per month. Every figure above was read from UL's own published pages and last checked on 14 September 2026.

Courses
20
Fees verified
16 / 20
International tuition across 16 courses

€2,800to€17,310a year

Lowest: Computer Science (LV) Bachelor of Science in Computer ScienceHighest: Dentistry Doctor of Dental Medicine
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

6 of 20

Computer Science

Bachelor of Natural Sciences in Computer Science · 4 years · Computer Science

International tuition

€3,340 per year

~€13,400 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

2026/27 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

The University of Latvia publishes one tuition figure for this programme with no separate international rate — its own lu.lv programme page prints the same number with no citizenship qualifier — so this is recorded as all-students rather than as an overseas fee. On top of it, applicants from outside the EU, EEA and Switzerland pay a non-refundable €170 application fee and a one-off €500 deposit towards possible immigration expenses, payable in full with the first full-year fee on arrival and returned on request after graduation. Caveat worth knowing about the source: apply.lu.lv personalises deadlines and requirements to the visitor’s citizenship (it guessed a non-EU citizenship when this page was archived), so a reader should re-check the figure against their own citizenship selection.

Show the fee on the university's site
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Tuition fee €3,340 per year Application fee €170 one-time”
[Bachelor] Computer Science - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Intake
August 2026 (Autumn semester 2026/27)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades · interview

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 4 overallThe University publishes two TOEFL iBT bars on the same line, on two different scales: at least 80 for a test taken on or before 21 January 2026, or a minimum score of 4 for a test taken after that date (the new TOEFL band scale). The 4 is the figure that applies to any test sat now.
  • IELTS, 6 overallPrinted as "at least score 6.00"; the page does not state which IELTS module or any per-section minimum.
  • PTE Academic, 55 overall
Source

Admissions tests

  • SAT requiredRequired of every applicant who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland — the international case — hence required: true. The bar is a total score of at least 1200. Applicants schooled inside the EU/EEA/Switzerland are not asked for it.
Source

Academic offer

For non-EU/EEA/Swiss applicants: a general secondary school diploma; English language proficiency; a Mathematics grade of at least 8 on Latvia’s 10-point scale (computer science may substitute if no mathematics grade is on the certificate); an average grade across all subjects of at least 6 on that scale, with every grade passing (at least 4); and an SAT total of at least 1200 for anyone whose secondary education was completed outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland. EU/EEA/Swiss applicants face a lower Mathematics bar of 4 on the same scale.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Non-EU/EEA/Swiss citizens and Non-EU long-term residents: General secondary school diploma English language proficiency Mathematics grade must be no less than 8 on a 10-point grading scale The average grade on the secondary education certificate across all subjects must be at least 6 on a 10-point grading scale; All grades must be passing (at least 4 on a 10-point grading scale); SAT (Scholastic Assessment Test) overall score no lower than 1200 (for applicants who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA , or Swiss Confederation)”
[Bachelor] Computer Science - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Convert your grade to compare →

Interview

All applicants are asked to take part in an online interview as part of admission.
Source

Professional Bachelor’s degree in Industrial engineering management · 4 years · Engineering (General)

International tuition

€3,100 per year

~€12,400 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

2026/27 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

The University of Latvia publishes one tuition figure for this programme with no separate international rate — its own lu.lv programme page prints the same number with no citizenship qualifier — so this is recorded as all-students rather than as an overseas fee. On top of it, applicants from outside the EU, EEA and Switzerland pay a non-refundable €170 application fee and a one-off €500 deposit towards possible immigration expenses, payable in full with the first full-year fee on arrival and returned on request after graduation. Caveat worth knowing about the source: apply.lu.lv personalises deadlines and requirements to the visitor’s citizenship (it guessed a non-EU citizenship when this page was archived), so a reader should re-check the figure against their own citizenship selection. A professional (rather than academic) bachelor’s degree: it carries the professional qualification "Industrial management engineer" alongside the degree.

Show the fee on the university's site
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Tuition fee €3,100 per year Application fee €170 one-time”
[Bachelor] Industrial Engineering and Management - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Intake
August 2026 (Autumn semester 2026/27)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades · interview

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 80 overall
  • IELTS, 6 overallPrinted as "at least score 6.00"; the page does not state which IELTS module or any per-section minimum.
  • PTE Academic, 55 overall
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“TOEFL IBT – at least score 80 TOEFL Essential – at least 9 points IELTS – at least score 6.00 PTE General – at least level B2 PTE Academic – at least 55 point”
[Bachelor] Industrial Engineering and Management - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗

Admissions tests

  • SAT requiredRequired of every applicant who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland — the international case — hence required: true. The bar is a total score of at least 1200. Applicants schooled inside the EU/EEA/Switzerland are not asked for it.
Source

Academic offer

For non-EU/EEA/Swiss applicants: a general secondary school diploma; English language proficiency; grades in Mathematics and Physics of at least 8 on Latvia’s 10-point scale; an average grade across all subjects of at least 6, with every grade passing (at least 4); and an SAT total of at least 1200 for anyone whose secondary education was completed outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland. EU/EEA/Swiss applicants face a lower Mathematics and Physics bar of 4 on the same scale.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Non-EU/EEA/Swiss citizens and Non-EU long-term residents: General secondary school diploma English language proficiency Grades in Mathematics and Physics must be no less than 8 on a 10-point grading scale The average grade on the secondary education certificate across all subjects must be at least 6 on a 10-point grading scale All grades must be passing (at least 4 on a 10-point grading scale) SAT (Scholastic Assessment Test) overall score no lower than 1200 (for applicants who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA , or Swiss Confederation)”
[Bachelor] Industrial Engineering and Management - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Convert your grade to compare →

Interview

All applicants are asked to take part in an online interview as part of admission.
Source

Bachelor of Natural Sciences in Biotechnology and Bioengineering · 3 years · Biotechnology

International tuition

€4,200 per year

~€12,600 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

2026/27 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

The University of Latvia publishes one tuition figure for this programme with no separate international rate — its own lu.lv programme page prints the same number with no citizenship qualifier — so this is recorded as all-students rather than as an overseas fee. On top of it, applicants from outside the EU, EEA and Switzerland pay a non-refundable €170 application fee and a one-off €500 deposit towards possible immigration expenses, payable in full with the first full-year fee on arrival and returned on request after graduation. Caveat worth knowing about the source: apply.lu.lv personalises deadlines and requirements to the visitor’s citizenship (it guessed a non-EU citizenship when this page was archived), so a reader should re-check the figure against their own citizenship selection. The only one of these four programmes where the page states that EU/EEA/Swiss citizens, EU long-term residents and Ukrainian civilians holding temporary protection in Latvia can compete for a state-funded (free) study place, with a 5 July 2026 deadline. That route is not open to other non-EU applicants, who pay the fee recorded here.

Show the fee on the university's site
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Tuition fee €4,200 per year Application fee €170 one-time”
[Bachelor] Biotechnology and Bioengineering - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Intake
August 2026 (Autumn semester 2026/27)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades · interview

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 4 overallThe University publishes two TOEFL iBT bars on the same line, on two different scales: at least 80 for a test taken on or before 21 January 2026, or a minimum score of 4 for a test taken after that date (the new TOEFL band scale). The 4 is the figure that applies to any test sat now.
  • IELTS, 6 overallPrinted as "at least score 6.00"; the page does not state which IELTS module or any per-section minimum.
  • PTE Academic, 55 overall
Source

Admissions tests

  • SAT requiredRequired of every applicant who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland — the international case — hence required: true. The bar is a total score of at least 1200. Applicants schooled inside the EU/EEA/Switzerland are not asked for it.
Source

Academic offer

For non-EU/EEA/Swiss applicants: a general secondary school diploma; English language proficiency; grades in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry or Biology of at least 8 on Latvia’s 10-point scale; an average grade across all subjects of at least 6, with every grade passing (at least 4); and an SAT total of at least 1200 for anyone whose secondary education was completed outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Non-EU/EEA/Swiss citizens and Non-EU long-term residents: General secondary school diploma; English language proficiency; Grades in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry or Biology must be no less than 8 on a 10-point grading scale; The average grade on the secondary education certificate across all subjects must be at least 6 on a 10-point grading scale; All grades must be passing (at least 4 on a 10-point grading scale); SAT (Scholastic Assessment Test) overall score no lower than 1200 (for applicants who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA , or Swiss Confederation)”
[Bachelor] Biotechnology and Bioengineering - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Convert your grade to compare →

Interview

All applicants are asked to take part in an online interview as part of admission.
Source

BSc (Hons) Computer Science (Lincoln) and Bachelor’s Degree of Natural Sciences in Computer Science (University of Latvia) · 4 years · Computer Science

International tuition

€4,800 per year

~€19,200 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

UL publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

The University of Latvia publishes one tuition figure for this programme with no separate international rate — its own lu.lv programme page prints the same number with no citizenship qualifier — so this is recorded as all-students rather than as an overseas fee. On top of it, applicants from outside the EU, EEA and Switzerland pay a non-refundable €170 application fee and a one-off €500 deposit towards possible immigration expenses, payable in full with the first full-year fee on arrival and returned on request after graduation. Caveat worth knowing about the source: apply.lu.lv personalises deadlines and requirements to the visitor’s citizenship (it guessed a non-EU citizenship when this page was archived), so a reader should re-check the figure against their own citizenship selection. Taught in Riga; graduates receive two awards, one from the University of Lincoln and one from the University of Latvia. Unlike the other three programmes, this page prints no application round, no start date and no academic year anywhere, so the fee is recorded as undated and intakes/deadline are left null rather than borrowed from a sibling page.

Show the fee on the university's site
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Tuition fee €4,800 per year Application fee €170 one-time”
[Bachelor] Computer Science Dual Award Programme with the University of Lincoln UK and University of Latvia - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades · interview

English language

  • IELTS Academic, 6 overall, minimum score of 5.5 in each section
  • TOEFL iBT, 79 overall, at least 18 points in the reading section, 17 points in the listening section, 20 points in the speaking section and 20 points in the writing section
  • PTE Academic, 65 overall, at least 59 points in each of the sectionsRead this alongside the caveat on the other three University of Latvia entries: this dual-award page carries TWO different English lists. The programme-specific one inside "Entry qualification" (recorded here) is stricter than the generic "Language requirements" block further down the same page, which states only TOEFL iBT 80 / IELTS 6.00 / PTE Academic 55. The stricter, programme-specific figures are the ones recorded, because they are the ones published for this degree.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“- IELTS Academic minimum score of 6 overall and minimum score of 5.5 in each section ; - TOEFL IBT minimum score of 79 overall and at least 18 points in the reading section, 17 points in the listening section, 20 points in the speaking section and 20 points in the writing section; - PTE Academic at least 65 points overall and at least 59 points in each of the sections; - LanguageCert International at least level B2 and at least 33 points in each section.”
[Bachelor] Computer Science Dual Award Programme with the University of Lincoln UK and University of Latvia - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗

Admissions tests

  • SAT requiredRequired of every applicant who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland — the international case — hence required: true. The bar is a total score of at least 1200. Applicants schooled inside the EU/EEA/Switzerland are not asked for it.
Source

Academic offer

For non-EU/EEA/Swiss applicants: a general secondary school diploma; English language proficiency at the programme-specific levels; a Mathematics grade of at least 8 on Latvia’s 10-point scale; an average grade across all subjects of at least 7, with every grade passing (at least 4); and an SAT total of at least 1200 for anyone whose secondary education was completed outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland. EU/EEA/Swiss applicants face a lower Mathematics bar of 6 on the same scale.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Grade in Mathematics must be no less than 8 on a 10-point grading scale The average grade on the secondary education certificate across all subjects must be at least 7 on a 10-point grading scale All grades must be passing (at least 4 on a 10-point grading scale) SAT (Scholastic Assessment Test) overall score no lower than 1200 (for applicants who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA , or Swiss Confederation)”
[Bachelor] Computer Science Dual Award Programme with the University of Lincoln UK and University of Latvia - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Convert your grade to compare →

Interview

All applicants are asked to take part in an online interview as part of admission.
Source

Medicine

Medical Doctor · 6 years · Medicine

International tuition

€11,850 per year

~€71,100 for the whole 6 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

UL publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Show the fee on the university's site
✓ Word for wordRead 14 Sept 2026
“Tuition fee per year: 11 850 EUR for EU/EEA/Swiss citizens, EU Long-term resident permit holders and their family members. 11 850 EUR for citizens of other countries”
Medicine (EN)lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Intake
August 2026 (Autumn semester 2026/27)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 14 Sept 2026
“Nominal duration 6 years (360 ECTS ) Study language English”
[Professional] Medicine - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Dentistry

Doctor of Dental Medicine · 5 years · Dentistry

International tuition

€17,310 per year

~€86,600 for the whole 5 years, at today's fee
Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

UL publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Show the fee on the university's site
✓ Word for wordRead 14 Sept 2026
“Tuition fee per year: 17 310 EUR Study location: Riga”
Dentistry (EN)lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Intake
August 2026 (Autumn semester 2026/27)
Source
Taught in
English
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 14 Sept 2026
“Nominal duration 5 years (300 ECTS ) Study language English”
[Professional] Dentistry - University of Latviaapply.lu.lv
Open the official page ↗
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

How UL compares

Against the other universities in Latvia on StudyPath, using each one's verified international fees and its own published housing prices. Universities are only compared with others charging in the same currency (and, for housing, for the same period), so no figure here has been converted. A ~ marks a year worked out from a per-term or whole-course fee.

UL's lowest undergraduate fee for international students is €2,800 a year, for Computer Science (LV). Of the 3 other universities in Latvia we list with undergraduate fees in EUR, 2 charge more at their lowest, 1 charges the same. Their lowest undergraduate fees run from €2,800 (RSU) to €3,500 (Turība).

Subjects taught at UL

Each one opens every course in that subject, at every university we hold, with the same verified fees.

Where these figures come from

15 sentences from UL's own site each back several figures above. Each is quoted once here; every course that uses one still opens it and links to its own source page.

  1. Used for teaching language on 5 courses

    “Programme level: Bachelor's Degree Programme Language of instruction: Latvian”
    The same sentence appears on 5 pageslu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  2. Used for start dates on 5 courses

    “Apply now! Autumn semester 2026/27 Application period has ended Studies commence 31 Aug 2026”
    The same sentence appears on 5 pagesapply.lu.lvread 25 Aug 2026 to 14 Sept 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  3. Used for course length on 5 courses

    “Duration: six (6) semesters Form of study : full time”
    The same sentence appears on 5 pageslu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  4. Used for entry requirements on 4 courses

    “Other requirements As a part of the admission process, applicants will be asked to participate in an online interview.”
    The same sentence appears on 4 pagesapply.lu.lvread 25 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  5. Used for course length on 4 courses

    “Study form and duration: full-time - 6 semesters Credits: 180 ECTS”
    The same sentence appears on 4 pageslu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  6. Used for teaching language on 4 courses

    “Form of study : full time Language : Latvian Credits : 180 ECTS”
    The same sentence appears on 4 pageslu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  7. Used for entry requirements on 4 courses

    “SAT (Scholastic Assessment Test) overall score no lower than 1200 (for applicants who completed secondary education outside the EU, EEA , or Swiss Confederation)”
    The same sentence appears on 4 pagesapply.lu.lvread 25 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  8. Used for teaching language on 4 courses

    “Study language English Awards”
    The same sentence appears on 4 pagesapply.lu.lvread 25 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  9. Used for course length on 3 courses

    “Nominal duration 4 years (240 ECTS ) Study language English Awards”
    The same sentence appears on 3 pagesapply.lu.lvread 25 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  10. Used for course length on 2 courses

    “Duration: eight (8) semesters Form of study : full time”
    The same sentence appears on 2 pageslu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  11. Used for home fee on 2 courses, international fee on 2 courses

    “Tuition fee: 2700 EUR (ES/EEZ/Switzerland citiznes) / 5100 EUR citizens of other countries”
    The same sentence appears on 2 pageslu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  12. Used for cost note on 2 courses

    “Tuition fee: 2700 EUR”
    The same sentence appears on 2 pageslu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  13. Used for entry requirements on 2 courses

    “TOEFL IBT : at least 80 for tests taken on or before 21 January 2026, or a minimum score of 4 for tests taken after 21 January 2026. TOEFL Essential – at least 9 points IELTS – at least score 6.00 PTE General – at least level B2 PTE Academic – at least 55 point”
    The same sentence appears on 2 pagesapply.lu.lvread 25 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  14. Used for cost note on 1 course, home fee on 1 course

    “Tuition fee per year (ac. year 2026/27): 2700 EUR for EU/EEA/Swiss citizens, EU Long-term resident permit holders and their family members”
    Chemistry | University of Latvialu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  15. Used for home fee on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Tuition fee: 2700 EUR for EU/EEZ/Swiss citizens / 5100 for citizens of other countries”
    Geography | University of Latvialu.lvread 14 Sept 2026
    Open the official page ↗

More about UL

Student body

QS's own figures · QS World University Rankings 2027

Students
11,887
International students
1,135
≈10% of the student body (worked out here)
Faculty
801
International faculty
9%

These come from QS, not the university's own pages. Unlike every fee and deadline on this site. QS is the primary source for its own rankings and measurements, which is why it is cited here and rejected everywhere else.

Show the QS profile
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Total students 11,887 UG students 70.3% PG students 29.7% International students 1,135 UG students 55.1% PG students 44.9% Total faculty staff 801 Domestic staff 91% Int'l staff 9%”
University of Latvia : Rankings, Fees & Courses Details | TopUniversitiestopuniversities.com
Open the official page ↗

About & contact

Riga, Latvia· view on Google Maps ↗lu.lv ↗

Find nearby

These open a map search near Riga. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

Accommodation

€114–€291per month

the University of Latvia’s own two student hostels — Krišjāņa Valdemāra 161 and "Prima" — priced per person per month by room type. The figures recorded are the rates the table says apply from 1 July 2026; the same table also prints the lower rates that applied before that date, and the tiers below use the current ones.

  • Krišjāņa Valdemāra 161 — Quadruple room€114
  • Krišjāņa Valdemāra 161 — Triple room€142–€161
  • Krišjāņa Valdemāra 161 — Double room€152–€181
  • "Prima" — Double room€202
  • Krišjāņa Valdemāra 161 — Single room€220–€272
  • "Prima" — Single room€291

Minimum long-term stay at "Prima" is 2 months. The fee or deposit is paid on arrival at the hostel, by card only. International degree students may apply only after acceptance; students of other universities may apply year-round, but only for "Prima". The Quadruple room at Krišjāņa Valdemāra 161 is the one rate the table does not restate for the post-1-July-2026 period, so €114 is carried through as published.

Published by the university itself, not a live listings price. Actual cost depends on room type, availability and when you apply.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Rental Fees (per month) Krišjāņa Valdemāra 161 Single: 170–256 EUR (220 - 272 EUR from July 1, 2026) Double: 136–180 EUR (152 - 181 EUR from July 1, 2026) Triple: 124–160 EUR (142 - 161 EUR from July 1, 2026) Quadruple: 114 EUR Prima Double: 187 EUR (202 EUR from July 1, 2026) Single: 267 EUR (291 EUR from July 1, 2026)”
Accommodation | University of Latvialu.lv
Open the official page ↗

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about UL

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…