Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 1 Oct 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
Not separately QS-rankedAbbotsford, British Columbia, Canada· QS World University Rankings 2027

University of the Fraser Valley

University of the Fraser Valley, in Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada, has 13 undergraduate courses listed on StudyPath. International tuition is ~CA$23,910 a year. UFV publishes its own accommodation prices, from CA$7,280 per academic year (sep-apr). 12 of the 13 publish an application deadline. 2 named scholarships are recorded against these courses. Every figure above was read from UFV's own published pages and last checked on 20 September 2026.

Not in the QS World University Rankings. QS's own topuniversities.com carries a University of the Fraser Valley profile page, but it shows no ranked position in the QS World University Rankings, the regional tables or the subject tables.

Courses
13
Fees verified
13 / 13
Scholarship entries
26
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

13 courses

BSc · 4 years · Computer Science

International tuition

CA$797 per credit unit

~CA$95,600 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

Students who began studies Sept 2026 or after · Same rate across the institution · International students

UFV prices international tuition per credit and locks the rate to the cohort you start in rather than to a calendar year: $797/credit applies to students who began studies September 2026 or later, and UFV commits to holding continuing students’ annual increases between 0% and 4% for five years. On top of tuition, UFV charges Ancillary and Student fees of $485 per semester, a one-time international administration fee of $1,450 in the first semester, $155 private health coverage in the first semester, and an Extended Health & Dental fee of $195.59 a year for students enrolled in 9+ credits. International students must take at least 9 credits in Fall and Winter and are billed for 9 credits even if they take fewer; UFV’s own page prints that 9-credit minimum semester as $7,658 in tuition and fees combined.

Show the fee on the university's site

UFV requires international students to carry medical insurance covering health care, dental costs and emergencies in Canada, and charges that fee every semester on top of tuition.

Show the source
Intake
September (Fall), January (Winter), May (Summer)
Source
Application deadline
Fall semester: October 1 to May 31 (Winter semester: May 1 to October 31; Summer semester: October 1 to March 1)
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • International Excellence Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $20,000 ($5,000 per year for four years), issued as a tuition credit at the start of each year

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.75 on all approved grade 12 courses, applying to a degree program, in your graduating year or recently graduated; a minimum CGPA of 3.0 in each previous year at UFV is required to keep it. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    Only 10 are awarded per year, first-come first-served in the order applications are received, with preference to applicants to bachelor-degree programs. No separate application. Short-term visiting and exchange students are not eligible.

    Source
  • International Regional Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $5,000

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.0 on all approved grade 12 courses, in your graduating year or recently graduated. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    30 awarded per year (15 for Summer and 15 for Fall), first-come first-served, no separate application. UFV says it considers all applications but gives priority to certain regions each year, naming Africa, ASEAN, East Asia, Latin America and South Asia — a list its own page still labels as the priority for the 2024 academic year.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish

English language

  • IELTS (Academic), 6.5 overall, a minimum band score of 6.0
  • TOEFL, 88 overall, no section below 20iBT, including the Home Edition.
  • PTE, 61 overall, 60 in writing
  • DET, 110 overallDuolingo English Test; UFV states it is accepting the DET until further notice.
Source

BSc · 4 years · Biology & Life Sciences

International tuition

CA$797 per credit unit

~CA$95,600 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

Students who began studies Sept 2026 or after · Same rate across the institution · International students

UFV prices international tuition per credit and locks the rate to the cohort you start in rather than to a calendar year: $797/credit applies to students who began studies September 2026 or later, and UFV commits to holding continuing students’ annual increases between 0% and 4% for five years. On top of tuition, UFV charges Ancillary and Student fees of $485 per semester, a one-time international administration fee of $1,450 in the first semester, $155 private health coverage in the first semester, and an Extended Health & Dental fee of $195.59 a year for students enrolled in 9+ credits. International students must take at least 9 credits in Fall and Winter and are billed for 9 credits even if they take fewer; UFV’s own page prints that 9-credit minimum semester as $7,658 in tuition and fees combined.

Show the fee on the university's site

UFV requires international students to carry medical insurance covering health care, dental costs and emergencies in Canada, and charges that fee every semester on top of tuition.

Show the source
Intake
September (Fall), January (Winter), May (Summer)
Source
Application deadline
Fall semester: October 1 to May 31 (Winter semester: May 1 to October 31; Summer semester: October 1 to March 1)
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • International Excellence Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $20,000 ($5,000 per year for four years), issued as a tuition credit at the start of each year

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.75 on all approved grade 12 courses, applying to a degree program, in your graduating year or recently graduated; a minimum CGPA of 3.0 in each previous year at UFV is required to keep it. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    Only 10 are awarded per year, first-come first-served in the order applications are received, with preference to applicants to bachelor-degree programs. No separate application. Short-term visiting and exchange students are not eligible.

    Source
  • International Regional Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $5,000

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.0 on all approved grade 12 courses, in your graduating year or recently graduated. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    30 awarded per year (15 for Summer and 15 for Fall), first-come first-served, no separate application. UFV says it considers all applications but gives priority to certain regions each year, naming Africa, ASEAN, East Asia, Latin America and South Asia — a list its own page still labels as the priority for the 2024 academic year.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish

English language

  • IELTS (Academic), 6.5 overall, a minimum band score of 6.0
  • TOEFL, 88 overall, no section below 20iBT, including the Home Edition.
  • PTE, 61 overall, 60 in writing
  • DET, 110 overallDuolingo English Test; UFV states it is accepting the DET until further notice.
Source

BSc · 4 years · Biochemistry

International tuition

CA$797 per credit unit

~CA$95,600 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

Students who began studies Sept 2026 or after · Same rate across the institution · International students

UFV prices international tuition per credit and locks the rate to the cohort you start in rather than to a calendar year: $797/credit applies to students who began studies September 2026 or later, and UFV commits to holding continuing students’ annual increases between 0% and 4% for five years. On top of tuition, UFV charges Ancillary and Student fees of $485 per semester, a one-time international administration fee of $1,450 in the first semester, $155 private health coverage in the first semester, and an Extended Health & Dental fee of $195.59 a year for students enrolled in 9+ credits. International students must take at least 9 credits in Fall and Winter and are billed for 9 credits even if they take fewer; UFV’s own page prints that 9-credit minimum semester as $7,658 in tuition and fees combined.

Show the fee on the university's site

UFV requires international students to carry medical insurance covering health care, dental costs and emergencies in Canada, and charges that fee every semester on top of tuition.

Show the source
Intake
September (Fall), January (Winter), May (Summer)
Source
Application deadline
Fall semester: October 1 to May 31 (Winter semester: May 1 to October 31; Summer semester: October 1 to March 1)
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • International Excellence Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $20,000 ($5,000 per year for four years), issued as a tuition credit at the start of each year

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.75 on all approved grade 12 courses, applying to a degree program, in your graduating year or recently graduated; a minimum CGPA of 3.0 in each previous year at UFV is required to keep it. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    Only 10 are awarded per year, first-come first-served in the order applications are received, with preference to applicants to bachelor-degree programs. No separate application. Short-term visiting and exchange students are not eligible.

    Source
  • International Regional Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $5,000

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.0 on all approved grade 12 courses, in your graduating year or recently graduated. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    30 awarded per year (15 for Summer and 15 for Fall), first-come first-served, no separate application. UFV says it considers all applications but gives priority to certain regions each year, naming Africa, ASEAN, East Asia, Latin America and South Asia — a list its own page still labels as the priority for the 2024 academic year.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish

English language

  • IELTS (Academic), 6.5 overall, a minimum band score of 6.0
  • TOEFL, 88 overall, no section below 20iBT, including the Home Edition.
  • PTE, 61 overall, 60 in writing
  • DET, 110 overallDuolingo English Test; UFV states it is accepting the DET until further notice.
Source

BSc · 4 years · Chemistry

International tuition

CA$797 per credit unit

~CA$95,600 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

Students who began studies Sept 2026 or after · Same rate across the institution · International students

UFV prices international tuition per credit and locks the rate to the cohort you start in rather than to a calendar year: $797/credit applies to students who began studies September 2026 or later, and UFV commits to holding continuing students’ annual increases between 0% and 4% for five years. On top of tuition, UFV charges Ancillary and Student fees of $485 per semester, a one-time international administration fee of $1,450 in the first semester, $155 private health coverage in the first semester, and an Extended Health & Dental fee of $195.59 a year for students enrolled in 9+ credits. International students must take at least 9 credits in Fall and Winter and are billed for 9 credits even if they take fewer; UFV’s own page prints that 9-credit minimum semester as $7,658 in tuition and fees combined.

Show the fee on the university's site

UFV requires international students to carry medical insurance covering health care, dental costs and emergencies in Canada, and charges that fee every semester on top of tuition.

Show the source
Intake
September (Fall), January (Winter), May (Summer)
Source
Application deadline
Fall semester: October 1 to May 31 (Winter semester: May 1 to October 31; Summer semester: October 1 to March 1)
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • International Excellence Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $20,000 ($5,000 per year for four years), issued as a tuition credit at the start of each year

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.75 on all approved grade 12 courses, applying to a degree program, in your graduating year or recently graduated; a minimum CGPA of 3.0 in each previous year at UFV is required to keep it. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    Only 10 are awarded per year, first-come first-served in the order applications are received, with preference to applicants to bachelor-degree programs. No separate application. Short-term visiting and exchange students are not eligible.

    Source
  • International Regional Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $5,000

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.0 on all approved grade 12 courses, in your graduating year or recently graduated. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    30 awarded per year (15 for Summer and 15 for Fall), first-come first-served, no separate application. UFV says it considers all applications but gives priority to certain regions each year, naming Africa, ASEAN, East Asia, Latin America and South Asia — a list its own page still labels as the priority for the 2024 academic year.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish

English language

  • IELTS (Academic), 6.5 overall, a minimum band score of 6.0
  • TOEFL, 88 overall, no section below 20iBT, including the Home Edition.
  • PTE, 61 overall, 60 in writing
  • DET, 110 overallDuolingo English Test; UFV states it is accepting the DET until further notice.
Source

BSc · 4 years · Mathematics

International tuition

CA$797 per credit unit

~CA$95,600 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

Students who began studies Sept 2026 or after · Same rate across the institution · International students

UFV prices international tuition per credit and locks the rate to the cohort you start in rather than to a calendar year: $797/credit applies to students who began studies September 2026 or later, and UFV commits to holding continuing students’ annual increases between 0% and 4% for five years. On top of tuition, UFV charges Ancillary and Student fees of $485 per semester, a one-time international administration fee of $1,450 in the first semester, $155 private health coverage in the first semester, and an Extended Health & Dental fee of $195.59 a year for students enrolled in 9+ credits. International students must take at least 9 credits in Fall and Winter and are billed for 9 credits even if they take fewer; UFV’s own page prints that 9-credit minimum semester as $7,658 in tuition and fees combined.

Show the fee on the university's site

UFV requires international students to carry medical insurance covering health care, dental costs and emergencies in Canada, and charges that fee every semester on top of tuition.

Show the source
Intake
September (Fall), January (Winter), May (Summer)
Source
Application deadline
Fall semester: October 1 to May 31 (Winter semester: May 1 to October 31; Summer semester: October 1 to March 1)
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • International Excellence Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $20,000 ($5,000 per year for four years), issued as a tuition credit at the start of each year

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.75 on all approved grade 12 courses, applying to a degree program, in your graduating year or recently graduated; a minimum CGPA of 3.0 in each previous year at UFV is required to keep it. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    Only 10 are awarded per year, first-come first-served in the order applications are received, with preference to applicants to bachelor-degree programs. No separate application. Short-term visiting and exchange students are not eligible.

    Source
  • International Regional Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $5,000

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.0 on all approved grade 12 courses, in your graduating year or recently graduated. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    30 awarded per year (15 for Summer and 15 for Fall), first-come first-served, no separate application. UFV says it considers all applications but gives priority to certain regions each year, naming Africa, ASEAN, East Asia, Latin America and South Asia — a list its own page still labels as the priority for the 2024 academic year.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish

English language

  • IELTS (Academic), 6.5 overall, a minimum band score of 6.0
  • TOEFL, 88 overall, no section below 20iBT, including the Home Edition.
  • PTE, 61 overall, 60 in writing
  • DET, 110 overallDuolingo English Test; UFV states it is accepting the DET until further notice.
Source

BSc · 4 years · Physics

International tuition

CA$797 per credit unit

~CA$95,600 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

Students who began studies Sept 2026 or after · Same rate across the institution · International students

UFV prices international tuition per credit and locks the rate to the cohort you start in rather than to a calendar year: $797/credit applies to students who began studies September 2026 or later, and UFV commits to holding continuing students’ annual increases between 0% and 4% for five years. On top of tuition, UFV charges Ancillary and Student fees of $485 per semester, a one-time international administration fee of $1,450 in the first semester, $155 private health coverage in the first semester, and an Extended Health & Dental fee of $195.59 a year for students enrolled in 9+ credits. International students must take at least 9 credits in Fall and Winter and are billed for 9 credits even if they take fewer; UFV’s own page prints that 9-credit minimum semester as $7,658 in tuition and fees combined.

Show the fee on the university's site

UFV requires international students to carry medical insurance covering health care, dental costs and emergencies in Canada, and charges that fee every semester on top of tuition.

Show the source
Intake
September (Fall), January (Winter), May (Summer)
Source
Application deadline
Fall semester: October 1 to May 31 (Winter semester: May 1 to October 31; Summer semester: October 1 to March 1)
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • International Excellence Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $20,000 ($5,000 per year for four years), issued as a tuition credit at the start of each year

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.75 on all approved grade 12 courses, applying to a degree program, in your graduating year or recently graduated; a minimum CGPA of 3.0 in each previous year at UFV is required to keep it. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    Only 10 are awarded per year, first-come first-served in the order applications are received, with preference to applicants to bachelor-degree programs. No separate application. Short-term visiting and exchange students are not eligible.

    Source
  • International Regional Entrance Scholarship

    CAD $5,000

    Eligibility: A minimum overall CGPA of 3.0 on all approved grade 12 courses, in your graduating year or recently graduated. UFV does not state which scale that CGPA is measured on, so no GPA bar is recorded here.

    30 awarded per year (15 for Summer and 15 for Fall), first-come first-served, no separate application. UFV says it considers all applications but gives priority to certain regions each year, naming Africa, ASEAN, East Asia, Latin America and South Asia — a list its own page still labels as the priority for the 2024 academic year.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish

English language

  • IELTS (Academic), 6.5 overall, a minimum band score of 6.0
  • TOEFL, 88 overall, no section below 20iBT, including the Home Edition.
  • PTE, 61 overall, 60 in writing
  • DET, 110 overallDuolingo English Test; UFV states it is accepting the DET until further notice.
Source

How UFV compares

Against the other universities in Canada on StudyPath, using each one's verified international fees and its own published housing prices. Universities are only compared with others charging in the same currency (and, for housing, for the same period), so no figure here has been converted. A ~ marks a year worked out from a per-term or whole-course fee.

UFV's lowest undergraduate fee for international students is ~CA$23,910 a year, for Bachelor of Business Administration. Of the 48 other universities in Canada we list with undergraduate fees in CAD, 35 charge more at their lowest, 13 charge less. Their lowest undergraduate fees run from CA$9,718 (UPEI) to CA$51,530.40 (UBC).

Living costs. The living-cost figure for a student visa to Canada is CA$22,895 per year, on top of tuition (figure for for applications made on or after September 1; read 19 Aug 2026 from canada.ca). The authority attaches conditions that can change this amount; see them in full on student finance.

By subject
SubjectLowest fee hereAgainst other universities in CanadaTheir lowest fees
Biology & Life Sciencesundergraduate~CA$23,910Bachelor of Science - Biology37 of 48 charge moreCA$9,718 to CA$66,110
Computer Scienceundergraduate~CA$23,910Bachelor of Computer Information Systems37 of 46 charge moreCA$9,718 to CA$66,110
Chemistryundergraduate~CA$23,910Bachelor of Science - Chemistry36 of 45 charge moreCA$9,718 to CA$66,110
Accountingundergraduate~CA$23,910Bachelor of Business Administration — Accounting major34 of 43 charge moreCA$9,718 to CA$74,678.31
Mathematicsundergraduate~CA$23,910Bachelor of Science - Mathematics33 of 42 charge moreCA$9,718 to CA$66,110
Business & Managementundergraduate~CA$23,910Bachelor of Business Administration32 of 41 charge moreCA$9,718 to CA$74,678.31

Subjects taught at UFV

Each one opens every course in that subject, at every university we hold, with the same verified fees.

Where these figures come from

9 sentences from UFV's own site each back several figures above. Each is quoted once here; every course that uses one still opens it and links to its own source page.

  1. Used for cost note on 13 courses

    “What are medical/dental fees? You must have medical insurance to cover any health care and dental costs and emergencies while you are in Canada. This fee is charged per semester.”
    Tuition and fees for international students | UFV Internationalinternational.ufv.caread 18 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  2. Used for international fee on 13 courses

    “International students — Credit (100-400 level), Adult Basic Education, and ESL courses Students who began studies prior to Sept 2024 Students who began studies Sept 2024-May 2025 Students who began studies Sept 2025-May 2026 Students who began studies Sept 2026 or after Tuition/credit $751 $766 $782 $797 Ancillary and Student fees/semester $485”
    Tuition and fees for international students | UFV Internationalinternational.ufv.caread 18 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  3. Used for scholarship on 13 courses

    “International Regional Entrance Scholarship Amount offered per recipient CAD $5,000 Number per year 30 (15 for Summer and 15 for Fall) Who this is available to You are eligible for this scholarship if: You apply to study at UFV. You are in your graduating year or have recently graduated.”
    International Regional Entrance Scholarship | UFV Internationalinternational.ufv.caread 18 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  4. Used for scholarship on 13 courses

    “International Excellence Entrance Scholarship Amount offered per recipient CAD $20,000 ($5,000 per year for four years) Number per year 10 Who this is available to You are eligible for this scholarship if: You apply to study at UFV. You are in your graduating year or have recently graduated.”
    International Excellence Entrance Scholarship | UFV Internationalinternational.ufv.caread 18 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  5. Used for application deadline on 12 courses

    “The following are the earliest application dates for each semester. We confirm acceptance in the order we receive applications. Apply as early as possible, as your program may fill up quickly. Winter semester: May 1 to October 31 Summer semester: October 1 to March 1 Fall semester: October 1 to May 31”
    Application deadlines for international students | UFV Internationalinternational.ufv.caread 18 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  6. Used for start dates on 12 courses

    “UFV has three semesters with different application deadlines. Our semesters are: Fall: September to December Winter: January to April Summer: May to August”
    Application deadlines for international students | UFV Internationalinternational.ufv.caread 18 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  7. Used for entry requirements on 7 courses

    “*IELTS (Academic): score of 6.5 or higher with a minimum band score of 6.0 ILAC : 3.3 PW or higher TOEFL (includes Home Edition ): score of 88 or higher (iBT) with no section below 20 PTE : score of 61 with 60 in writing Cambridge : Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE) - C Cambridge : Certificate of Advanced English (CAE) - A EIKEN : Grade 1 English 12 C+ (or recognized Canadian equivalent) ** DET : score of 110 or higher”
    English language requirements for international students | UFV Internationalinternational.ufv.caread 18 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  8. Used for course length on 5 courses

    “With appropriate planning, the Bachelor of Science requirements can be completed in four years of full-time study.”
    Bachelor of Science degree | UFV Academic Calendarufv.caread 18 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  9. Used for course length on 5 courses

    “Bachelor of Business Administration QUICK FACTS Apply online Credential : Bachelor's degree Duration : 4 years Options: Accounting, Finance, HR, International Business, Marketing, Financial Management, Operations, Organizational Studies, Professional Sales”
    Bachelor of Business Administration — University of the Fraser Valleyufv.caread 20 Sept 2026
    Open the official page ↗

More about UFV

About & contact

Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada· view on Google Maps ↗ufv.ca ↗

Find nearby

These open a map search near Abbotsford, British Columbia. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

Accommodation

CA$7,280–CA$9,800per academic year (Sep-Apr)

On-campus residence suite in the new EverGreen building for 2026-27, room fee only (the required meal plan is billed separately)

  • Single suiteCA$7,280
  • Quad suiteCA$8,560
  • Studio suiteCA$9,800

The academic year fee is paid in two installments, due June 30 and October 31. A meal plan is required on top of the room fee: Base camp at $2800 per semester or Summit at $3360 per semester. A non-refundable $50 application fee and a $600 room offer acceptance fee also apply, plus a campus living fee of $288 for the academic year which includes a Campus Rec pass. Fees are in Canadian dollars and subject to change.

Published by the university itself, not a live listings price. Actual cost depends on room type, availability and when you apply.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“Academic Year 2026-27 (Sep-Apr) Single suite $4368 1st Installment $2912 2nd Installment Total: $7280 June 30 (1st Installment) Oct 31 (2nd Installment) Quad suite $5136 1st Installment $3424 2nd Installment Total: $8560 June 30 (1st Installment) Oct 31 (2nd Installment) Studio suite $5880 1st Installment $3920 2nd Installment Total: $9800”
Housing > Fees & payments | UFV.caufv.ca
Open the official page ↗

Search student housing near Abbotsford, British Columbia → (partner link)

After you graduate

Rules read 16 Aug 2026. Check the current rules, this may be out of date

What Canada's own immigration authority currently publishes. Not a ranking, not a guarantee, and not the same as what any agent or forum will tell you. Whether someone actually obtains residence depends on occupation, points, funds and policy that can change between application and graduation.

Money you must prove before the visa

CA$22,895per year, for a single applicant with no accompanying family members, covering the first year of the programme — and explicitly EXCLUDING tuition and transportation, which must be shown on top

Shown as a balance in a bank account. You keep control of it.

Figure published for: for applications made on or after September 1, 2025, in IRCC's own wording; the page was last modified 2026-01-26 and states 'These amounts are updated each year'. The previous figure, for applications between January 1, 2024 and August 31, 2025, was $20,635. This amount is revised regularly, so check it again before you transfer anything.

Applies to every province and territory EXCEPT Quebec; a student going to Quebec needs a Certificat d'acceptation du Québec and must meet costs set separately by the Ministère de l'Immigration, de la Francisation et de l'Intégration, which IRCC does not publish. The figure is living expenses only — tuition and return transportation for the applicant and any accompanying family are additional. Accompanying family raises it: $28,502 for 2 people, $35,040 for 3, $42,543 for 4, $48,252 for 5, $54,420 for 6, $60,589 for 7, and $6,170 for each further person. Funds must be available without working in Canada. Proof is needed for the first year; for a programme longer than a year the applicant must also explain how the rest will be paid. IRCC accepts several forms of proof and mandates none: bank statements for the past 4 months, a guaranteed investment certificate (GIC) from a participating Canadian financial institution, proof the first year of tuition and housing is already paid, a student or education loan, a bank draft convertible to Canadian dollars, a letter from a person or institution providing the money, or proof of a Canadian-funded scholarship. Local visa offices can require more, and an applicant from a country with foreign-exchange controls must also prove the money can legally be exported.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“If you apply on or after September 1, 2025 All provinces and territories except Quebec Number of family members (including the applicant) Amount required per year (excluding tuition and transportation costs) (in CAN$) 1 $22,895”
Study permit: Proof of financial support - Canada.ca (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada)canada.ca
Open the official page ↗
Compare this against other countries →

Work during study

International students on a study permit may work off campus without a separate work permit if they are a full-time student at a designated learning institution (DLI), enrolled in a post-secondary academic, vocational or professional program (or a Quebec secondary-level vocational program) that is at least 6 months long and leads to a degree, diploma or certificate, hold a valid study permit with work conditions printed on it, and have a Social Insurance Number (SIN). During regular school terms or semesters they may work up to 24 hours per week off campus (across more than one job if needed). During scheduled breaks in the school year — such as summer and winter holidays or a reading week — they may work unlimited hours off campus. Working more than 24 hours per week during a term is a violation of study permit conditions.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 16 Aug 2026
“During regular school terms or semesters You can work up to 24 hours per week . You can work more than 1 job to make up these hours as long as you continue to meet the conditions of your study permit. If your current study permit says that you may only work 20 hours per week off campus ( for example ), you're allowed to work up to 24 hours per week as long as you continue to meet the eligibility requirements . "May work 20 hours per week off campus or full-time during regular breaks if meeting criteria outlined in paragraph 186(v) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations ." During scheduled breaks in the school year If you're working during a break scheduled by your DLI, such as summer and winter holidays, or a reading week, you can work unlimited hours off campus”
Work off campus as an international student - Canada.cacanada.ca
Open the official page ↗

Post-study work visa

Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) . Up to 3 years
Available to eligible graduates of designated learning institutions (not every institution or program qualifies). Permit length depends on the level and duration of the study program (and the passport's expiry date, whichever is shorter): a program of at least 8 months but under 2 years gets a PGWP up to the same length as the program; a program of 2 years or more gets a PGWP valid for 3 years. Graduates with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree face no field-of-study eligibility restriction (a restriction that does apply, since 1 November 2024, to some non-degree college/polytechnic programs), but all applicants now generally need a minimum Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 language-test result (CLB 5 for non-university college/polytechnic graduates) unless their PGWP application was submitted before 1 November 2024.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 16 Aug 2026
“If your program was 2 years or more We may give you a PGWP that's valid for 3 years.”
Post-graduation work permit: About the post-graduation work permit (PGWP) - Canada.cacanada.ca
Open the official page ↗

Route to permanent residence

Express Entry's Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is a federal permanent-residence stream for people with qualifying Canadian work experience — the kind of experience a Post-Graduation Work Permit lets a graduate accumulate. To be eligible, the work experience must be paid, gained in Canada while authorized to work, in a National Occupational Classification (NOC) Training/Education/Experience/Responsibilities (TEER) category of 0, 1, 2 or 3, and total at least 1 year of full-time work (or the part-time equivalent — 1,560 hours) within the 3 years before applying. There is no minimum education requirement for the CEC stream itself, and a successful applicant must intend to live outside Quebec, which runs its own skilled-worker selection process.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 16 Aug 2026
“Your skilled work experience must: be in 1 or more of these NOC categories: training, education, experience and responsibilities (TEER) 0, 1, 2, or 3 Your experience can be in more than 1 NOC. be gained by working in Canada while authorized to work under temporary resident status If you worked remotely, you must have been physically in Canada and working for a Canadian employer. show that you performed: the actions in the lead statement of the NOC job description, and most of the main duties listed be paid work (you must have been paid wages or earned commission—volunteer work or unpaid internships don't count) be at least 1 year of work or 1,560 hours total (30 hours per week) in the 3 years before you apply”
Express Entry: Who can apply - Canadian Experience Class - Canada.cacanada.ca
Open the official page ↗

Route to citizenship

Canadian citizenship is administered by the same department that runs immigration, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC). An adult applicant must have been physically present in Canada for at least 1,095 days (3 years) during the 5 years immediately before signing the application; time spent in Canada as a temporary resident or protected person before becoming a permanent resident counts at half value toward this, capped at 365 of the 1,095 days. Applicants must have filed Canadian income taxes, if required to, for at least 3 of those 5 years. Applicants aged 18 to 54 must demonstrate English or French to at least Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) / Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadien (NCLC) level 4, and must pass a citizenship test on the rights and responsibilities of citizens and on Canada's history, geography, government, laws and symbols; applicants 55 and over are exempt from both the language proof and the test. All adult applicants take the oath of citizenship at a ceremony. Canada permits dual and multiple citizenship: on this same page IRCC states plainly that becoming a Canadian citizen does not require giving up another nationality, while flagging that a person's other country of citizenship may not reciprocate that position.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“You must have been physically in Canada for at least 1,095 days (3 years) during your 5-year eligibility period .”
Apply for Canadian citizenship: adults and minor children: Who can apply - Canada.cacanada.ca
Open the official page ↗

What the government currently prioritises

Express Entry (the federal system covering the Canadian Experience Class, Federal Skilled Worker Program and Federal Skilled Trades Program) periodically runs category-based rounds of invitations that target published categories directly relevant to StudyPath’s fields: 'Healthcare and social services occupations' and 'Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) occupations', alongside separate categories for trade occupations, education, transport, French-language proficiency, and Canadian-experienced physicians, senior managers and researchers. Eligibility for either category requires at least 12 months of work experience within the past 3 years in a single occupation named on IRCC's published table for that round, identified by National Occupational Classification (NOC) code. The STEM table has included, among others, architecture and science managers, cybersecurity specialists, civil/mechanical/electrical-and-electronics/industrial-and-manufacturing engineers, geological engineers, and civil/mechanical/electrical engineering technologists and technicians. The healthcare and social services table has included, among others, specialists in clinical/laboratory medicine and in surgery, general practitioners and family physicians, dentists, optometrists, pharmacists, psychologists, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, registered nurses and registered psychiatric nurses, nurse practitioners, licensed practical nurses, dental hygienists and dental therapists, medical laboratory and medical radiation technologists, and social workers — and a separate category exists specifically for 'Physicians with Canadian work experience'. Which categories run, and which occupations are listed, is decided round by round and is not guaranteed for any particular occupation.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 16 Aug 2026
“Current categories French-language proficiency Healthcare and social services occupations Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) occupations Trade occupations Education occupations Transport occupations Physicians with Canadian work experience Senior managers with Canadian work experience Researchers with Canadian work experience Skilled military recruits”
Express Entry: Category-based selection - Canada.cacanada.ca
Open the official page ↗

PGWP eligibility rules changed materially on 1 November 2024: most applicants must now show a minimum language-test result, and non-degree study-permit applicants from that date must be in a field of study linked to occupations in long-term shortage — this field-of-study requirement does not apply to bachelor's, master's or doctoral graduates. Category-based Express Entry rounds (including the STEM category) run at IRCC's discretion, are not on a fixed schedule, and are not guaranteed to recur for any given occupation. Read 16 August 2026; Canada has changed PGWP and Express Entry settings more than once in the last two years, so re-check before relying on this. Deepening pass, 17 August 2026: inDemandOccupations re-cited to the same already-archived category-based-selection.html page to add the Healthcare and social services occupations category (specific named occupations) alongside the STEM category that was already there — the page names both categories together, so a single quote listing the category names supports the expanded value; the occupation lists themselves come from tables already present in the same archived snapshot. citizenshipRoute added 17 August 2026, cited to the same canada.ca 'Who can apply' page already used above — that single page carries the physical-presence figure, the language/test age bands, the tax-filing rule and the dual-citizenship statement together, so one citation supports the whole field. naturalisationStatus set to 'published-route' on 18 August 2026: the authority already cited under citizenshipRoute publishes criteria a foreign resident could actually follow, which is the only claim this field makes. It is deliberately not a judgement about how attainable that route is in practice. studentVisaFunds added 19 August 2026. mechanism is recorded as bank-balance, not guaranteed-investment, and the reason matters: the Student Direct Stream — the route whose defining requirement was a CAN$20,635 GIC — no longer exists. IRCC's own student-direct-stream.html URL now serves the general study-permit hub with no SDS content on it at all (read the same day). A GIC is still listed on the proof-of-funds page as one of several accepted documents, but it is no longer attached to a faster stream and no longer a required mechanism, so recording 'guaranteed-investment' would describe a programme that has been withdrawn. Quebec is deliberately left without a figure: IRCC's page says only that Quebec applicants must meet costs set by the Ministère de l'Immigration, de la Francisation et de l'Intégration, and that ministry is not an allowlisted immigration domain here, so the Quebec amount was not collected rather than guessed. The $22,895 is the single-applicant row; the larger household figures are in conditions verbatim from the same table.

Open the immigration authority's own page ↗

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about UFV

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…