Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 1 Oct 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
QS #=213Doha, Qatar· QS World University Rankings 2027

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Hamad Bin Khalifa University, in Doha, Qatar, has 5 undergraduate courses and 3 master's courses listed on StudyPath. International tuition runs from ~QAR 66,000 to ~QAR 73,687.50 a year depending on the course. 5 of the 8 publish an application deadline. Every figure above was read from HBKU's own published pages and last checked on 17 August 2026.

Courses
8
Fees verified
8 / 8
International tuition across 8 courses

~QAR 66,000to~QAR 73,687.50a year

Lowest: Master of Science in Cybersecurity MSc and 2 othersHighest: Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering BS
View of the Student Center in Education City, Al Rayyan, Qatar. Verified
View of the Student Center in Education City, Al Rayyan, Qatar. · Photo: Alex Sergeev (www.asergeev.com)CC BY-SA 3.0
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

8 courses

BS · 4 years · Computer Science

International tuition

QAR 290,250 total for the course

Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

HBKU publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Billed per credit hour (QAR 2,250/credit hour) rather than per year; this is the total for the whole programme. HBKU's Tuition Fees page states no academic year or cohort anywhere on it.

Show the fee on the university's site

QAR 290,250 total for the whole 129-credit-hour, 4-year programme (QAR 2,250 per credit hour), billed per credit hour rather than per year. HBKU's own Tuition Fees page states no academic year, cohort or any other validity period anywhere on it (only the site-wide "© 2026" copyright footer, which this project does not treat as evidence of a fee's validity period), so the figure is recorded as verified cost context rather than a structured, budget-comparable fee. This project will not infer a fee period the university has not published.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Admission application deadline for undergraduate applicants: 1 March 2027 (for the intake whose online application opened 1 September 2026).
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementstests · grades

Admissions tests

  • IELTS requiredApplicants must take IELTS or TOEFL to demonstrate English proficiency; HBKU requires a minimum IELTS composite score of 6.5.
  • TOEFL requiredAccepted alternative to IELTS to demonstrate English proficiency; minimum not separately stated beyond the IELTS-equivalent 6.5 composite bar.
  • SAT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7675.
  • ACT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7019.
Source

Academic offer

Applicants need a strong high school academic record with evidence of advanced coursework in math and science, two years of final high-school transcripts (grades 10-12) available at time of application, two letters of recommendation (one from a school counsellor, one from a maths or science teacher), and a personal statement. No single numeric GPA or grade-percentage bar is published on this page.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BS · 4 years · Chemical Engineering

International tuition

QAR 294,750 total for the course

Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

HBKU publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Billed per credit hour (QAR 2,250/credit hour) rather than per year; this is the total for the whole programme. HBKU's Tuition Fees page states no academic year or cohort anywhere on it.

Show the fee on the university's site

QAR 294,750 total for the whole 131-credit-hour, 4-year programme (QAR 2,250 per credit hour), billed per credit hour rather than per year. HBKU's own Tuition Fees page states no academic year, cohort or any other validity period anywhere on it (only the site-wide "© 2026" copyright footer, which this project does not treat as evidence of a fee's validity period), so the figure is recorded as verified cost context rather than a structured, budget-comparable fee. This project will not infer a fee period the university has not published.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Admission application deadline for undergraduate applicants: 1 March 2027 (for the intake whose online application opened 1 September 2026).
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementstests · grades

Admissions tests

  • IELTS requiredApplicants must take IELTS or TOEFL to demonstrate English proficiency; HBKU requires a minimum IELTS composite score of 6.5.
  • TOEFL requiredAccepted alternative to IELTS to demonstrate English proficiency; minimum not separately stated beyond the IELTS-equivalent 6.5 composite bar.
  • SAT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7675.
  • ACT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7019.
Source

Academic offer

Applicants need a strong high school academic record with evidence of advanced coursework in math and science, two years of final high-school transcripts (grades 10-12) available at time of application, two letters of recommendation (one from a school counsellor, one from a maths or science teacher), and a personal statement. No single numeric GPA or grade-percentage bar is published on this page.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BS · 4 years · Electrical & Electronic Engineering

International tuition

QAR 290,250 total for the course

Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

HBKU publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Billed per credit hour (QAR 2,250/credit hour) rather than per year; this is the total for the whole programme. HBKU's Tuition Fees page states no academic year or cohort anywhere on it.

Show the fee on the university's site

QAR 290,250 total for the whole 128-credit-hour, 4-year programme (QAR 2,250 per credit hour), billed per credit hour rather than per year. HBKU's own Tuition Fees page states no academic year, cohort or any other validity period anywhere on it (only the site-wide "© 2026" copyright footer, which this project does not treat as evidence of a fee's validity period), so the figure is recorded as verified cost context rather than a structured, budget-comparable fee. This project will not infer a fee period the university has not published.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Admission application deadline for undergraduate applicants: 1 March 2027 (for the intake whose online application opened 1 September 2026).
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementstests · grades

Admissions tests

  • IELTS requiredApplicants must take IELTS or TOEFL to demonstrate English proficiency; HBKU requires a minimum IELTS composite score of 6.5.
  • TOEFL requiredAccepted alternative to IELTS to demonstrate English proficiency; minimum not separately stated beyond the IELTS-equivalent 6.5 composite bar.
  • SAT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7675.
  • ACT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7019.
Source

Academic offer

Applicants need a strong high school academic record with evidence of advanced coursework in math and science, two years of final high-school transcripts (grades 10-12) available at time of application, two letters of recommendation (one from a school counsellor, one from a maths or science teacher), and a personal statement. No single numeric GPA or grade-percentage bar is published on this page.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BS · 4 years · Mechanical Engineering

International tuition

QAR 290,250 total for the course

Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

HBKU publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Billed per credit hour (QAR 2,250/credit hour) rather than per year; this is the total for the whole programme. HBKU's Tuition Fees page states no academic year or cohort anywhere on it.

Show the fee on the university's site

QAR 290,250 total for the whole 129-credit-hour, 4-year programme (QAR 2,250 per credit hour), billed per credit hour rather than per year. HBKU's own Tuition Fees page states no academic year, cohort or any other validity period anywhere on it (only the site-wide "© 2026" copyright footer, which this project does not treat as evidence of a fee's validity period), so the figure is recorded as verified cost context rather than a structured, budget-comparable fee. This project will not infer a fee period the university has not published.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Admission application deadline for undergraduate applicants: 1 March 2027 (for the intake whose online application opened 1 September 2026).
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementstests · grades

Admissions tests

  • IELTS requiredApplicants must take IELTS or TOEFL to demonstrate English proficiency; HBKU requires a minimum IELTS composite score of 6.5.
  • TOEFL requiredAccepted alternative to IELTS to demonstrate English proficiency; minimum not separately stated beyond the IELTS-equivalent 6.5 composite bar.
  • SAT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7675.
  • ACT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7019.
Source

Academic offer

Applicants need a strong high school academic record with evidence of advanced coursework in math and science, two years of final high-school transcripts (grades 10-12) available at time of application, two letters of recommendation (one from a school counsellor, one from a maths or science teacher), and a personal statement. No single numeric GPA or grade-percentage bar is published on this page.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BS · 4 years · Data Science & AI, Computer Science

International tuition

QAR 290,250 total for the course

Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

HBKU publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Billed per credit hour (QAR 2,250/credit hour) rather than per year; this is the total for the whole programme. HBKU's Tuition Fees page states no academic year or cohort anywhere on it.

Show the fee on the university's site

QAR 290,250 total for the whole 128-credit-hour, 4-year programme (QAR 2,250 per credit hour), billed per credit hour rather than per year. HBKU's own Tuition Fees page states no academic year, cohort or any other validity period anywhere on it (only the site-wide "© 2026" copyright footer, which this project does not treat as evidence of a fee's validity period), so the figure is recorded as verified cost context rather than a structured, budget-comparable fee. This project will not infer a fee period the university has not published.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
Admission application deadline for undergraduate applicants: 1 March 2027 (for the intake whose online application opened 1 September 2026).
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Entry requirementstests · grades

Admissions tests

  • IELTS requiredApplicants must take IELTS or TOEFL to demonstrate English proficiency; HBKU requires a minimum IELTS composite score of 6.5.
  • TOEFL requiredAccepted alternative to IELTS to demonstrate English proficiency; minimum not separately stated beyond the IELTS-equivalent 6.5 composite bar.
  • SAT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7675.
  • ACT optionalOptional but highly encouraged; institutional code 7019.
Source

Academic offer

Applicants need a strong high school academic record with evidence of advanced coursework in math and science, two years of final high-school transcripts (grades 10-12) available at time of application, two letters of recommendation (one from a school counsellor, one from a maths or science teacher), and a personal statement. No single numeric GPA or grade-percentage bar is published on this page.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

MSc · 2 years · Cybersecurity

International tuition

QAR 132,000 total for the course

Published, undated

Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

HBKU publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

The total for the whole 33-credit programme, billed at QAR 4,000 per credit hour. No academic year is printed beside it.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
Not verified
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Subjects taught at HBKU

Each one opens every course in that subject, at every university we hold, with the same verified fees.

Where these figures come from

13 sentences from HBKU's own site each back several figures above. Each is quoted once here; every course that uses one still opens it and links to its own source page.

  1. Used for entry requirements on 5 courses

    “Applicants are required to take the IELTS or TOEFL exam in order to demonstrate their proficiency in the English language. Applicants are highly encouraged to take the SAT or ACT exam.”
    College of Science and Engineering Undergraduate Admissions | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  2. Used for entry requirements on 5 courses

    “Applicants seeking admissions to the Bachelor's Programs should have a strong high school academic record with evidence of advanced coursework in math and science.”
    College of Science and Engineering Undergraduate Admissions | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  3. Used for application deadline on 5 courses

    “Admission application deadline for undergraduate applicants 01 Mar 2027”
    College of Science and Engineering Undergraduate Admissions | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  4. Used for course length on 4 courses, teaching language on 4 courses

    “Language English Program Duration 4 Years”
    The same sentence appears on 4 pageshbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  5. Used for cost note on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering QAR 294,750 QAR 2,250 131 4 years”
    Tuition Fees | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  6. Used for cost note on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Bachelor of Science in Artificial Intelligence and Data Engineering QAR 290,250 QAR 2,250 128 4 years”
    Tuition Fees | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  7. Used for cost note on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering QAR 290,250 QAR 2,250 129 4 years”
    Tuition Fees | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  8. Used for course length on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Master of Science in Sustainable Environment QAR 132,000 QAR 4,000 33 2 years”
    Tuition Fees | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  9. Used for cost note on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering QAR 290,250 QAR 2,250 128 4 years”
    Tuition Fees | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  10. Used for course length on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Master of Science in Cybersecurity QAR 132,000 QAR 4,000 33 2 years”
    Tuition Fees | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  11. Used for course length on 1 course, teaching language on 1 course

    “A full-time program, taught in English over four years, comprising 128 credit hours, structured as follows:”
    Bachelor of Science in Artificial Intelligence and Data Engineering | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  12. Used for cost note on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering QAR 290,250 QAR 2,250 129 4 years”
    Tuition Fees | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  13. Used for course length on 1 course, international fee on 1 course

    “Master of Science in Sustainable Energy QAR 132,000 QAR 4,000 33 2 years”
    Tuition Fees | Hamad Bin Khalifa Universityhbku.edu.qaread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗

More about HBKU

About & contact

Doha, Qatar· view on Google Maps ↗hbku.edu.qa ↗

Find nearby

These open a map search near Doha. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

After you graduate

Rules read 19 Aug 2026. Check the current rules, this may be out of date

What Qatar's own immigration authority currently publishes. Not a ranking, not a guarantee, and not the same as what any agent or forum will tell you. Whether someone actually obtains residence depends on occupation, points, funds and policy that can change between application and graduation.

Route to permanent residence

Qatar's Ministry of Interior administers a Permanent Residence system under Law No. 10 of 2018, run through a dedicated 'Permanent Residence Card Granting Committee' at the Ministry: the Committee decides all procedures and requirements for granting the card to eligible categories, and refers its recommendations to the Minister of Interior for a final decision. The Ministry's own introductory page for the scheme, cited here, describes this mechanism but does not itself state the residence-length thresholds on its readable static content. Multiple secondary sources report those thresholds consistently — 20 consecutive years of legal residence for someone born outside Qatar, or 10 years for someone born in Qatar, with no more than 100 permanent residence cards granted in any calendar year, and priority given to categories such as the children of Qatari women married to non-Qataris — but StudyPath could not independently confirm those specific figures against a primary Qatari legal text with readable content, so they are reported here as widely and consistently reported rather than as directly quoted and verified. There is no separate published route from graduating in Qatar specifically into this permanent-residence scheme; a graduate's realistic path to any long-term status starts with securing employer-sponsored work, like any other expatriate, and accumulating years of residence toward whichever threshold applies.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“The Law No. 10 of 2018 on Permanent Residence stipulates the establishment of a committee in the Ministry of the Interior called the "Permanent Residence Card Granting Committee”, whose task is to carry out all the procedures related to the granting of the card. The committee will be formed by a decision of the Council of Ministers to form the committee, who will nominate its members and determine the duration of their membership and its working system. The Committee shall decide on all tasks and procedures related to the requirements for granting permanent residence to eligible categories in accordance with its working mechanisms. The Committee shall submit its recommendations to the Minister of the Interior, in turn to issue the appropriate decision”
Permanent Residency - MOI Qatarportal.moi.gov.qa
Open the official page ↗

Route to citizenship

Qatari nationality by naturalisation is governed by Law No. 38 of 2005, published on Qatar's official legal portal, Al Meezan. The general route (Article 2) requires an Emiri decree and, on the application date, at least 25 consecutive years of regular residence in Qatar (absences of up to 2 months a year do not break this, but leaving Qatar for more than 6 months after applying lets the Interior Minister disregard prior residence and discount the application), a lawful means of income, good repute with no conviction for an offence against honour or integrity, and good knowledge of Arabic; priority is given to an applicant with a Qatari mother. Separately — and directly relevant to StudyPath’s readers — Article 6 lets the Emir grant Qatari nationality, notwithstanding the 25-year requirement, to someone who has 'rendered great service to the country,' has 'particular skills the country need[s],' or is a 'student who excel[s] by showing promising scientific ability'; Article 6 explicitly states that a person naturalised under this article 'may also retain their original nationality' — a specific exception to Qatar's general rule (Article 18) that, absent an Emiri decision, 'it shall be prohibited for any person to have in addition to the Qatari nationality another nationality.' However Qatar's naturalisation numbers are capped in a way that applies across every one of these routes together: Article 17 states that, combining Articles 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, 'Qatari nationality shall not be granted to more than fifty (50) applicants in one calendar year' — so the excelling-student route exists on paper but competes for a share of an extremely small, government-wide annual total, not a dedicated quota of its own.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“Notwithstanding the provisions of Articles 2 and 18 of this Law, by an Emiri decision Qatari nationality may be granted to those who have rendered great service to the country, or who have particular skills the country need, or students who excel by showing promising scientific ability. Based on the requirements of the public interest, Qatari nationality may be granted in such cases to the persons concerned, who may also retain their original nationality.”
Law No. 38 of 2005 on the acquisition of Qatari nationality - Al Meezan Qatari Legal Portalalmeezan.qa
Open the official page ↗

New entry added 19 August 2026. Two Qatari government domains accepted as a government source here: moi.gov.qa (covering the portal.moi.gov.qa subdomain, the Ministry of Interior — Qatar's actual immigration, residence and permanent-residence authority) and almeezan.qa (Al Meezan, the Qatari Legal Portal publishing the State's official current legislation, run under the Ministry of Justice — the correct primary source for the Nationality Law's exact text, the same class of source already used on StudyPath for Italy's normattiva.it and Turkey's mevzuat.gov.tr). workDuringStudy and postStudyWork are both left null: StudyPath found no page on moi.gov.qa, or any other Qatari government domain, stating specific work-while-studying hour limits for a student residence permit, or a distinct post-study job-search or practical-training status separate from Qatar's ordinary employer-sponsored work-residence system — a genuine gap in what is publicly documented, not an assumption that no such rule exists. The Permanent Residence Committee's introductory page (moi.gov.qa) is a JS-tabbed single-page app whose 'Terms and Conditions' and 'FAQ' tabs returned the same shell content as the Introduction tab to this project's plain-HTTP fetcher — the specific 20-year/10-year residence thresholds and the 100-person annual cap widely reported for Law No. 10 of 2018 could not be independently confirmed against a primary Qatari legal text with readable content (Al Meezan's own page for this specific law, reached via search, returned 'Translation is in progress, please visit the page again' rather than the law's text), so they are reported in residencyRoute as consistently-reported rather than verified, and are not asserted as directly quoted fact; a future collector with browser access to the JS-tabbed MOI page, or who finds Law No. 10/2018's live Al Meezan LawView URL, should complete this. inDemandOccupations is left null: no shortage-occupation or priority-sector list was found on an official Qatari domain. naturalisationStatus set to 'published-route': Law No. 38 of 2005 publishes real conditions, including one (Article 6) naming students specifically, even though the 50-applicants-per-year cap (Article 17) that applies across every naturalisation route makes it, in practice, one of the narrowest routes in this entire dataset — per the doc comment on ResidencyPathway.naturalisationStatus, this field records only whether criteria are published, not how attainable the route is. citizenshipTerms records the Article 2 general route: 25 years of regular residence, granted by decree of the Emir, hence route discretionary. dualCitizenshipAllowed is false because Article 18 prohibits a Qatari national from holding another nationality absent an Emiri decision; the Article 6 route described in citizenshipRoute (great service, needed skills, or a student showing promising scientific ability) is the exception that expressly lets the person retain their original nationality, and it carries no residence period of its own. Article 17 caps all routes together at 50 grants per calendar year.

Open the immigration authority's own page ↗

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about HBKU

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…