Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 1 Oct 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
QS #68 (parent)Dubai, United Arab Emirates· QS World University Rankings 2027

University of Birmingham Dubai

What stands out

  • Highest in the United Arab Emirates

    AED 134,922a year, lowest here

    Highest undergraduate fees of the 17 universities in the United Arab Emirates we have priced

    The lowest-fee course we list here, Business Management BSc, costs more than the cheapest we list at any of the others. The dearest of those is AUS, at AED 110,876 a year.

    See how it compares ↓

University of Birmingham Dubai, in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, has 17 undergraduate courses listed on StudyPath. International tuition runs from AED 134,922 to AED 156,718 a year depending on the course. Birmingham Dubai publishes its own accommodation prices, from AED 4,600 per month. 1 named scholarship is recorded against these courses. Every figure above was read from Birmingham Dubai's own published pages and last checked on 19 August 2026.

Not separately listed in the QS World University Rankings. QS's own TopUniversities site lists University of Birmingham Dubai's programmes under the single University of Birmingham (UK) institution profile rather than a distinct Dubai entry, and the Dubai campus's own course pages display the parent university's own rank ("68th, QS World University Rankings 2027") rather than a Dubai-specific number.

This is a branch campus of University of Birmingham (UK campus) (QS #68. The whole institution's figure). Degrees, fees and admission here are set by this campus. The parent's position is shown for context only, never claimed as this campus's own. See above for how QS actually treats this campus.

Courses
17
Fees verified
17 / 17
Scholarship entries
11
International tuition across 17 courses

AED 134,922toAED 156,718a year

Lowest: Sustainability BSc and 5 othersHighest: Computer Science BSc and 3 others
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

17 courses

Computer Science

BSc · 3 years · Computer Science

International tuition

AED 156,718 per year

~AED 470,200 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

September 2026 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

University of Birmingham Dubai does not state a fee period as an academic year (e.g. "2026/27") anywhere on this page, only "September 2026" as the entry point the fee applies to, so the period label is used instead of the academic year. The page's fee widget defaults to a "Fees (UK/Ireland)" label with this amount; switching the page's own "Where are you applying from?" country selector to a non-UK country (confirmed with India) changes the label to "Fees (international)" but leaves the amount unchanged at AED 156,718 — the campus charges one flat undergraduate rate regardless of nationality, hence audience: all-students rather than international.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships1 available
  • Undergraduate Chancellor's Academic Merit Scholarship

    30%, 25%, 20% or 15% tuition fee support per year of undergraduate study depending on the grade band achieved, applied automatically from the documents submitted with the application — no separate scholarship application required.

    Eligibility: Open to all nationalities and domiciles applying for Bachelor's-level study at the University of Birmingham Dubai (September 2026 entry). Assessed on predicted or final grades submitted with the application; published Bachelor's-level bands include A-Level A*AA / AAA / AAB / ABB, IB HL 7,6,6 / 6,6,6 / 6,6,5 / 6,5,5, and CBSE above 90% / above 85% / above 80% / above 75% (a separate, lower-value table applies to the integrated foundation year).

    Published as a full tiered table by qualification; only the Bachelor's-level A-Level, IB and CBSE bands are summarised here — see the source page for American High School GPA and Al Thaneweya bands, and the separate foundation-year table. No single minimumALevelGrades or coveragePercentage recorded because the award pays out at four different rates depending on which grade band is met. May be combined with the Alumni or Secure Your Spot scholarships where eligible.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

A*AA - ABB A Level Mathematics grade A. If you are taking any reformed A levels, which include Biology, Chemistry and Physics taught from 2015, you must pass the practical element. General Studies or Critical Thinking not accepted.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BSc · 3 years · Data Science & AI, Computer Science

International tuition

AED 156,718 per year

~AED 470,200 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

September 2026 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

University of Birmingham Dubai does not state a fee period as an academic year (e.g. "2026/27") anywhere on this page, only "September 2026" as the entry point the fee applies to, so the period label is used instead of the academic year. The page's fee widget defaults to a "Fees (UK/Ireland)" label with this amount; switching the page's own "Where are you applying from?" country selector to a non-UK country (confirmed with India) changes the label to "Fees (international)" but leaves the amount unchanged at AED 156,718 — the campus charges one flat undergraduate rate regardless of nationality, hence audience: all-students rather than international.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships1 available
  • Undergraduate Chancellor's Academic Merit Scholarship

    30%, 25%, 20% or 15% tuition fee support per year of undergraduate study depending on the grade band achieved, applied automatically from the documents submitted with the application — no separate scholarship application required.

    Eligibility: Open to all nationalities and domiciles applying for Bachelor's-level study at the University of Birmingham Dubai (September 2026 entry). Assessed on predicted or final grades submitted with the application; published Bachelor's-level bands include A-Level A*AA / AAA / AAB / ABB, IB HL 7,6,6 / 6,6,6 / 6,6,5 / 6,5,5, and CBSE above 90% / above 85% / above 80% / above 75% (a separate, lower-value table applies to the integrated foundation year).

    Published as a full tiered table by qualification; only the Bachelor's-level A-Level, IB and CBSE bands are summarised here — see the source page for American High School GPA and Al Thaneweya bands, and the separate foundation-year table. No single minimumALevelGrades or coveragePercentage recorded because the award pays out at four different rates depending on which grade band is met. May be combined with the Alumni or Secure Your Spot scholarships where eligible.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

A*AA - ABB A Level Mathematics grade A. If you are taking any reformed A levels, which include Biology, Chemistry and Physics taught from 2015, you must pass the practical element. General Studies or Critical Thinking not accepted.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

MEng · 4 years · Software Engineering, Computer Science

International tuition

AED 156,718 per year

~AED 626,900 for the whole 4 years, at today's fee
Verified

September 2026 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

University of Birmingham Dubai does not state a fee period as an academic year (e.g. "2026/27") anywhere on this page, only "September 2026" as the entry point the fee applies to, so the period label is used instead of the academic year. The page's fee widget defaults to a "Fees (UK/Ireland)" label with this amount; switching the page's own "Where are you applying from?" country selector to a non-UK country (confirmed with India) changes the label to "Fees (international)" but leaves the amount unchanged at AED 156,718 — the campus charges one flat undergraduate rate regardless of nationality, hence audience: all-students rather than international.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships1 available
  • Undergraduate Chancellor's Academic Merit Scholarship

    30%, 25%, 20% or 15% tuition fee support per year of undergraduate study depending on the grade band achieved, applied automatically from the documents submitted with the application — no separate scholarship application required.

    Eligibility: Open to all nationalities and domiciles applying for Bachelor's-level study at the University of Birmingham Dubai (September 2026 entry). Assessed on predicted or final grades submitted with the application; published Bachelor's-level bands include A-Level A*AA / AAA / AAB / ABB, IB HL 7,6,6 / 6,6,6 / 6,6,5 / 6,5,5, and CBSE above 90% / above 85% / above 80% / above 75% (a separate, lower-value table applies to the integrated foundation year).

    Published as a full tiered table by qualification; only the Bachelor's-level A-Level, IB and CBSE bands are summarised here — see the source page for American High School GPA and Al Thaneweya bands, and the separate foundation-year table. No single minimumALevelGrades or coveragePercentage recorded because the award pays out at four different rates depending on which grade band is met. May be combined with the Alumni or Secure Your Spot scholarships where eligible. Named on the scholarships page as a course that requires years of study at the Edgbaston (UK) campus, so the general "scholarship also covers the exchange year at Edgbaston" clause does not apply the same way here — the scholarship still applies to each year of study, Dubai or Birmingham, per the main award terms.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

A*AA - AAB including A Level Mathematics grade A. If you are taking any reformed A levels, which include Biology, Chemistry and Physics taught from 2015, you must pass the practical element. General Studies or Critical Thinking not accepted.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“A*AA - AAB including A Level Mathematics grade A. If you are taking any reformed A levels, which include Biology, Chemistry and Physics taught from 2015, you must pass the practical element. General Studies or Critical Thinking not accepted.”
Computer Science and Software Engineering MEng (Dubai) | University of Birmingham Dubaibirmingham.ac.uk
Open the official page ↗
Convert your grade to compare →

Civil Engineering

BEng · 3 years · Civil Engineering

International tuition

AED 149,106 per year

~AED 447,300 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

September 2026 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

University of Birmingham Dubai does not state a fee period as an academic year (e.g. "2026/27") anywhere on this page, only "September 2026" as the entry point the fee applies to, so the period label is used instead of the academic year. The page's fee widget defaults to a "Fees (UK/Ireland)" label with this amount; switching the page's own "Where are you applying from?" country selector to a non-UK country (confirmed with India) changes the label to "Fees (international)" but leaves the amount unchanged at AED 149,106 — the campus charges one flat undergraduate rate regardless of nationality, hence audience: all-students rather than international.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships1 available
  • Undergraduate Chancellor's Academic Merit Scholarship

    30%, 25%, 20% or 15% tuition fee support per year of undergraduate study depending on the grade band achieved, applied automatically from the documents submitted with the application — no separate scholarship application required.

    Eligibility: Open to all nationalities and domiciles applying for Bachelor's-level study at the University of Birmingham Dubai (September 2026 entry). Assessed on predicted or final grades submitted with the application; published Bachelor's-level bands include A-Level A*AA / AAA / AAB / ABB, IB HL 7,6,6 / 6,6,6 / 6,6,5 / 6,5,5, and CBSE above 90% / above 85% / above 80% / above 75% (a separate, lower-value table applies to the integrated foundation year).

    Published as a full tiered table by qualification; only the Bachelor's-level A-Level, IB and CBSE bands are summarised here — see the source page for American High School GPA and Al Thaneweya bands, and the separate foundation-year table. No single minimumALevelGrades or coveragePercentage recorded because the award pays out at four different rates depending on which grade band is met. May be combined with the Alumni or Secure Your Spot scholarships where eligible. Named on the scholarships page as a course that requires years of study at the Edgbaston (UK) campus, so the general "scholarship also covers the exchange year at Edgbaston" clause does not apply the same way here — the scholarship still applies to each year of study, Dubai or Birmingham, per the main award terms.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

AAB - ABB 3 A Levels to include Mathematics.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“AAB - ABB 3 A Levels to include Mathematics.”
Civil Engineering BEng (Dubai) | University of Birmingham Dubaibirmingham.ac.uk
Open the official page ↗
Convert your grade to compare →

BEng · 3 years · Computer Science

International tuition

AED 149,106 per year

~AED 447,300 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

September 2026 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

University of Birmingham Dubai does not state a fee period as an academic year (e.g. "2026/27") anywhere on this page, only "September 2026" as the entry point the fee applies to, so the period label is used instead of the academic year. The page's fee widget defaults to a "Fees (UK/Ireland)" label with this amount; switching the page's own "Where are you applying from?" country selector to a non-UK country (confirmed with India) changes the label to "Fees (international)" but leaves the amount unchanged at AED 149,106 — the campus charges one flat undergraduate rate regardless of nationality, hence audience: all-students rather than international.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships1 available
  • Undergraduate Chancellor's Academic Merit Scholarship

    30%, 25%, 20% or 15% tuition fee support per year of undergraduate study depending on the grade band achieved, applied automatically from the documents submitted with the application — no separate scholarship application required.

    Eligibility: Open to all nationalities and domiciles applying for Bachelor's-level study at the University of Birmingham Dubai (September 2026 entry). Assessed on predicted or final grades submitted with the application; published Bachelor's-level bands include A-Level A*AA / AAA / AAB / ABB, IB HL 7,6,6 / 6,6,6 / 6,6,5 / 6,5,5, and CBSE above 90% / above 85% / above 80% / above 75% (a separate, lower-value table applies to the integrated foundation year).

    Published as a full tiered table by qualification; only the Bachelor's-level A-Level, IB and CBSE bands are summarised here — see the source page for American High School GPA and Al Thaneweya bands, and the separate foundation-year table. No single minimumALevelGrades or coveragePercentage recorded because the award pays out at four different rates depending on which grade band is met. May be combined with the Alumni or Secure Your Spot scholarships where eligible.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

AAB - ABB including A Level Mathematics grade A. If you are taking any reformed A levels, which include Biology, Chemistry and Physics taught from 2015, you must pass the practical element. General Studies or Critical Thinking not accepted.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“AAB - ABB including A Level Mathematics grade A. If you are taking any reformed A levels, which include Biology, Chemistry and Physics taught from 2015, you must pass the practical element. General Studies or Critical Thinking not accepted.”
Computer Engineering BEng (Dubai) | University of Birmingham Dubaibirmingham.ac.uk
Open the official page ↗
Convert your grade to compare →

BEng · 3 years · Electrical & Electronic Engineering

International tuition

AED 149,106 per year

~AED 447,300 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

September 2026 · Priced for this course · All students — no separate international rate

University of Birmingham Dubai does not state a fee period as an academic year (e.g. "2026/27") anywhere on this page, only "September 2026" as the entry point the fee applies to, so the period label is used instead of the academic year. The page's fee widget defaults to a "Fees (UK/Ireland)" label with this amount; switching the page's own "Where are you applying from?" country selector to a non-UK country (confirmed with India) changes the label to "Fees (international)" but leaves the amount unchanged at AED 149,106 — the campus charges one flat undergraduate rate regardless of nationality, hence audience: all-students rather than international.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
September
Source
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships1 available
  • Undergraduate Chancellor's Academic Merit Scholarship

    30%, 25%, 20% or 15% tuition fee support per year of undergraduate study depending on the grade band achieved, applied automatically from the documents submitted with the application — no separate scholarship application required.

    Eligibility: Open to all nationalities and domiciles applying for Bachelor's-level study at the University of Birmingham Dubai (September 2026 entry). Assessed on predicted or final grades submitted with the application; published Bachelor's-level bands include A-Level A*AA / AAA / AAB / ABB, IB HL 7,6,6 / 6,6,6 / 6,6,5 / 6,5,5, and CBSE above 90% / above 85% / above 80% / above 75% (a separate, lower-value table applies to the integrated foundation year).

    Published as a full tiered table by qualification; only the Bachelor's-level A-Level, IB and CBSE bands are summarised here — see the source page for American High School GPA and Al Thaneweya bands, and the separate foundation-year table. No single minimumALevelGrades or coveragePercentage recorded because the award pays out at four different rates depending on which grade band is met. May be combined with the Alumni or Secure Your Spot scholarships where eligible. Named on the scholarships page as a course that requires years of study at the Edgbaston (UK) campus, so the general "scholarship also covers the exchange year at Edgbaston" clause does not apply the same way here — the scholarship still applies to each year of study, Dubai or Birmingham, per the main award terms.

    Source
Entry requirementsgrades

Academic offer

AAB - ABB . 3 A Levels to include Mathematics.
Source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“AAB - ABB . 3 A Levels to include Mathematics.”
Electronic and Electrical Engineering BEng (Dubai) | University of Birmingham Dubaibirmingham.ac.uk
Open the official page ↗
Convert your grade to compare →

How Birmingham Dubai compares

Against the other universities in the United Arab Emirates on StudyPath, using each one's verified international fees and its own published housing prices. Universities are only compared with others charging in the same currency (and, for housing, for the same period), so no figure here has been converted. A ~ marks a year worked out from a per-term or whole-course fee.

Birmingham Dubai's lowest undergraduate fee for international students is AED 134,922 a year, for Business Management BSc. Of the 16 other universities in the United Arab Emirates we list with undergraduate fees in AED, 16 charge less. Their lowest undergraduate fees run from AED 34,650 (UGM RAK (formerly Bolton RAK)) to AED 110,876 (AUS).

Student housing. Birmingham Dubai's own lowest published rate is AED 4,600 per month. Of the 5 other universities in the United Arab Emirates we list that publish housing per month in AED, 5 charge less. Their lowest published rates run from AED 2,000 (Murdoch Dubai) to AED 3,000 (Heriot-Watt Dubai).

By subject
SubjectLowest fee hereAgainst other universities in the United Arab EmiratesTheir lowest fees
Computer ScienceundergraduateAED 149,106Computer Engineering BEngHighest of 13AED 34,650 to AED 110,876
Business & ManagementundergraduateAED 134,922Business Management BScHighest of 12AED 34,650 to AED 110,876
Electrical & Electronic EngineeringundergraduateAED 149,106Electronic and Electrical Engineering BEngHighest of 11AED 57,750 to AED 110,876
Data Science & AIundergraduateAED 149,106Robotics and Artificial Intelligence (AI) BEngHighest of 10AED 52,500 to AED 110,876
Civil EngineeringundergraduateAED 149,106Civil Engineering BEngHighest of 8AED 38,750 to AED 110,876
Mechanical EngineeringundergraduateAED 149,106Mechanical Engineering (Biomedical) BEngHighest of 8AED 38,750 to AED 110,876

Subjects taught at Birmingham Dubai

Each one opens every course in that subject, at every university we hold, with the same verified fees.

Where these figures come from

10 sentences from Birmingham Dubai's own site each back several figures above. Each is quoted once here; every course that uses one still opens it and links to its own source page.

  1. Used for start dates on 17 courses

    “Start date September”
    The same sentence appears on 17 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 16 Aug 2026 to 19 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  2. Used for scholarship on 11 courses

    “This scholarship celebrates exceptional academic achievement and provides up to 30% tuition fee support .”
    Undergraduate Chancellor's Academic Merit Scholarship (Dubai) | University of Birmingham Dubaibirmingham.ac.ukread 17 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  3. Used for course length on 8 courses

    “3 years”
    The same sentence appears on 8 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 16 Aug 2026 to 17 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  4. Used for international fee on 6 courses

    “September 2026: AED 134,922 per year (full-time)”
    The same sentence appears on 6 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 17 Aug 2026 to 19 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  5. Used for international fee on 6 courses

    “September 2026: AED 149,106 per year (full-time)”
    The same sentence appears on 6 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 17 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  6. Used for course length on 6 courses

    “Duration 3 years”
    The same sentence appears on 6 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 19 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  7. Used for international fee on 4 courses

    “September 2026: AED 156,718 per year (full-time)”
    The same sentence appears on 4 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 16 Aug 2026 to 17 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  8. Used for entry requirements on 3 courses

    “AAB - ABB 3 A Levels. Typical offer AAB - ABB including Mathematics.”
    The same sentence appears on 3 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 17 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  9. Used for entry requirements on 2 courses

    “A*AA - ABB A Level Mathematics grade A. If you are taking any reformed A levels, which include Biology, Chemistry and Physics taught from 2015, you must pass the practical element. General Studies or Critical Thinking not accepted.”
    The same sentence appears on 2 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 16 Aug 2026 to 17 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗
  10. Used for course length on 2 courses

    “3 years (year 1 in Dubai, years 2+3 in Birmingham)”
    The same sentence appears on 2 pagesbirmingham.ac.ukread 17 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗

More about Birmingham Dubai

About & contact

Dubai, United Arab Emirates· view on Google Maps ↗birmingham.ac.uk ↗

Find nearby

These open a map search near Dubai. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

Accommodation

AED 4,600per month

typical single-room rent estimate for students in Dubai, based on a full academic year contract, as published in the university's cost-of-living guide

Published by the university itself, not a live listings price. Actual cost depends on room type, availability and when you apply.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“Rent (single room) AED 4,600 (based on a full academic year contract)”
Cost of living for students in Dubai - University of Birmingham Dubaibirmingham.ac.uk
Open the official page ↗

After you graduate

Rules read 19 Aug 2026. Check the current rules, this may be out of date

What United Arab Emirates's own immigration authority currently publishes. Not a ranking, not a guarantee, and not the same as what any agent or forum will tell you. Whether someone actually obtains residence depends on occupation, points, funds and policy that can change between application and graduation.

Post-study work visa

Visit visa to explore job opportunities (job-seeker entry permit) . Up to 4 months
A foreigner may be granted a visit visa to explore employment opportunities, for one or more visits, without needing a host or guarantor inside the country — issued by the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs (GDRFA) for a chosen length of 60, 90 or 120 days (a separate fee applies to each length: AED200, AED300 and AED400 respectively). To qualify, the applicant must either be a skilled worker at the first, second or third professional level under the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation's own occupational classification, or have graduated — with at least a bachelor's degree — from one of the world's top 500 universities under the classification approved by the Ministry of Education. This is a visit visa granted for the purpose of searching for work, not a work permit in its own right; the UAE's separate standard work visa (see residencyRoute) must still be obtained, through an employer, once a job is found.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“1. The applicant must be a skilled worker at the first, second or third professional level of the occupational classification approved by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation 2. The applicant must have graduated from one of the top 500 universities in the world, according to the Ministry of Education's classification.A bachelor's degree or its equivalent must be the minimum level of education.”
Issuing a visit visa to explore job opportunities - GDRFA Dubaigdrfad.gov.ae
Open the official page ↗

Route to permanent residence

The UAE has no separate, distinctly named 'permanent residence' status that a graduate advances toward over a fixed number of years the way most other countries on StudyPath describe. Most graduates who find work move onto the standard employment-sponsored residence visa, which the UAE's own government portal states is valid for two years and renewable subject to the visa-issuing authorities' terms and conditions, applied for by the employer — a status that is renewed indefinitely rather than converting into an unconditional permanent one. Separately, and without requiring employer sponsorship at all, the Golden Residence system grants a renewable long-term residence visa directly to an 'outstanding student': the federal government's own published eligibility table states that a top university student is granted a 10-year Golden visa on production of certificates of excellence and recommendation letters from their school or university, while a top high-school achiever is granted 5 years — both without the 'no sponsor needed' Golden visa carrying a further path to a distinct citizenship status of its own (see citizenshipRoute).

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“Outstanding students 5 years for high school achievers 10 years for top university students Certificates of excellence, recommendation letters from school or university”
Golden visa | The Official Platform of the UAE Governmentu.ae
Open the official page ↗

Route to citizenship

Emirati nationality is governed by the Executive Regulation of the Citizenship and Passports Law, administered federally. The UAE's own government portal states plainly that it does not operate a general residence-based naturalisation open to any long-term foreign resident: since amendments approved in January 2021, only specific, named categories of foreigner can be nominated for citizenship — investors, doctors, specialists, inventors, scientists, intellectuals, and talents/artists (plus their spouses and children) — each against its own published criteria. An investor must own property in the UAE; a doctor or specialist must work in a scientific discipline of high demand in the UAE with at least 10 years of acknowledged practical experience and membership of a reputable professional organisation; a scientist must be an active researcher with at least 10 years' experience and a recommendation letter from a recognised UAE scientific institution; an inventor needs a Ministry of Economy-approved patent and its recommendation letter; and an intellectual/creative-talent nominee must be a pioneer in art or culture who has won at least one international award. Nomination itself can only come through the Rulers' and Crown Princes' Courts, the Offices of the Executive Councils and the Cabinet, on the recommendation of federal entities — there is no route by which an individual applies directly. Successful nominees take an oath of allegiance, must abide by UAE law, and must inform the government if they acquire or lose any other citizenship. Dual nationality is explicitly permitted for this route: the same amendment 'allows the naturalised citizen to retain his original nationality.'

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“In January 2021, the UAE Government approved amendments to the ‘ Executive Regulation of the Citizenship and Passports Law ’ (page in Arabic) allowing specific categories of foreigners, their spouses and children to acquire the Emirati nationality . The amendment stipulates certain conditions for each category and allows the naturalised citizen to retain his original nationality.”
Emirati nationality | The Official Platform of the UAE Governmentu.ae
Open the official page ↗

What the government currently prioritises

The UAE's Golden Residence system is also StudyPath’s clearest published signal of federally prioritised fields: alongside outstanding students, the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security's own account of the long-term residency system names 'all PhD holders, doctors and engineers in the fields of computer engineering, electronics, programming, electricity and biotechnology, and those who hold specialized degrees in artificial intelligence, big data or epidemiology and viruses' as eligible categories for Golden residency, alongside investors, entrepreneurs and leaders in science, knowledge or sport. This is a residency-eligibility list rather than a labour-shortage list of the kind Canada, Australia, the UK or Germany publish — it names fields the UAE has chosen to fast-track into long-term residency, not occupations it has found itself short of.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“all PhD holders, doctors and engineers in the fields of computer engineering, electronics, programming, electricity and biotechnology, and those who hold specialized degrees in artificial intelligence, big data or epidemiology and viruses.”
What is Golden Residency? | Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Securityicp.gov.ae
Open the official page ↗

New entry added 19 August 2026. workDuringStudy is deliberately left null: mohre.gov.ae (Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation, the authority for work permits including the 'Student Training and Employment Permit') was unreachable by every collection method tried — this project's plain-HTTP fetcher (curl-fallback: 'Could not connect to server'), automated fetching (ECONNREFUSED), and the project's real-browser fallback (the navigation silently failed to a non-page state) all failed against mohre.gov.ae specifically, while every other UAE domain used in this entry (u.ae, gdrfad.gov.ae, icp.gov.ae) worked normally — so this looks like a network-level block on that one host from this collector's environment rather than the page not existing. A future collector with different network conditions should retry mohre.gov.ae directly for the Student Training and Employment Permit page (found via search at mohre.gov.ae/en/our-services/training-and-work-permit-for-students-2022.aspx) rather than treat this as confirmed absent. Four UAE domains were accepted as a government source here: u.ae (the federal government's own citizen-facing portal, used as the course link and for most citations here), icp.gov.ae (Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security, the actual visa/citizenship-granting federal authority), gdrfad.gov.ae (General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs — Dubai, an Emirate-level government immigration authority whose own published service pages carried the job-seeker-visa detail more precisely than the federal portal did), and mohre.gov.ae (the labour-permit ministry, recorded even though it was unreachable on). GDRFA Dubai's rules on the job-seeker visit visa and the golden residence permit for graduates are Dubai-specific service pages rather than a single federal rulebook — the UAE's residency system is administered with real variation between Emirates (Dubai's GDRFA versus Abu Dhabi's ICP-run system elsewhere), and this entry cites the federal u.ae portal as authoritative wherever its own account was available, falling back to GDRFA Dubai only for the job-seeker-visa figures that u.ae's own pages did not state as precisely. naturalisationStatus set to 'published-route': the UAE's own government portal publishes real, followable criteria (10 years of professional experience and a recognised specialisation, a patent, an international award, or property ownership) rather than nothing at all — a genuine exception among Gulf states, several of which (see Qatar and Saudi Arabia on StudyPath) publish no comparable route. This is recorded honestly as narrow, nomination-only and not something a person applies for directly, rather than as easy or guaranteed — see the doc comment on ResidencyPathway.naturalisationStatus for why this field records only whether a route is published, not how attainable it is. citizenshipTerms records route nomination and minimumResidenceYears null: the UAE’s own portal publishes no general residence-based naturalisation at all, only named categories (investors, doctors, specialists, inventors, scientists, intellectuals, creative talents) who must be nominated through the Rulers’ and Crown Princes’ Courts, the Offices of the Executive Councils or the Cabinet. There is no period for an ordinary resident to accumulate, so null here means "no published general period", not "unknown". The 10-year experience figures in citizenshipRoute are professional-experience conditions inside two of those categories, not a residence period.

Open the immigration authority's own page ↗

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about Birmingham Dubai

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…