Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 1 Oct 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
QS #=436Tampere, Finland· QS World University Rankings 2027

Tampere University

Tampere University, in Tampere, Finland, has 8 undergraduate courses listed on StudyPath. International tuition is €10,000 a year. TAU publishes its own accommodation prices, from €250 per month. All of them publish an application deadline. 2 named scholarships are recorded against these courses. Every figure above was read from TAU's own published pages and last checked on 25 August 2026.

Courses
8
Fees verified
8 / 8
Scholarship entries
16
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

8 courses

BSc (Tech) · 3 years · Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Robotics

International tuition

€10,000 per year

~€30,000 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

students admitted in 2026 · Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

One rate covers every Tampere University bachelor’s programme, so this is institution-wide rather than priced per degree; each programme page repeats it as "Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA citizens — Bachelor’s — 10000 € per academic year". The same page states who pays: "you are citizen of a country outside the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, and study in a bachelor’s or master’s degree programme taught in English." EU/EEA and Swiss citizens are therefore not charged tuition at all. The page dates the figure only as being for "students admitted in 2026" — no academic year is printed anywhere against it, and no figure for the January 2027 round (which is the next open one) is published yet, so the period label carries the university’s own wording rather than an inferred year. Admission is to a combined 3-year Bachelor of Science (Tech) plus 2-year Master of Science (Tech); the €12,000 master’s rate applies once the bachelor’s stage is complete. The fee does not cover the compulsory Student Union (TREY) membership fee or the student healthcare fee.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
The application period for bachelor's studies starting in autumn 2027 starts 7 January and ends on 21 January 2027; applications cannot be submitted after the deadline. Admission runs once a year through the Finnish national "Joint application to higher education".
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Tampere University tuition fee scholarship

    50% of the tuition fees for the programme duration

    Eligibility: Awarded at admission to a limited number of the best-performing applicants, on an academic overall assessment of the admission application. Highly selective, and not awarded in all programmes. Applied for as part of the admission application at Studyinfo.fi — no separate form.

    Not available on the open university route or on transfer applications. A holder of this scholarship is not also eligible for the early bird offer.

    Source
  • Early bird offer

    €2,000 reduction on the programme tuition fee, first year of studies only

    Eligibility: Open to every fee-paying student admitted who has not been awarded a Tampere University tuition fee scholarship. No separate application: accept the offered study place and pay the reduced first-year fee within two weeks of being told you are admitted. For bachelor’s applicants admitted from the waiting list it is available only if two or more weeks remain before the deadline for accepting the place.

    A prompt-payment discount rather than a merit award, but it is a named, concretely-stated reduction that changes what a fee-paying student actually pays in year one, so it is recorded here. coveragePercentage is deliberately unset — the page states a flat €2,000, not a percentage, and converting it would be this project doing arithmetic the university did not publish.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 78 overall, minimum 20 on WritingApplicants admitted through Tampere’s Admission group 1 (ranked on an SAT or ACT score) are exempt: the same page states that if admission is based on SAT or ACT scores, "further demonstration of language proficiency is not required". The row is printed as "78 overall with minimum 20 on Writing / 4 overall with no section below 3.5"; the second pair of figures belongs to the separate TOEFL Essentials scale and is not the iBT requirement. Tests must be completed by the application deadline.
  • IELTS Academic, 6 overall, minimum 5.5 on WritingPrinted on the page as "6.0 overall with minimum 5.5 on Writing".
  • PTE Academic, 62 overall, minimum 61 on Writing
Source

Admissions tests

  • SAT optionalTampere runs two admission groups. Group I ranks applicants purely on an SAT or ACT total score. Group II (certificate-based) is open only to holders of the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB or EB diploma, or a Reifeprüfung/DIA completed in Finland — so an applicant holding any other foreign school-leaving qualification has only the SAT/ACT route, and in practice the test is required for most international applicants. required: false records only that the university does not state it as universally mandatory. For the SAT, the Reading and Writing (RW) and Math sections are counted; programme-specific score requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi, which is outside tuni.fi and so is not recorded here.
  • ACT optionalAccepted as an alternative to the SAT in Admission group I; the ACT score is converted to an SAT-equivalent using a conversion table on the same page. English, Reading (completed) and Maths sections are counted. Only tests taken after 1 January 2025 are considered and the test must be completed by the end of the application period.
Source

Academic offer

A completed (or, for final-year applicants, soon-to-be-completed) upper secondary qualification: the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB, EB, Reifeprüfung or DIA diploma, the Cambridge AICE, a Finnish vocational qualification, or a foreign qualification that confers eligibility for an equivalent university degree in the country awarding it. No subject grades are published on tuni.fi — programme-specific requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BSc (Tech) · 3 years · Biomedical Engineering

International tuition

€10,000 per year

~€30,000 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

students admitted in 2026 · Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

One rate covers every Tampere University bachelor’s programme, so this is institution-wide rather than priced per degree; each programme page repeats it as "Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA citizens — Bachelor’s — 10000 € per academic year". The same page states who pays: "you are citizen of a country outside the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, and study in a bachelor’s or master’s degree programme taught in English." EU/EEA and Swiss citizens are therefore not charged tuition at all. The page dates the figure only as being for "students admitted in 2026" — no academic year is printed anywhere against it, and no figure for the January 2027 round (which is the next open one) is published yet, so the period label carries the university’s own wording rather than an inferred year. Admission is to a combined 3-year Bachelor of Science (Tech) plus 2-year Master of Science (Tech); the €12,000 master’s rate applies once the bachelor’s stage is complete. The fee does not cover the compulsory Student Union (TREY) membership fee or the student healthcare fee.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
The application period for bachelor's studies starting in autumn 2027 starts 7 January and ends on 21 January 2027; applications cannot be submitted after the deadline. Admission runs once a year through the Finnish national "Joint application to higher education".
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Tampere University tuition fee scholarship

    50% of the tuition fees for the programme duration

    Eligibility: Awarded at admission to a limited number of the best-performing applicants, on an academic overall assessment of the admission application. Highly selective, and not awarded in all programmes. Applied for as part of the admission application at Studyinfo.fi — no separate form.

    Not available on the open university route or on transfer applications. A holder of this scholarship is not also eligible for the early bird offer.

    Source
  • Early bird offer

    €2,000 reduction on the programme tuition fee, first year of studies only

    Eligibility: Open to every fee-paying student admitted who has not been awarded a Tampere University tuition fee scholarship. No separate application: accept the offered study place and pay the reduced first-year fee within two weeks of being told you are admitted. For bachelor’s applicants admitted from the waiting list it is available only if two or more weeks remain before the deadline for accepting the place.

    A prompt-payment discount rather than a merit award, but it is a named, concretely-stated reduction that changes what a fee-paying student actually pays in year one, so it is recorded here. coveragePercentage is deliberately unset — the page states a flat €2,000, not a percentage, and converting it would be this project doing arithmetic the university did not publish.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 78 overall, minimum 20 on WritingApplicants admitted through Tampere’s Admission group 1 (ranked on an SAT or ACT score) are exempt: the same page states that if admission is based on SAT or ACT scores, "further demonstration of language proficiency is not required". The row is printed as "78 overall with minimum 20 on Writing / 4 overall with no section below 3.5"; the second pair of figures belongs to the separate TOEFL Essentials scale and is not the iBT requirement. Tests must be completed by the application deadline.
  • IELTS Academic, 6 overall, minimum 5.5 on WritingPrinted on the page as "6.0 overall with minimum 5.5 on Writing".
  • PTE Academic, 62 overall, minimum 61 on Writing
Source

Admissions tests

  • SAT optionalTampere runs two admission groups. Group I ranks applicants purely on an SAT or ACT total score. Group II (certificate-based) is open only to holders of the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB or EB diploma, or a Reifeprüfung/DIA completed in Finland — so an applicant holding any other foreign school-leaving qualification has only the SAT/ACT route, and in practice the test is required for most international applicants. required: false records only that the university does not state it as universally mandatory. For the SAT, the Reading and Writing (RW) and Math sections are counted; programme-specific score requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi, which is outside tuni.fi and so is not recorded here.
  • ACT optionalAccepted as an alternative to the SAT in Admission group I; the ACT score is converted to an SAT-equivalent using a conversion table on the same page. English, Reading (completed) and Maths sections are counted. Only tests taken after 1 January 2025 are considered and the test must be completed by the end of the application period.
Source

Academic offer

A completed (or, for final-year applicants, soon-to-be-completed) upper secondary qualification: the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB, EB, Reifeprüfung or DIA diploma, the Cambridge AICE, a Finnish vocational qualification, or a foreign qualification that confers eligibility for an equivalent university degree in the country awarding it. No subject grades are published on tuni.fi — programme-specific requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BSc (Tech) · 3 years · Chemistry

International tuition

€10,000 per year

~€30,000 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

students admitted in 2026 · Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

One rate covers every Tampere University bachelor’s programme, so this is institution-wide rather than priced per degree; each programme page repeats it as "Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA citizens — Bachelor’s — 10000 € per academic year". The same page states who pays: "you are citizen of a country outside the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, and study in a bachelor’s or master’s degree programme taught in English." EU/EEA and Swiss citizens are therefore not charged tuition at all. The page dates the figure only as being for "students admitted in 2026" — no academic year is printed anywhere against it, and no figure for the January 2027 round (which is the next open one) is published yet, so the period label carries the university’s own wording rather than an inferred year. Admission is to a combined 3-year Bachelor of Science (Tech) plus 2-year Master of Science (Tech); the €12,000 master’s rate applies once the bachelor’s stage is complete. The fee does not cover the compulsory Student Union (TREY) membership fee or the student healthcare fee.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
The application period for bachelor's studies starting in autumn 2027 starts 7 January and ends on 21 January 2027; applications cannot be submitted after the deadline. Admission runs once a year through the Finnish national "Joint application to higher education".
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Tampere University tuition fee scholarship

    50% of the tuition fees for the programme duration

    Eligibility: Awarded at admission to a limited number of the best-performing applicants, on an academic overall assessment of the admission application. Highly selective, and not awarded in all programmes. Applied for as part of the admission application at Studyinfo.fi — no separate form.

    Not available on the open university route or on transfer applications. A holder of this scholarship is not also eligible for the early bird offer.

    Source
  • Early bird offer

    €2,000 reduction on the programme tuition fee, first year of studies only

    Eligibility: Open to every fee-paying student admitted who has not been awarded a Tampere University tuition fee scholarship. No separate application: accept the offered study place and pay the reduced first-year fee within two weeks of being told you are admitted. For bachelor’s applicants admitted from the waiting list it is available only if two or more weeks remain before the deadline for accepting the place.

    A prompt-payment discount rather than a merit award, but it is a named, concretely-stated reduction that changes what a fee-paying student actually pays in year one, so it is recorded here. coveragePercentage is deliberately unset — the page states a flat €2,000, not a percentage, and converting it would be this project doing arithmetic the university did not publish.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 78 overall, minimum 20 on WritingApplicants admitted through Tampere’s Admission group 1 (ranked on an SAT or ACT score) are exempt: the same page states that if admission is based on SAT or ACT scores, "further demonstration of language proficiency is not required". The row is printed as "78 overall with minimum 20 on Writing / 4 overall with no section below 3.5"; the second pair of figures belongs to the separate TOEFL Essentials scale and is not the iBT requirement. Tests must be completed by the application deadline.
  • IELTS Academic, 6 overall, minimum 5.5 on WritingPrinted on the page as "6.0 overall with minimum 5.5 on Writing".
  • PTE Academic, 62 overall, minimum 61 on Writing
Source

Admissions tests

  • SAT optionalTampere runs two admission groups. Group I ranks applicants purely on an SAT or ACT total score. Group II (certificate-based) is open only to holders of the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB or EB diploma, or a Reifeprüfung/DIA completed in Finland — so an applicant holding any other foreign school-leaving qualification has only the SAT/ACT route, and in practice the test is required for most international applicants. required: false records only that the university does not state it as universally mandatory. For the SAT, the Reading and Writing (RW) and Math sections are counted; programme-specific score requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi, which is outside tuni.fi and so is not recorded here.
  • ACT optionalAccepted as an alternative to the SAT in Admission group I; the ACT score is converted to an SAT-equivalent using a conversion table on the same page. English, Reading (completed) and Maths sections are counted. Only tests taken after 1 January 2025 are considered and the test must be completed by the end of the application period.
Source

Academic offer

A completed (or, for final-year applicants, soon-to-be-completed) upper secondary qualification: the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB, EB, Reifeprüfung or DIA diploma, the Cambridge AICE, a Finnish vocational qualification, or a foreign qualification that confers eligibility for an equivalent university degree in the country awarding it. No subject grades are published on tuni.fi — programme-specific requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BSc (Tech) · 3 years · Computer Science, Electrical & Electronic Engineering

International tuition

€10,000 per year

~€30,000 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

students admitted in 2026 · Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

One rate covers every Tampere University bachelor’s programme, so this is institution-wide rather than priced per degree; each programme page repeats it as "Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA citizens — Bachelor’s — 10000 € per academic year". The same page states who pays: "you are citizen of a country outside the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, and study in a bachelor’s or master’s degree programme taught in English." EU/EEA and Swiss citizens are therefore not charged tuition at all. The page dates the figure only as being for "students admitted in 2026" — no academic year is printed anywhere against it, and no figure for the January 2027 round (which is the next open one) is published yet, so the period label carries the university’s own wording rather than an inferred year. Admission is to a combined 3-year Bachelor of Science (Tech) plus 2-year Master of Science (Tech); the €12,000 master’s rate applies once the bachelor’s stage is complete. The fee does not cover the compulsory Student Union (TREY) membership fee or the student healthcare fee.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
The application period for bachelor's studies starting in autumn 2027 starts 7 January and ends on 21 January 2027; applications cannot be submitted after the deadline. Admission runs once a year through the Finnish national "Joint application to higher education".
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Tampere University tuition fee scholarship

    50% of the tuition fees for the programme duration

    Eligibility: Awarded at admission to a limited number of the best-performing applicants, on an academic overall assessment of the admission application. Highly selective, and not awarded in all programmes. Applied for as part of the admission application at Studyinfo.fi — no separate form.

    Not available on the open university route or on transfer applications. A holder of this scholarship is not also eligible for the early bird offer.

    Source
  • Early bird offer

    €2,000 reduction on the programme tuition fee, first year of studies only

    Eligibility: Open to every fee-paying student admitted who has not been awarded a Tampere University tuition fee scholarship. No separate application: accept the offered study place and pay the reduced first-year fee within two weeks of being told you are admitted. For bachelor’s applicants admitted from the waiting list it is available only if two or more weeks remain before the deadline for accepting the place.

    A prompt-payment discount rather than a merit award, but it is a named, concretely-stated reduction that changes what a fee-paying student actually pays in year one, so it is recorded here. coveragePercentage is deliberately unset — the page states a flat €2,000, not a percentage, and converting it would be this project doing arithmetic the university did not publish.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 78 overall, minimum 20 on WritingApplicants admitted through Tampere’s Admission group 1 (ranked on an SAT or ACT score) are exempt: the same page states that if admission is based on SAT or ACT scores, "further demonstration of language proficiency is not required". The row is printed as "78 overall with minimum 20 on Writing / 4 overall with no section below 3.5"; the second pair of figures belongs to the separate TOEFL Essentials scale and is not the iBT requirement. Tests must be completed by the application deadline.
  • IELTS Academic, 6 overall, minimum 5.5 on WritingPrinted on the page as "6.0 overall with minimum 5.5 on Writing".
  • PTE Academic, 62 overall, minimum 61 on Writing
Source

Admissions tests

  • SAT optionalTampere runs two admission groups. Group I ranks applicants purely on an SAT or ACT total score. Group II (certificate-based) is open only to holders of the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB or EB diploma, or a Reifeprüfung/DIA completed in Finland — so an applicant holding any other foreign school-leaving qualification has only the SAT/ACT route, and in practice the test is required for most international applicants. required: false records only that the university does not state it as universally mandatory. For the SAT, the Reading and Writing (RW) and Math sections are counted; programme-specific score requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi, which is outside tuni.fi and so is not recorded here.
  • ACT optionalAccepted as an alternative to the SAT in Admission group I; the ACT score is converted to an SAT-equivalent using a conversion table on the same page. English, Reading (completed) and Maths sections are counted. Only tests taken after 1 January 2025 are considered and the test must be completed by the end of the application period.
Source

Academic offer

A completed (or, for final-year applicants, soon-to-be-completed) upper secondary qualification: the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB, EB, Reifeprüfung or DIA diploma, the Cambridge AICE, a Finnish vocational qualification, or a foreign qualification that confers eligibility for an equivalent university degree in the country awarding it. No subject grades are published on tuni.fi — programme-specific requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BSc (Tech) · 3 years · Physics, Engineering (General)

International tuition

€10,000 per year

~€30,000 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

students admitted in 2026 · Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

One rate covers every Tampere University bachelor’s programme, so this is institution-wide rather than priced per degree; each programme page repeats it as "Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA citizens — Bachelor’s — 10000 € per academic year". The same page states who pays: "you are citizen of a country outside the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, and study in a bachelor’s or master’s degree programme taught in English." EU/EEA and Swiss citizens are therefore not charged tuition at all. The page dates the figure only as being for "students admitted in 2026" — no academic year is printed anywhere against it, and no figure for the January 2027 round (which is the next open one) is published yet, so the period label carries the university’s own wording rather than an inferred year. Admission is to a combined 3-year Bachelor of Science (Tech) plus 2-year Master of Science (Tech); the €12,000 master’s rate applies once the bachelor’s stage is complete. The fee does not cover the compulsory Student Union (TREY) membership fee or the student healthcare fee.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
The application period for bachelor's studies starting in autumn 2027 starts 7 January and ends on 21 January 2027; applications cannot be submitted after the deadline. Admission runs once a year through the Finnish national "Joint application to higher education".
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Tampere University tuition fee scholarship

    50% of the tuition fees for the programme duration

    Eligibility: Awarded at admission to a limited number of the best-performing applicants, on an academic overall assessment of the admission application. Highly selective, and not awarded in all programmes. Applied for as part of the admission application at Studyinfo.fi — no separate form.

    Not available on the open university route or on transfer applications. A holder of this scholarship is not also eligible for the early bird offer.

    Source
  • Early bird offer

    €2,000 reduction on the programme tuition fee, first year of studies only

    Eligibility: Open to every fee-paying student admitted who has not been awarded a Tampere University tuition fee scholarship. No separate application: accept the offered study place and pay the reduced first-year fee within two weeks of being told you are admitted. For bachelor’s applicants admitted from the waiting list it is available only if two or more weeks remain before the deadline for accepting the place.

    A prompt-payment discount rather than a merit award, but it is a named, concretely-stated reduction that changes what a fee-paying student actually pays in year one, so it is recorded here. coveragePercentage is deliberately unset — the page states a flat €2,000, not a percentage, and converting it would be this project doing arithmetic the university did not publish.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 78 overall, minimum 20 on WritingApplicants admitted through Tampere’s Admission group 1 (ranked on an SAT or ACT score) are exempt: the same page states that if admission is based on SAT or ACT scores, "further demonstration of language proficiency is not required". The row is printed as "78 overall with minimum 20 on Writing / 4 overall with no section below 3.5"; the second pair of figures belongs to the separate TOEFL Essentials scale and is not the iBT requirement. Tests must be completed by the application deadline.
  • IELTS Academic, 6 overall, minimum 5.5 on WritingPrinted on the page as "6.0 overall with minimum 5.5 on Writing".
  • PTE Academic, 62 overall, minimum 61 on Writing
Source

Admissions tests

  • SAT optionalTampere runs two admission groups. Group I ranks applicants purely on an SAT or ACT total score. Group II (certificate-based) is open only to holders of the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB or EB diploma, or a Reifeprüfung/DIA completed in Finland — so an applicant holding any other foreign school-leaving qualification has only the SAT/ACT route, and in practice the test is required for most international applicants. required: false records only that the university does not state it as universally mandatory. For the SAT, the Reading and Writing (RW) and Math sections are counted; programme-specific score requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi, which is outside tuni.fi and so is not recorded here.
  • ACT optionalAccepted as an alternative to the SAT in Admission group I; the ACT score is converted to an SAT-equivalent using a conversion table on the same page. English, Reading (completed) and Maths sections are counted. Only tests taken after 1 January 2025 are considered and the test must be completed by the end of the application period.
Source

Academic offer

A completed (or, for final-year applicants, soon-to-be-completed) upper secondary qualification: the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB, EB, Reifeprüfung or DIA diploma, the Cambridge AICE, a Finnish vocational qualification, or a foreign qualification that confers eligibility for an equivalent university degree in the country awarding it. No subject grades are published on tuni.fi — programme-specific requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

BSc (Tech) · 3 years · Earth & Environmental, Engineering (General), Environmental Engineering

International tuition

€10,000 per year

~€30,000 for the whole 3 years, at today's fee
Verified

students admitted in 2026 · Same rate across the institution · Non-EU students

One rate covers every Tampere University bachelor’s programme, so this is institution-wide rather than priced per degree; each programme page repeats it as "Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA citizens — Bachelor’s — 10000 € per academic year". The same page states who pays: "you are citizen of a country outside the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, and study in a bachelor’s or master’s degree programme taught in English." EU/EEA and Swiss citizens are therefore not charged tuition at all. The page dates the figure only as being for "students admitted in 2026" — no academic year is printed anywhere against it, and no figure for the January 2027 round (which is the next open one) is published yet, so the period label carries the university’s own wording rather than an inferred year. Admission is to a combined 3-year Bachelor of Science (Tech) plus 2-year Master of Science (Tech); the €12,000 master’s rate applies once the bachelor’s stage is complete. The fee does not cover the compulsory Student Union (TREY) membership fee or the student healthcare fee.

Show the fee on the university's site
Intake
Not verified
Taught in
English
Source
Application deadline
The application period for bachelor's studies starting in autumn 2027 starts 7 January and ends on 21 January 2027; applications cannot be submitted after the deadline. Admission runs once a year through the Finnish national "Joint application to higher education".
Source

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Scholarships2 available
  • Tampere University tuition fee scholarship

    50% of the tuition fees for the programme duration

    Eligibility: Awarded at admission to a limited number of the best-performing applicants, on an academic overall assessment of the admission application. Highly selective, and not awarded in all programmes. Applied for as part of the admission application at Studyinfo.fi — no separate form.

    Not available on the open university route or on transfer applications. A holder of this scholarship is not also eligible for the early bird offer.

    Source
  • Early bird offer

    €2,000 reduction on the programme tuition fee, first year of studies only

    Eligibility: Open to every fee-paying student admitted who has not been awarded a Tampere University tuition fee scholarship. No separate application: accept the offered study place and pay the reduced first-year fee within two weeks of being told you are admitted. For bachelor’s applicants admitted from the waiting list it is available only if two or more weeks remain before the deadline for accepting the place.

    A prompt-payment discount rather than a merit award, but it is a named, concretely-stated reduction that changes what a fee-paying student actually pays in year one, so it is recorded here. coveragePercentage is deliberately unset — the page states a flat €2,000, not a percentage, and converting it would be this project doing arithmetic the university did not publish.

    Source
Entry requirementsEnglish · tests · grades

English language

  • TOEFL iBT, 78 overall, minimum 20 on WritingApplicants admitted through Tampere’s Admission group 1 (ranked on an SAT or ACT score) are exempt: the same page states that if admission is based on SAT or ACT scores, "further demonstration of language proficiency is not required". The row is printed as "78 overall with minimum 20 on Writing / 4 overall with no section below 3.5"; the second pair of figures belongs to the separate TOEFL Essentials scale and is not the iBT requirement. Tests must be completed by the application deadline.
  • IELTS Academic, 6 overall, minimum 5.5 on WritingPrinted on the page as "6.0 overall with minimum 5.5 on Writing".
  • PTE Academic, 62 overall, minimum 61 on Writing
Source

Admissions tests

  • SAT optionalTampere runs two admission groups. Group I ranks applicants purely on an SAT or ACT total score. Group II (certificate-based) is open only to holders of the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB or EB diploma, or a Reifeprüfung/DIA completed in Finland — so an applicant holding any other foreign school-leaving qualification has only the SAT/ACT route, and in practice the test is required for most international applicants. required: false records only that the university does not state it as universally mandatory. For the SAT, the Reading and Writing (RW) and Math sections are counted; programme-specific score requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi, which is outside tuni.fi and so is not recorded here.
  • ACT optionalAccepted as an alternative to the SAT in Admission group I; the ACT score is converted to an SAT-equivalent using a conversion table on the same page. English, Reading (completed) and Maths sections are counted. Only tests taken after 1 January 2025 are considered and the test must be completed by the end of the application period.
Source

Academic offer

A completed (or, for final-year applicants, soon-to-be-completed) upper secondary qualification: the Finnish matriculation examination, the IB, EB, Reifeprüfung or DIA diploma, the Cambridge AICE, a Finnish vocational qualification, or a foreign qualification that confers eligibility for an equivalent university degree in the country awarding it. No subject grades are published on tuni.fi — programme-specific requirements are published per programme on Studyinfo.fi.
Source
Convert your grade to compare →

How TAU compares

Against the other universities in Finland on StudyPath, using each one's verified international fees and its own published housing prices. Universities are only compared with others charging in the same currency (and, for housing, for the same period), so no figure here has been converted. A ~ marks a year worked out from a per-term or whole-course fee.

TAU's lowest undergraduate fee for international students is €10,000 a year, for Automation and Robotics, Science and Engineering. Of the 3 other universities in Finland we list with undergraduate fees in EUR, 2 charge more at their lowest, 1 charges the same. Their lowest undergraduate fees run from €10,000 (Oulu) to €12,000 (LUT).

Student housing. TAU's own lowest published rate is €250 per month. Of the 3 other universities in Finland we list that publish housing per month in EUR, 1 charges more, 1 charges less, 1 charges the same. Their lowest published rates run from €237 (LUT) to €400 (Aalto).

Living costs. The living-cost figure for a student visa to Finland is €800 per month, on top of tuition (undated figure; read 27 Sept 2026 from migri.fi). The authority attaches conditions that can change this amount; see them in full on student finance.

By subject
SubjectLowest fee hereAgainst other universities in FinlandTheir lowest fees
Computer Scienceundergraduate€10,000Computing and Electrical Engineering2 of 3 charge more€10,000 to €12,000

Subjects taught at TAU

Each one opens every course in that subject, at every university we hold, with the same verified fees.

Where these figures come from

10 sentences from TAU's own site each back several figures above. Each is quoted once here; every course that uses one still opens it and links to its own source page.

  1. Used for scholarship on 8 courses

    “It is a highly selective scholarship, in total only individual Tampere University scholarships are awarded to exceptionally qualified applicants. Scholarships are not awarded in all programmes. Tampere University tuition fee scholarships awarded at admission cover 50% of the tuition fees for the programme duration.”
    Tuition Fees and Scholarships at Tampere University | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  2. Used for fee on 8 courses

    “You must pay tuition fee if you are citizen of a country outside the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, and study in a bachelor's or master's degree pro”
    Tuition Fees and Scholarships at Tampere University | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  3. Used for international fee on 8 courses

    “Tuition fees for students admitted in 2026 Tuition fees at Tampere University fall into two categories: €10,000 in all Tampere University Bachelor's programmes €12,000 in all Tampere University Master's programmes”
    Tuition Fees and Scholarships at Tampere University | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  4. Used for application deadline on 8 courses

    “Admissions for the Tampere University bachelor's programmes conducted in English is organised once a year as a part of the Finnish national "Joint application to higher education" application period. The application period for bachelor's studies starting in autumn 2027 starts 7 January and ends on 21 January 2027. It is not possible to submit an application after the deadline.”
    Tampere University bachelor's programmes | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  5. Used for entry requirements on 8 courses

    “You can apply for admission if you have completed or will complete one of the following qualifications in the spring 2027: the Finnish matriculation examination the International Baccalaureate (IB) diploma , the European Baccalaureate (EB) diploma, the Reifeprüfung (RP) diploma, the Deutsches Internationales Abitur (DIA) diploma, or the Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE) vocational upper secondary qualifications, a vocational degree or a specialised vocational degree as referred to in the Finnish Vocational Education and Training Act (531/2017) foreign qualifications which in the awarding country confer eligibility to pursue an equivalent university degree”
    Eligibility criteria for Tampere University bachelor's programmes | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  6. Used for entry requirements on 8 courses

    “TOEFL iBT: 78 overall with minimum 20 on Writing / 4 overall with no section below 3.5 Show IELTS Academic: 6.0 overall with minimum 5.5 on Writing Show PTE Academic: 62 overall with minimum 61 on Writing”
    Language requirements for Tampere University bachelor's programmes | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  7. Used for entry requirements on 8 courses

    “Admission group I: admission is based on the SAT or ACT test If you meet the general eligibility criteria listed above, you can apply based on your SAT or ACT test. You are ranked based on your total test score.”
    Eligibility criteria for Tampere University bachelor's programmes | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  8. Used for scholarship on 8 courses

    “The early bird offer gives a €2,000 reduction on the programme tuition fee during the first year of studies. Students may take advantage of the early bird offer by accepting the offered study place and paying the reduced first year tuition fee within two weeks after receiving information on admission.”
    Tuition Fees and Scholarships at Tampere University | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  9. Used for teaching language on 8 courses

    “Tampere University offers a selection of bachelor's programmes taught entirely in English. Graduates with a bachelor’s degree are eligible to continue their studies directly towards a master's degree at Tampere University without having to re-apply.”
    Tampere University bachelor's programmes | Tampere Universitytuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  10. Used for course length on 6 courses

    “Degree earned Bachelor of Science (Tech) and Master of Science (Tech) Planned duration 3 + 2 years”
    The same sentence appears on 6 pagestuni.firead 25 Aug 2026
    Open one of them ↗

More about TAU

Student body

QS's own figures · QS World University Rankings 2027

Students
18,582
International students
1,628
≈9% of the student body (worked out here)
Faculty
1,438
International faculty
24%

These come from QS, not the university's own pages. Unlike every fee and deadline on this site. QS is the primary source for its own rankings and measurements, which is why it is cited here and rejected everywhere else.

Show the QS profile
✓ Word for wordRead 14 Aug 2026
“Total students 18,582 UG students 47.7% PG students 52.3% International students 1,628 UG students 22.1% PG students 77.9% Total faculty staff 1,438 Domestic staff 76% Int'l staff 24%”
Tampere University : Rankings, Fees & Courses Details | TopUniversitiestopuniversities.com
Open the official page ↗

About & contact

Tampere, Finland· view on Google Maps ↗tuni.fi ↗

Find nearby

These open a map search near Tampere. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

Accommodation

€250–€600per month

monthly rate for student housing in Tampere. Tampere University states elsewhere on its own site that it does not own student dormitories and that there are no on-campus dormitories in Tampere — rooms are let by the city’s student housing foundations (TOAS, POAS), and a place is not guaranteed to every applicant.

The figure is one row of the university’s own "Examples on typical expenses (individual student)" table, which also budgets €250–450 a month for food, €48 for local transport, and puts total monthly living costs at €800–1200. The same row warns that renting on the private market is likely to cost from €600 upwards. The words "No note that renting..." are quoted exactly as the page prints them; "No" appears to be a typo for "Note" on Tampere’s side and has not been silently corrected here.

Published by the university itself, not a live listings price. Actual cost depends on room type, availability and when you apply.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 25 Aug 2026
“Examples on typical expenses (individual student): Accommodation 250-600€ The monthly rate for student housing. No note that renting from the private market is likely to cost from €600 upwards.”
Financial matters when studying at Tampere University | Tampere Universitytuni.fi
Open the official page ↗

After you graduate

Rules read 17 Aug 2026. Check the current rules, this may be out of date

What Finland's own immigration authority currently publishes. Not a ranking, not a guarantee, and not the same as what any agent or forum will tell you. Whether someone actually obtains residence depends on occupation, points, funds and policy that can change between application and graduation.

Money you must prove before the visa

€800per month, to pay for accommodation, food and other needs

Shown as a balance in a bank account. You keep control of it.

Figure published for: no date given on the page

Money for the tuition fee, if it has not already been paid, must be available on top of this.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 27 Sept 2026
“You need to have at least 800 euros per month at your disposal to be able to pay for your accommodation, food and other needs. In addition, you need to have enough money to pay the tuition fee if you have not yet paid it.”
Income requirement for students | Maahanmuuttovirastomigri.fi
Open the official page ↗
Compare this against other countries →

Work during study

A student holding a Finnish residence permit for studies may work in paid employment, in any field, for an average of 30 hours per week (raised from 25 hours by a legislative amendment effective 15 April 2022) — equivalent to an average of 120 hours per month or 1,560 hours per year. The weekly figure can be exceeded in some weeks as long as the yearly average stays at or under 30 hours, and a student may work full-time during holidays provided the same yearly average is respected. Diploma work or internships that are a credit-bearing, agreed part of the student's own degree are exempt from the hours limit entirely (unless registered as an internship only after the fact, in which case the 30-hour limit applies).

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“A student who has been granted a residence permit for studies is allowed to work in paid employment in any field for an average of 30 hours per week. The number of working hours can be exceeded some weeks, as long as the average working hours are no more than 30 hours per week at the end of the year.”
Working and internships during studies | Maahanmuuttovirastomigri.fi
Open the official page ↗

Post-study work visa

Residence permit for students and researchers to look for work or start a business . Up to 2 years
Available to someone who has held a Finnish residence permit for studies or for research and does not yet have a job, or has one that doesn't pay enough to qualify for a work-based permit. It must be applied for within 5 years of the study/research permit expiring. A first or extended permit under this route can be granted for up to 2 years in total, and can optionally be taken in up to three separate parts, each at least 6 months long, with the last part ending within 3 years of when the first part started. The permit carries an unrestricted right to work in any field while it is valid, so no new permit is needed the moment a job is found — though a graduate who does find qualifying work should still apply for a residence permit on the basis of that work (e.g. the 'degree completed in Finland' permit) before this one expires. Holding a full 2-year job-seeking permit does not, on its own, count as meeting the residence requirement for a permanent residence permit granted on jobseeking/business-founding grounds specifically — a graduate still needs to separately meet a permanent-residence application path's own requirements.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“You can be granted a first permit or an extended permit for a maximum of two years”
Application for students and researchers: residence permit to look for work | Maahanmuuttovirastomigri.fi
Open the official page ↗

Route to permanent residence

A graduate who secures qualifying work can obtain a continuous residence permit (an 'A permit', e.g. the 'degree completed in Finland' work permit, which carries an unrestricted right to work) and, once holding a valid A permit, is on the path toward a permanent residence permit. As of a set of Aliens Act amendments that entered into force on 8 January 2026, the period-of-residence requirement for a permanent residence permit is no longer a flat figure: an applicant must choose an 'application path' with its own required period, and the Finnish Immigration Service's own page uses 6 years (2,190 days) as its example of the current standard continuous-residence requirement — up from the 4 years that applied to applications submitted before that date. 'Continuous residence' does not require physical presence the whole time: a person must have actually resided in Finland for at least half of that qualifying period (e.g. at least 3 years out of a 6-year period), with ordinary travel not breaking continuity as long as absences don't add up to more than half the permit's validity. A separate, faster P-EU (EU long-term resident) permit route, unaffected by the January 2026 change, still requires 5 years.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“For example, if the required period of continuous residence in Finland is 6 years (2,190 days), you are required to have resided in Finland for at least 3 years (1,095 days) in total during the 6-year period.”
Period of residence requirement | Maahanmuuttovirastomigri.fi
Open the official page ↗

Route to citizenship

Finnish citizenship is decided by the Finnish Immigration Service (Migri) — the same authority that runs residence permits. Following amendments that entered into force 1 October 2024, the standard period-of-residence requirement is 8 years of living in Finland, reduced to 5 years if the applicant already meets the language-skills requirement for citizenship (Finnish or Swedish at least at 'satisfactory,' CEFR-equivalent B1, level) — Migri's own page frames this explicitly as one of several situations where the 8-year figure is reduced, alongside routes for a Finnish spouse, a Nordic citizen, and others. A further amendment took effect 17 December 2025 (chiefly changing income/livelihood documentation), underlining that this is an area under active reform and worth re-checking before relying on it. Finland permits multiple/dual citizenship: Migri's own FAQ states directly that acquiring another country's citizenship does not cause loss of Finnish citizenship, 'Finnish legislation allows multiple citizenship (dual citizenship)' — so becoming a Finnish citizen does not require renouncing an applicant's original nationality.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“If you have the language skills required for becoming a Finnish citizen, you need to have lived in Finland for the past 5 years.”
Period of residence | Maahanmuuttovirastomigri.fi
Open the official page ↗

What the government currently prioritises

Finland gates its standard employment-based residence permit with a 'labour market test': an occupation is treated as short of labour — and the employer excused from having to prove no suitable local/EU/EEA candidate exists — when that occupation appears in the relevant regional Economic Development Centre's own work permit policy (classified at the 4-digit ISCO occupation-code level), or when it is designated a 'national labour shortage sector' by the Government's own Labour Force Barometer tool. Outside those listed occupations/sectors, an oversupply reading on the Labour Force Barometer generally blocks a new employment-based permit from outside the EU/EEA. Separately, a graduate who has completed their own degree in Finland can apply for the 'degree completed in Finland' work permit, which does not require a labour market test at all regardless of occupation. StudyPath does not reproduce the specific regional or national shortage-sector lists themselves, which live on affiliated sites (elinvoimakeskus.fi, tyovoimabarometri.fi) outside migri.fi and change periodically.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 17 Aug 2026
“If the main occupation that is stated in an employee's residence permit application is named in the regional work permit policy of the Economic Development Centre, the availability of labour is regarded as reduced in the occupation in question and in the region in question. In such situations, the employer does not need to establish the availability of labour.”
Labour market test | Maahanmuuttovirastomigri.fi
Open the official page ↗

Read 17 August 2026. Finland is mid-reform on permanent residence: the standard period-of-residence requirement doubled in structure (from a flat 4 years to a 6-year default under a new multi-path system) with the change taking effect only 8 January 2026, so figures published before that date, or on non-official pages that haven't updated, may still say 4 years generally — StudyPath reflects the post-8-January-2026 rule. All figures in this entry are cited to migri.fi (Maahanmuuttovirasto, the Finnish Immigration Service), the sole domain pre-approved for Finland on StudyPath. Collection note: migri.fi sits behind a bot-detection challenge that returns HTTP 403 to both this project's plain-HTTP fetcher and a curl fallback with browser-style headers, so every migri.fi source in this entry was archived via the project's real-browser fallback (a real browser) rather than the normal fetching path, per the documented escalation rule for JavaScript-/bot-protection-gated sources. Finland does not appear on StudyPath's university list yet, so this entry is general country-level context, collected the same way Ireland's, the Netherlands' and New Zealand's were. citizenshipRoute added 17 August 2026: migri.fi sat behind the same Cloudflare bot-check documented above for this country, so its 'Period of residence' page, the standalone 'Language skills' page for citizenship specifically (9705b25155aacd0c — distinct from a similarly-named page under Residence permit that covers permanent-residence-permit language rules instead, a naming collision worth knowing about) and the citizenship FAQ were all archived via a browser capture after the security check cleared, then saved with a browser capture against their real URLs. naturalisationStatus set to 'published-route' on 18 August 2026: the authority already cited under citizenshipRoute publishes criteria a foreign resident could actually follow, which is the only claim this field makes. It is deliberately not a judgement about how attainable that route is in practice. citizenshipTerms records 8 years, the general period-of-residence requirement Migri states first. Migri lists the 5-year period as one of several situations in which the requirement is shorter — it applies where the applicant already meets the citizenship language-skills requirement — so 5 is a reduction from the published general case rather than the general case itself.

Open the immigration authority's own page ↗

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about TAU

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…